We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Meal”
Review of Pod grickim topom

Pod grickim topom
Ranked #111 of 790 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had dinner here on a quiet, snowy evening - and had a wonderful meal. The menu is somewhat limited or you could say "well editted". The food here is all honest, well executed, and delicious. This is not dinner as theater or food as art. It is high quality, well prepared meals at a more than fair price. The service, as has been noted elsewhere, is very helpful and friendly in an honest and caring way. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chi-twn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    60
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good steak, wine, and service”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have been here three times and have enjoyed the city views, the great house wine, the green salad with toasted goat cheese, and the steak with truffle sauce. The menu is limited, but I believe this is due to the fact that much of their menu is based on what is available at the nearby farmers' market. We always leave satisfied. The reason for 4 out of 5 stars is just that the prices keep rising, though in this economy I certainly understand why...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great dining in Zagreb”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This restaurant was a pleasant surprise. Situated just off the top funicular station, has a view of Zagreb, looking south over downton from a terrace, with the alternative of a nice internal room, again facing south. Tables are well spaced and the service is very attentive, personal.
Food is very well cooked and presented, portions are not big, but they are very good quality and the meal in itself a pleasant experience. Very good wine list.
I certainly feel this a very worthwhile experience, the restaurant is in my opion best suited for business or couples.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinedaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is definitely my favourite rstaurant in Zagreb. This restaurant has everything one should require.
1) The food is fantastic, delicious and portions are optimum size.
2) The atmosphere is fantastic. It is such a cosy place where I really enjoy to eat and talk.It is not a big restaurant but that makes it so cosy. it is decorated with a stile and cute details.
And it has a wonderful view to the older part of town and Ilica too.
3) Staff is great, very and trully nice and kind. They don't just pretend to be kind because they have to be, but you can feel real kindness and they are at your disposal as much as you need them and still they are not boring asking you constantly some questions:)
4) The restaurant is value for money. It is not cheap but you pay as much as you get.

Definitely my favourite one and I recommend it for sure!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GabyCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Zagreb”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I live in Zagreb and am a regular visitor here. There is nothing to fault. Location is perfect, set at the top of the funicular. In summer, the venue is perfect with great views over the city, winter the ambience is intimate and cosy. Service is absolutely outstanding, knowledgeable and attentive without being too much. The menu is small but the food is excellent. The restaurant makes excellent use of seasonal products and everything is made to the highest standard. Wine list is superb, including the wine list.

Cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Helpful?
Thank bookyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pod grickim topom also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Pod grickim topom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing