We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from The Guide - Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Guide - Day Tours
from $103.80
More Info
from $253.70
More Info
from $271.00
More Info
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
79
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balkan region private tour his knowledge fantastic trip beautiful country beloved country day trip spent two weeks lake bled surrounding countries plitvice national park comfortable van medieval town his passion dalmatian coast rich history visiting croatia
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 82 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018

My husband and I spent two weeks on a private tour of Croatia and Slovenia with The Guide. It was the trip of a lifetime.
Jakov was very knowledgeable about world history, religion, culture, and geography. He was able to pull all the different pieces together into a consistent theme which made the trip all the more enjoyable and interesting. Marko had great perspective on world current event politics and changes happening inside Croatia. Both were excellent English speakers, great drivers, engaging and attentive to all our needs. We enjoyed spending a week with each of them. Jakov planned our entire trip of fantastic sights, tours, local lunches, and accommodations. We could not have been happier with the choices.
We first stayed in Zagreb, Croatia where we enjoyed a city tour of Zagreb, day trips to the Medieval Town of Samobor and to Trakoscan Castle. Next we traveled to Plitvice where we stayed 2 nights allowing us an entire day to enjoy Plitvice Lakes National Park - a highlight of the trip. Then our travels continued to Rovinj with a stop at Motovun, a hilltop village. Rovinj was a beautiful coastal town and we took day trips to the Roman amphitheater in Pula, and Tito's private island Brijuni. Then on toward Oprtalj with stops at Porec and Groznjan. Next we went toured Lipica stud farm and Postojna cave on our way to Ljubljana, Slovenia. Two nights in Ljubljana and we were on our way to Lake Bled which is a must-see. The boat trip to the island church and the hike around the lake up to the castle were the highlights. The Slovenian landscape is beautiful and we took day trips to hike to waterfalls, ride an aerial tram above Lake Bohinj and take long scenic drives along the Soca river and through the Julian Alps. There were so many beautiful sights and unexpected and fun stops along the way. Too many to recount. A private tour with The Guide was definitely an experience that exceeded all our expectations. We hope to come back again soon!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 373DeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Hi De Browers, We are very pleased that you had a great time on your two weeks private tour of Croatia and Slovenia with The Guide. Our guides like Jakov or Marko always try to give the best in the tour,We are super happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour. Your feedback is very much appreciated and valuable to us. . Thank you for choosing The Guide TA! Hope to see you again soon!
Best Rgds
Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Jakov provided expert guide services and translation help during our recent 4-day visit to Zagreb, Croatia and the surrounding area. His vehicle was comfortable and impeccably clean. His flexibility in customizing the tour as our plans changed was very much appreciated.

Before we arrived, he helped us with family research and contacting family members for 2 fantastic afternoons of visiting.

The walking tour of Zagreb was interesting and insightful, especially showing us the house he grew up in. We enjoyed hearing his passionate presentation on the diverse history of Zagreb and surrounding area and learning about the importance of Croatia in being a crossroads of world events and how it evolved over time.

We particularly enjoyed seeing the Zagreb Cathedral, Dolac Farmer’s Market, and riding the funicular. The discussion of St Mark’s Cathedral (and its roof) was interesting, especially when we discovered the next day that my great-grandfather was baptized there.

Jakov explained the importance of various monuments in the downtown parks and the wonderful museums. These are all places for us to explore on our next visit.

He provided a breathtaking panoramic tour of Medvednica Park with a delicious traditional Croatian lunch and a “million dollar” view of Zagreb in the distance. Too bad the weather did not allow us to see the Alps.

Another wonderful “million dollar” view of Croatian wine country and luncheon highlighted the tour. The lovely walking tour of the community of Samobor and the delicious cakes that we enjoyed eating while relaxing on the outdoor patio with its surrounding beautiful flower planters concluded another wonderful day.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank waukvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Videkovices, Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We take personal approach in creating each tour in order to cater and satisfy your travel needs and interests. T
See U guys soon back in Croatia..
All the best
Best Regards
Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

A fabulous day for my cousin and I touring two of the highlights of Slovenia yesterday with Jakov! We couldn’t have asked for a better guide to spend the day with!! Jakov’s enthusiasm, humour, personalised attention, knowledge and story telling surpassed our expectations. He made sure the day was what we wanted combined with the best that these two places had to offer, providing information in both English and Croatian.
Thank you from Mare and Lisa for making our day a memorable one with lots of laughs!
Awesome day, one we’ll remember always! ❤️

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear Lisa and Mare,thank you for your review, awesome day indeed. It was my plesure meeting you and being your guide on Sovenia day trip.
I do hope to see you again in these parts.
all the best,
jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile

Croatia was a stunning country, its beauty amplified by the winter season and with our guide Jakov , it further increased the overall enjoyability of the trip. He managed to pick top-grade restaurants making every meal a one to look forward to. He was also very informative ensuring we knew all there was to know about the various places in Croatia. To top it off, he was very professional, despite having a baby born halfway through the road trip, he did not abandon us to another colleague and stayed on to bring us to our destination. Congratulations and thank you for the memorable experience.

~Martin

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Martin, thank you for your kind review, Thanks for nice wishes to. It was my pleasure to tour with u guys, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your trip. Hope to see you back in Croatia.soon :)
Next time I will ski a long with U...
all the best
Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017

Our 2 families engaged The Guide (Jakov) for our very first visit to Croatia and Slovenia and what a great time we had. We were very impressed with all that Croatia has to offer... the rich history & culture, the heritage, the beautiful and clean mountains, lakes and seas...Split, Trogir, Ston, Dubrovnik, Sibenik, Plitvice Lakes National Park, Rovinj, Motovun, Krvavec, Zagreb...will always hold a special place in our hearts and we know we have only "scratched the surface"...

This is my first trip where I did not crave for Asian food after 3 days (even when we came across Chinese restaurants)...The variety of food, the freshness and the different styles of cooking ensured that I ate well, drank well and slept well throughout...a real holiday.

What made this all possible was Jakov and his team - who were totally committed to providing the true and authentic Croatian experience and hospitality for our 2 families. Jakov is a true professional and even when his wife Nina went into labour, he continued to take good care of us and made alternative arrangements to ensure we are well taken care of in the first instance. The knowledge of Jakov and his team about all Croatian matters (history, politics, food, culture, sports etc) are very impressive and we look forward to visiting Croatia again and to engage The Guide (and Jakov) to visit the rest of the Balkan Region in the coming year.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to Jan, Max, Nina, Jakov

Vincent Ng (Singapore)

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Vincent, Thanks so much for your wonderful review.We take personal approach in creating each tour in order to cater and satisfy your travel needs and interests. See U guys next year..
All the best
Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews