We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Takenoko

Takenoko
Ranked #44 of 749 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: First japanese restaurant in Zagreb! After 15 years we moved from nova ves in to the cenetr of Zagreb, to Masarykova 22! Come and visit us, and discover magic of world-class Japanese cuisine!
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We managed to get a reservation for a Friday night and had a selection of starters and our mains were from the fusion side of the menu. The price/quality ratio was excellent. The selection was quite unusual and the ambiance of the place was great. The waiting staff were very professional and helpful. Was also good to be able to watch the chefs working right next to the dining area. Would thoroughly recommend as a treat in Zagreb.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    58
    36
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“High prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I always visit this restaurant when I come Zagreb. Good food and service, but the prices are way too high....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodydoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality fish with the creativity of airport sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Takenoko is a well designed, trendy-ish restaurant at the top of Zagreb's popular Tkalčićeva street. The service is great (for Croatia) and the environment is relatively sexy. The waiters always make you feel welcome with the usual complimentary desert offering at the end of your meal. I have to say, this place is great for Zagreb and for Croatia as a whole. The fish at Takenoko is excellent quality, really some of the best I've had anywhere. Unfortunately, the problem with Takenoko lays in it's lack of creativity and consistant taste across all rolls and dishes. It's very similar to what you get in an airport sushi joint, only the fish itself is better. I'm giving it a 4 rating in comparison to other Zagreb establishments. In Croatia, it's one of my favorite restaurants, but if it were anywhere else, I probably would certainly choose another option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Title of my review #13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'm not too ecstatic about Japanese food, but Takenoko (we went to Takenoko 2) is one of the top restaurants in Zagreb for years, so, we went to check it out.

Their good rating is well deserved - everything we have tried tasted great and was balanced perfectly. Spring rolls and monkfish wok are among best dishes we ever ate.

Deserts were good, but not at the same level as previous dishes.

Ambient is nice and calming. Waiters were professional.

Very expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of 3 best restaurants in Zagreb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Conveniently located at the end of the famous Tkalčićeva street, Takenoko is a synonym for great Japanese cousin and cooking consistency. Overall, menu is quite westernized and offers wide range of fusion meals but Takenoko still offers great choice of sushi. The only negative point is that they put to many chairs and tables in restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deki_mandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takenoko also viewed

 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Takenoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing