We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel near the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near the centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Now, I stayed in this hotel again, with family. The hotel is situated in quiet street, but only about 300 m from tram and railway station. Executive room was big (30 sqm) and clean. The king bed is very comfortable (orthopaedic mattress). The hotel has free WiFi (good quality) and free parking (no garage). Breakfast was rich, and restaurant has enough places. It's good value for money. I recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlozic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    529
    80
    12
    4
See reviews for
173
633
141
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed at the Astoria a couple of times over the last fortnight. It’s in a fantastic location between the railway station and the old town on a quiet street and within easy walking distance of the main museums and other tourist attractions. English speaking staff were courteous and polite, check-in was quick and professional and the hotel overall was very clean and comfortable. Both the rooms I stayed in were a bit on the ‘tight’ side – not much room round the edge of a double bed - but the bedding and beds were of high quality which is actually more important to me. Shower, again, was a bit on the small side but the bathroom was always kept spotlessly clean. Didn’t hear any noise from other guests or from the corridor. There’s a nice little terrace area you can sit outside beside the car parking area if you want to relax outside or have a smoke. Wi-fi was very efficient and worked everywhere in the hotel. But by far and away the best part of my Astoria experience was the ultra amazing buffet breakfast – I’ve never seen a spread like it. There was even sparkling wine and caviar stuff (substitute, I’m sure!) along with endless hot and cold varieties of dishes. I was there 5 days in total and I probably didn’t get to sample the half of it. Was going to give the Astoria 4 stars but that buffet breakfast and the fact that Zagreb was such a fascinating and interesting city tips the balance. 5 stars it is then and hopefully a repeat visit soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BogsideBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Truly enjoyed my stay for almost a week. The rooms are spacious with nice wooden interior and bug bathroom. Breakfast was nice. Too bad the staff at the bar argued about a corked wine in front of my guests, which was uncomfortable. The dinner buffet was not to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_Flogard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in this BW hotel during our brief stay in Zagreb. We found the hotel very conveniently located close to most tourist sites. It is also close to Rail Station, which enabled us to take a day trip of Ljubljana by Rail, a beautiful city, capital of Slovenia.
He hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was cordial.
The breakfast was good with hot and cold preparations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radovljica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

me and me companions were taking an educational course in this pretty nice place. Everything was good organised, things were moving smoothly. Secured parking, friendly staff, good breakfast, nice litlle conference room... Rooms ok. Only thing I have to say against is the keyboard of the computer in the businness centre. I could hardly type. It is a litlle thing but still, in premier hotel at least keyboard of the computer shouldnt be the worst. Otherwise, as said in the titlle, decent hotel in the center of Zagreb, pretty close to everything.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomaz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

temper your EXPECTATIONS everyone - this is zagreb, not tokyo, and a best western, not grand hyatt.

so it has a reddish-cast decor and overtimes, and is more 1990s than 2010 modern, but the furnishing and bedding are high quality, internet connectivity works great, bathroom is ample sized, staff are courteous, sleep factor is high, and breakfast is decent.

location: its next to the train station, but a bit away from the "center" where all the shops and restaurants are. high convenience for me personally - but your mileage may vary.

nothing here disappointed. happy to stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justarandomperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is well located in the lower town but still in walking distance to the attractions in the upper town area. Since it is not on a major street, the street traffic is minimal, being on a smaller one way street without any public transportation going by, although it is close to a major street.
The doors of the rooms are thick, so that one does not hear any corridor noise.
If you wish to be centrally located and still have a good night's rest, this hotel is for you.
The staff is courteous and gather to your needs. Moreover, I am sure you will enjoy the sumptuous breakfast, which was one of the best I had in a hotel.
At the lobby there is always, cold lemon water, as well as complimentary coffee and biscuits available.
The rooms are well decorated, although a bit smaller than North American ones. This is truly a four star hotel and well recommended for your stay in Zagreb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Address: Petrinjska Ulica 71, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class hotel BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria **** in the centre of the Croatian capital casts its spell with its wonderful 30ies charm. 100 luxurious rooms with all amenities, business center with 4 fully equipped conference rooms, the exquisite restaurant Ragusa and the elegant Glama Bar with affiliated pastry shop create an oasis of recreation for business travellers and city tourists.Hotel guests have on disposal a FREE private parking in the courtyard within hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Zagreb
Zagreb Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing