We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great room, slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great room, slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The room is very modern, clean, nice. The "wellness" facilities include a small current pool, Jacuzzi, and sauna. Also very clean and nice. Our dinner was fantastic- but the service was incredibly slow. It took about 20 minutes to get our cocktails, food came out in a slow but timely way, but after we were done eating, at least 20 minutes passed before anyone to came over and ask how it was so we could request the check.

We also had an issue with the waiter not speaking English, which is rare in the service industry in Croatia. The breakfast was buffet style with a variety of omelets, meats, potatoes, cheese, fruits, yogurts, and cakes. It was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monsterm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    75
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
31
94
6
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have traveled with friends to Zagreb staying for a couple of nights at this hotel. The only thing that was awkward was that we arrived late at night and the receptionist did not speak any English :(
Apart of that, the breakfast was fine, plenty of food, the spa and the gym were ok. The gym though hadn't A/C so it was pretty warm.
The distance from the hotel to city center is noticeable, but if you travel by car, it shouldn't be a problem, as the road brings you directly to city center.
The free parking was also a plus.
Overall, it was an agreeable experience to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gradacac
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Pretty nice and comfortable hotel. The stuff could do a little better, the receptionist didn't understand our reservation so we had to move from one room to another. That was a disadvantage. And of course there was a breakfast, or could I say there wasn't one. Very scarce breakfast for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmaSerifovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We opted for this hotel for a night before our flight out of Croatia after a trip to both Zagreb and then Dubrovnik. We arrived at 11:00 PM and left at 12:30 PM next day.

Hotel was clean. Staff was very hospitable and breakfast was excellent. Especially nice was the lady attending to the omelet. Her motherly smile was so refreshing and welcoming. All in all, for a family of 5, the two rooms were excellent and the price was more than reasonable.

It is about 13 miles from the airport but all on the highway.

In the morning, my wife and I had a walk to the center of the city (20 min walk) where we bought some fresh bread and some fruits.

The kids thought of using the pool but decided not to after all. The spa and pool facilities were good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We picked this hotel because it is about 20 mins from Zagreb airport and we had an early flight to catch the next day. First impressions of the hotel : Why isn't it finished? There literally is a block of the hotel that hasn't been completed ... and I don't know if it ever will coz I didn't see any construction work going on. Just a vacant brick shell.


Inside the bit that IS finished, they have taken great pains to make it all plush and modern looking. Lots of nice art on the walls which I enjoyed looking at all the way to my room. The room itself was nicely decorated and the memory foam bed was awesome. I would have had a great night sleep accept my AC wasn't working as it should. Thermostat read 18C but it was blowing ambient air ... in the middle of summer that isn't good news. Hence my 3-star rating. I did talk to the people at the desk but there was little they could do to help, so i sweltered the entire night and did not sleep at all. Ruined my hotel stay entirely.



On the plus side, they do have a spa and relaxation centre. We had the place all to ourselves. Jacuzzi, whirlpool tub, tanning salon, hair salon, gym and fitness center ... it's all there.



We ordered room service and thankfully all the food was very good. Made me forget my air conditioning woes for a bit. Please note that the actual Room Service Menu has limited options on it, so we simply ordered stuff off the restaurant menu downstairs and had it sent up. The staff were happy to oblige. Breakfast the next morning was pretty decent as well: fresh pastries, danishes, cereal, local cheese, cold meats, hot food and a chef on hand to cook your eggs any way you want.



I can't comment on the surrounding area of the hotel coz there isn't any. I think there was meant to be a large shopping mall just outside but it never got built ... so this hotel is kinda stuck on its own for a while. Perhaps things will look up in future?



This hotel comes with free Wi-fi and very decently priced meals ... they had a promotion 3-course dinner for all of € 14. Use of the spa, pool and gym facilities are free for all guests. Ample parking round the back, and it is free as well. Rooms come with mini bar, bedroom slippers, tv and safe. Movies on demand are a one-time payment of € 4, and you can watch all the movies for the entire duration of your stay. Movie selection was pretty decent too ... something for everyone. So everything else I was happy with EXCEPT my air conditioning not working which kinda mucks up a large portion of a hotel stay, especially when it is 35C outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Interesting hotel, decent breakfast (but quite busy) and nice beds (memory foam). Furnishings modern and new but with rather overdesigned patterns. Nice tea and coffee in the room but all sugary stuff. Needs some ordinary plain coffee and proper teabags with some milk, not fruity/herbal teas. Some odd features of the room though - open plan, including the bathroom (bath is in the room). Seems like a good design idea but some people like privacy when they are in the bathroom. Anyone sitting on the bed can see what is going on. There are some other minor gripes - the bath has very high sides (difficult to get in and out, no bath matt or grab handles, no full length mirror anywhere in the room and a glass desk one cannot use a mouse on (they should provide a mouse pad). The car park at the rear is large seems secure has steps and there is no lift to the lowest floor. If you arrive by car, park in the rear car park and have heavy bags, you need to lift them up the stairs to get to the lift. Why the lift doesn't go all the way, who knows. There's a church about 250m away which is visible from the rooms at the back across some wasteland. Those guys were on the bells at about 6am which will wake you up. It's a 20 minute drive to the centre of Zagreb and only 400m from the highway. For an overnight stop on the way to somewhere else, then I think it's a good bet.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the noisy church unless you want to get up early.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fluffy2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Phoenix Hotel is a good standard hotel, with some room for improvement, but looks like in time it will get much better. The rooms are ok, the service was very good in my case and the breakfast was good also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
7.1 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
7.5 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#9 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
6.9 mi away
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
#13 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Property: Hotel Phoenix
Address: Sesvetska Cesta 29, Zagreb 10360, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Zagreb's eastern business zone, the elegant Hotel Phoenix is just a 15-minutes drive from the city centre. It offers welcome surprise, FREE Wi-Fi,wellness & SPA area (endless pool, whirlpool for 8-10 persons, sauna, relax area), FREE fitness room, FREE anatomic Biopur pillow available on request, gratis parking space. Each elegant room at Hotel Phoenix features a free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with satellite and cable channels, air conditioning, comfortable beds with Biopur anatomic mattresses for a good sleep and a private bathroom. Bathroom amenities include the luxurious Aromatic Collection (Rituals, Pascal Morabito).The hotel's A la carte restaurant Maestro offers delicious Croatian and international cuisine. Guests can enjoy buffet breakfast with show cooking, during which a variety of pancakes and omelettes are prepared. A wide rage of fruit cocktails is available at the bar.The Hotel Phoenix has a wine cellar and an elegant lounge area suitable for gathering smaller groups. Guests are served a selection of top quality Croatian and world-renowned wines of their choice. The lounge bar with its large windows offers a view on the flowery terrace, where tea, coffee and a light lunch menu can be served.There is a fully equipped GOLF INDOOR CENTER. Golf simulators in Phoenix Lounge are recognized by the U.S. PGA.The Hotel Phoenix can be easily reached from the A2, A3, A4 and A12 highways. Public bus station is just 50 metres from the hotel. Transfer from Airport to the hotel and vice versa can be organized on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing