We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For the price this was a very good hotel. Other reviews have described its facilities and staff, and I would just like to echo some of the comments about its location. We were starting a rail holiday by flying to Zagreb. The airport bus goes to the main bus station, and from there it is an easy 15 minute stroll to the hotel, if you have hand or light luggage. Just turn left out of the bus station, under the railway bridge to the junction, and then left along the road parallel with the rail line and just before the train station Petrinjska is on the right.
After a three night stay we caught the only direct train to Vienna which leaves at 7.10. Breakfast is served from 6.30 so we had time to have a good breakfast as the station is less than 5 minutes away. One night we ate at Purger which is three blocks away towards the old town and it was excellent. There are two main tourist itineraries, the lower town and the old town, and both are easily done from the hotel. Thoroughly recommended and very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    558
    87
    13
    5
See reviews for
182
661
151
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location near the park in Zagreb. The rooms are very clean and comfortable; it seemed like a very normal hotel by American standards. One thing to note is that the showers in the bathrooms are very small. I found myself hitting the temperature knob. The breakfast buffet was okay, a large selection but all of the food was moderate in taste. One thing to note is that some of the staff was unhelpful and frankly rude at some points. I would recommend this hotel to any person looking for a well-priced and well located hotel in Zagreb.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ODR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It only takes 5 mins to walk to this hotel from the train station. From the hotel, it is an easy train ride or 15mins walk to the bus station where you can take a bus to the Plitvice Lakes or the airport. Very close to the city center. There are lots of good restaurants in the city center and within 10mins walk from the hotel. Absolutely no problem to walk at night from the hotel to the city center for dinner. The free Wifi works well.

The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. A staff named Miroslav even tried to help us calling the bus company at mid-night to book bus ticket for the Plitvice Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed the BW Premier as part of a group tour and was very pleased. I was traveling with a friend and we had shared rooms in previous hotels and on the cruise ship, but were pleasantly surprised when we were assigned separate adjoining single rooms. It was nice for each of us to have our own bathroom, closet and TV! The rooms were very small, but nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and cozy, and I enjoyed having a coffee pot with coffee and tea selections in the room. The bathrooms were large in comparison to the room size. The only complaint was there was no convenient spot for the luggage rack and my suitcase. It had to be place next to the bed and somewhat obstructed the passage to the bathroom.

In addition to the ample breakfast buffet, we ate two dinner meals in the hotel restaurant. We weren't hungry enough for the buffet, so ordered off the menu. The first day had been cold and rainy and we didn't feel like venturing out and only wanted a light dinner of soup. The soup choices were limited and they were out of the one we wanted. We both ordered the cream of vegetable, which wasn't too good. The next night we were tired from touring all day, but were hungrier. I ordered the beefsteak and my friend ordered a grilled fish dish, we shared a capresse salad. Everything was excellent.

As many have mentioned, the Premier is on a business street, but is very convenient and within walking distance to sights and transportation centers. It is also near the main police department and other government buildings, so the area is very safe. I would definitely stay here should I ever visit Zagreb again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Mig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinola, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here one night in July 2013. Because we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary, the hotel offered us a free upgrade to a luxury room. Really nice, appreciate.
Location was perfect, not far from the heart of the city. We managed to get a free parking place on the guarded backyard.
Room was really superb: spacious and stylish. Hotel staff was very friendly and polite.
Special mention about the breakfast: generous and lots of varieties.

Highly recommended if You stay in Zagreb.

Room Tip: Luxury room is really comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here as part of a post-cruise package. The rooms appear to have been updated with nicely tiled bathrooms ( although my shower leaked!) and flat screen televisions. Rooms are comparably sized for European hotels. The location is on a street in the business district so is not attractive and the lobby and bar area are quite cramped. However the hotel is about 6 blocks from the main square and thus is convenient for tour the Upper and Lower Old Town areas. Breakfast offers a very wide variety of hot and cold items and the breakfast room is quite large and spacious.

Room Tip: No pool or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I started the visit at Croatia staying in this hotel in an executive room. A big and very comfortable room. Staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful with a lot of options,one of the best I have ever experienced. It is very well located, a walking distante from the main museums and the old city. Fast access to the main roads for the central and south regions. An excellent option in Zagreb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomesvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Address: Petrinjska 71, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class hotel BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria **** in the centre of the Croatian capital casts its spell with its wonderful 30ies charm. 100 luxurious rooms with all amenities, business center with 4 fully equipped conference rooms, the exquisite restaurant Ragusa and the elegant Glama Bar with affiliated pastry shop create an oasis of recreation for business travellers and city tourists.Hotel guests have on disposal a FREE private parking in the courtyard within hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Zagreb
Zagreb Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing