We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A challenge to find, but a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tomislavov dom
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A challenge to find, but a lovely stay”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel can only be reached by oneway loop road. The TomTom GPS kept trying to send us the wrong way. Even the coordinates were wrong (front desk confirmed some GPS systems don't work). Make sure you have printed directions and advise you don't try to find in the dark. Once arrived, solid helpful staff, decent restaurant (quality seemed to depend on who was chef), lovely pool and comfortable rooms. Only complaint is that the bar is also the smoking area and is just off the lobby which is the only wifi area. The bar entrance door was frequently propped open, thus permeating the lobby with second hand smoke. Not pleasant for non-smokers trying to enjoy nature and clean air.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
28
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is located in a lovely place, in the forest, on the top of the hill. It's a perfect place for everyone who is tired of overcrowded places and noise. It has very pleasant staff, comfortable rooms and nice breakfast.

The only thing that I don't like about the hotel is that it's very hard to find. If you are going from Zagreb, there are no signs at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vitaliy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is awesome. It's situated at the top of Medvednica mountain in the middle of a 100 year old forest. Think of it as a retreat from a retreat. The outside dining area is amongst the trees with the sunlight shining through. The temperature is perfect and because you are so high up the air is pure and clean.

Our hotel room was huge. I loved it. The pool area was perfect, it even has a jacuzzi that you can swim against if you want to add a bit of fitness to your stay.

I had the hotel's special dish for dinner which was Stubica Sote....divine! My husband had Boar....delicious! We had lunch at the local restaurant up by the ski resort. I can only imagine its popularity in the winter months.

Moreover, the staff are wonderful. They are a credit to the hotel. Always there to help, really friendly and very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thelawgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have booked the hotel because we have read on the internet that it is located in a National Park. We did not think that the location is so spectacular and the route to reach it is so amazing.
It takes some time to drive to it from the city, but it is worth every minute. It is located in the middle of the forest, so the only "noise" comes from the birds.
The hotel itself looks very nice. The room was very clean and spatious.
The breakfast was very tasty and we could order whatever we wanted. One evening we have eaten in the restaurant, it was very delicious to an unbeatable price,
A little adventure not far from Zagreb...definitely a location we will chose again when we are in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liseleje
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had no expectations, and picked this hotel because of good price and away from the fuzz off central zagreb. When i drove there, I almost regetted because of serpentine roads for 20 minutes, but the reward was getting there. Felt more luxury than the price, and the hotel had a lovely restaurant and patio. 2 minutes crawling up the Hill and you could see the tv tower, skislopes, and two more restaurants also open in summer. It Seemed like everybody, also people That where much elderly, hiked here in the weekends. Hotel much recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Travelled here in July 2012. Excellent hotel in an excellent location, just about 20-30 min. drive from central Zagreb. The hotel is located in the Sljeme ski-resort, in a very nice setting, just in the woods. It's a honest 3-star hotel, very clean and with friendly staff. As a guest, you have access to the indoor heated swimming pool, which is great to wind off after some hiking. Their restaurant is very nice, with reasonably-priced menu (anyway, cheaper than center-Zagreb...), excellent service and beautiful view. They really did everything to make us feel welcomed. I will pay them a visit also in wintertime. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: If possible (money-wise), go for the Comfort rooms, they provide ampler space and a sofa and writing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Tomislavov dom is excellent hotel for everybody. It is situated on Sljeme, the mountain peak of Medvednica, so all you need to have is car to get here. It is great in every time of the year and when you need to run from city crowd and want just to enjoy nature. It is great hotel for couples, family or friends. Rooms are very clean and spatial and all have tv, air-condition. Bathroom also has hair-dryer. When you're in the hotel you can easily forget that you're on the montain because it is that modern and nothing like usual mountain-home. Hotel has a very nice swimming pool and fitness gym. :-) Staff in Tomislavov dom is very professional and polite. Restaurant serves great food - traditional croatian food prepared in a beautiful tasteful way. I enjoy here very much. My husband and I come here often, sometimes just for the weekend, and we always feel after like we had an all-week holiday. Come and feel the same experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
6.3 mi away
Hotel Fala
Hotel Fala
#25 of 58 in Zagreb
94 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Matija Gubec
Hotel Matija Gubec
#51 of 58 in Zagreb
18 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Stella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Loop Hotel
The Loop Hotel
#14 of 58 in Zagreb
81 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Slisko
Hotel Slisko
#37 of 58 in Zagreb
83 reviews
7.0 mi away
I Hotel
I Hotel
#47 of 58 in Zagreb
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tomislavov dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tomislavov dom

Property: Hotel Tomislavov dom
Address: Sljemenska Cesta 24, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tomislavov dom 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the nature park, Medvednica, and surrounded by lush forests. It offers an indoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Hotel is an excellent base for those who wish to hike in the summer and ski in the winter. The restaurant serves a variety of traditional Croatian and international cuisine. Zagreb city centre is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tomislavov dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing