We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal base in Zagreb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights and had an excellent time. Staff were very pleasant and hospitable. It is worth noting that a few housekeeping staff I came across only spoke Croatian so having at least a basic grasp will help. Price was average for these types of hotels in Europe. Beds were fantastic but took a lot of space up in the room but cannot complain too much as I was a solo traveller. Breakfast buffet was fantastic and can say that it is one of the best I've had so far. There was a large selection of Croatian specialties as well as the standard Western fare. Did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner as I was mainly out during the day and found a number of inexpensive eateries in the area. Location is key for this hotel as it is very close to major sites in Zagreb such as Ban Jelacic square and the Cathedral. Avenue Mall is not too far by tram. Train station is only one block away and that is where you can catch bus transfers to the airport. All in all, it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businesstrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Walking distance to the centre and train station. A small supermarket across the street.

Look like a safe neighbourhood.

Breakfast selection is also not bad with cold and hot dishes, and fresh fruits.

The room feels new and clean. I stayed in a single room without a window facing outside, but I am perfectly fine. Decoration is classy and traditional, with lots of wood. Doesn't look cheap. Air-conditioning also works properly.

The room, however, is a bit small. Writing desk is placed at the end of the bed. Bathroom size is relatively larger.

Reception is friendly and speaks good English. I saw both business and leisure visitors staying in this hotel. It is not a big hotel, and I like that feel.

Wi-fi works well.

Overall: I have no complaint. It is a reliable choice and deserves the "Premier" from Best Western. And a stay here is value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripMember06092015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Right on the doorstep of the old town, it is well located. It is a hotel in the old gracious style with wonderful décor. It is quiet at night. Breakfast was vast and tasty. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Parking is available out the back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrisHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A short tram ride from the central bus station and walking distance from the impressive train station. This hotel was charming with wonderful service, a clean comfortable room and a generous, all encompassing breakfast that included caviar. A short walk to the old town, central square, cathedral, numerous museums including one for broken relationships and markets. Very impressed with this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you include the breakfast even if you don't like caviar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

People at welcome desk are nice and ready to listen. This hotel is quite good for business purposes.

Located in the city heart, is close to shopping and restaurant area.

Wide rooms, good wifi service and fashion furniture allow people to have rest or to work without pain.

Good breakfast buffet with minute ready omelettes.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bido01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Now, I stayed in this hotel again, with family. The hotel is situated in quiet street, but only about 300 m from tram and railway station. Executive room was big (30 sqm) and clean. The king bed is very comfortable (orthopaedic mattress). The hotel has free WiFi (good quality) and free parking (no garage). Breakfast was rich, and restaurant has enough places. It's good value for money. I recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlozic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed at the Astoria a couple of times over the last fortnight. It’s in a fantastic location between the railway station and the old town on a quiet street and within easy walking distance of the main museums and other tourist attractions. English speaking staff were courteous and polite, check-in was quick and professional and the hotel overall was very clean and comfortable. Both the rooms I stayed in were a bit on the ‘tight’ side – not much room round the edge of a double bed - but the bedding and beds were of high quality which is actually more important to me. Shower, again, was a bit on the small side but the bathroom was always kept spotlessly clean. Didn’t hear any noise from other guests or from the corridor. There’s a nice little terrace area you can sit outside beside the car parking area if you want to relax outside or have a smoke. Wi-fi was very efficient and worked everywhere in the hotel. But by far and away the best part of my Astoria experience was the ultra amazing buffet breakfast – I’ve never seen a spread like it. There was even sparkling wine and caviar stuff (substitute, I’m sure!) along with endless hot and cold varieties of dishes. I was there 5 days in total and I probably didn’t get to sample the half of it. Was going to give the Astoria 4 stars but that buffet breakfast and the fact that Zagreb was such a fascinating and interesting city tips the balance. 5 stars it is then and hopefully a repeat visit soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BogsideBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,366 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria

Address: Petrinjska 71, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $101 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class hotel BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria **** in the centre of the Croatian capital casts its spell with its wonderful 30ies charm. 100 luxurious rooms with all amenities, business center with 4 fully equipped conference rooms, the exquisite restaurant Ragusa and the elegant Glama Bar with affiliated pastry shop create an oasis of recreation for business travellers and city tourists.Hotel guests have on disposal a FREE private parking in the courtyard within hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Zagreb
Zagreb Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing