We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location, good quality rooms and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great central location, good quality rooms and excellent service”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Popular 4 star hotel 10 minutes walk from the main town square and 2 minutes from the station. Staff are excellent and service very good, efficient and friendly. The rooms are very clean, well equipped and quiet. Food is good rather than excellent although breakfast was very good. All in all I would higfhly recommend as it is very good value too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCreosote21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    559
    87
    13
    5
See reviews for
182
661
151
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I decided to plan a short weekend break to Zagreb, Croatia. Booked 2 nights at Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria and would have to say, was very worth it! From the beginning since checking in, the staff were extremely hospitable and friendly. My boyfriend and I do not know the language at all and made an attempt to communicate with the staff this way. They were very kind and helpful and gave us key words to use for our trip.
The hotel is situated in a convenient location within walking distance to the main attractions but yet in a quiet area. The road had nearby shops and restaurants if you do not want to walk too far. The room was very neat and clean and the staff kindly put a small chocolate on your pillow each morning. Breakfast was included and they offered a wide variety of foods to choose from so what ever you fancy, they definitely had.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit Zagreb!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend on a friends 40th. The rooms were great value for money and everyone was very helpful. The location is a short walk to the centre of town. This also means the location is quiet

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Location close to the railway station was perfect for us. And the things you want to see in Zagreb are all within walking distance.
Had a room not facing the road which made for a quiet night's sleep with an open window.
Room well appointed with a safe and generous bathroom.
Breakfast was very good with a big selection of healthy food.
Wifi worked no problem in the room and lobby. Staff friendly and smiley.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in this Best Western for two nights early March, when travelled to Zagreb for a business trip.

The location is good, most places can be rached from the hotel on foot, although it is not in the "exact" city centre. Personnel was kind and helpful, served us faast and very professionally. Room was neat and clean, though maybe a little bit on the small side. I had to move the table from the end of my bed to actually fit on it (am 1.93m tall).

Shower was clean and shower amenities were great (Yves Rocher shower gel and shampoo).

Breakfast (included in my room's price) was planty and the seletction was one of the biggest I've ever seen.

Would highly recommend this hotel to stay both for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Istvan_Mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at Best Western Astoria Zagreb for 5 nights. It was a big compromise to do so as I’ve already been dissatisfied with Best Western in Europe.

I chose the Best Western based on T.A. reviews. The hotels closer to the city center didn’t have good enough reviews and others were too far away. I thought perhaps Zagreb Best Western might surprise me. Well, it disappointed me. It is a drab, dated hotel in great need of at least a paint job . The room is small. The restaurant staff is slow or doing nothing. The walk to the city center is a good 10 minutes at a brisk pace and not so pleasant under the rain. If being near the train station is a priority, it’s an easy walk even with your luggage.

The positives: reception staff are friendly and helpful if you ask for anything. Housekeeping always smile and greet the guests. They have cold water and lemon at the bar at all times. Check in/out were hassle-free. I was able to pay for everything the night before. Close to the train station. That’s it for the positives.

1. I reserved a King room as the rooms seem small on their website. A King room is for two, right? Well, there’s a King bed (2 beds stuck together) with ONE end table.
2. There is only ONE suitcase rack.
3. There is not sufficient closet space for two people
4. The safe is on the floor in the closet. If you have any back or other health issues that might affect you bending down a couple of times a day, this can be a big problem. Not only that, but with the closet door closing on my hand and I, almost in a handstand, I accidentally pressed the wrong button twice and blocked my own safe. It was quickly taken care of by a technician.
5. The walls are paper thin. I can hear one of my neighbors coughing, talking, clearing his throat and woke me up one morning from his vomiting. I also heard them during their more intimate moments. It felt like what must a be a 1-hour motel. I imagine my TV at night might’ve t been a bother to my neighbor on my other side. I had to turn it on to tune out the couple next door.
I met an older couple who had the same complaints. Their safe didn’t even function.
6. The bathroom: counter space is just enough for one person. The shower is a tiny cubicle. I’m not tall nor big but any averaged size man or a bigger person would have great difficulty in that shower. A couple of times I accidentally turned off the water as my elbow hit the lever. To put a towel over my head, I had to open the shower doors. Tiny and uncomfortable.
7. The bed mattresses are soft. The pillows are so soft and thin that they have to put 2 on top of eachother to make them usable. At least they did do that.
8. Evening restaurant was serviced by one waiter who was nice enough but not once came over and asked if all was well and to my satisfaction. Also, I had to always wait for him to pay my bill. The food was good but the soup was too salty.
9. Breakfast buffet: it looks big and full. Firstly, nothing is made fresh, not the eggs nor the crepes/pancakes. They’re simply kept warm. That’s fine, some big chain hotels are like that although this one is independently owned and operated. There is a small sign indicating that we can ask for freshly made eggs. The “fresh” orange juice tastes like watered down Tang and medicine but I soon found out that BW wasn’t alone in this. It was the worst oj I’ve ever had. Next, the coffee: It was either filter coffee or coming out of a Nespresso machine which spouts out more milk than coffee. I was given a funny look when I asked about fresh espresso. So that too was a big disappointment. The breads are so thinly sliced and small that they cannot pop out of the toaster. The croissants taste like something you buy at a grocery store. A couple of days they had 2-3 choices of cheese, other days a couple of more were added. Some of the granola and cereal were clearly from the bottom of the box. There is staff that stand and walk around, not sure what their role is, other staff check the availability of the foods but not once did they collect the plates at my table. They don’t provide big enough plates to add on most of what you’d like to eat so a collection of 5 plates accumulates at your table and is left there. Nobody does a thing about it. I’ve never experience this apathy before.
10. The bar area is not inviting at all, has old lumpy furniture. There is the occasional smell of cigarettes or cigars although in the room a Non-Smoking Policy brochure clearly indicates that smoking is allowed only outside. It’s possible that the guests sitting at the bar had smoked and the smell was still on their jacket. There is also filter coffee in a thermal mug at reception, right at the entrance. I wouldn’t touch it. Also, they play Celine Dion at reception all day, every day. I fly all the way to Croatia to hear Celine Dion?

My suggestion: stay somewhere else.
If you must stay at BW, look into a suite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, every thing was excellent.
the reception, rooms, car parking, breakfest, there was no fault at all those.
and all this just five minuts walk fron the city center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmenkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.3 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Address: Petrinjska 71, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class hotel BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria **** in the centre of the Croatian capital casts its spell with its wonderful 30ies charm. 100 luxurious rooms with all amenities, business center with 4 fully equipped conference rooms, the exquisite restaurant Ragusa and the elegant Glama Bar with affiliated pastry shop create an oasis of recreation for business travellers and city tourists.Hotel guests have on disposal a FREE private parking in the courtyard within hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Zagreb
Zagreb Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing