We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice park just outside Zagreb”

Medvednica mountain (Sljeme)
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.01*
and up
Medvednica Trekking Tour from Zagreb
Ranked #28 of 210 things to do in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
252 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Nice park just outside Zagreb”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

While this park is conveniently located just outside of Zagreb, and it's trails are nice and well-kept, I found the overall experience to be very average overall. The trails, at least the ones we were on, were all very heavily forested. This is great if you just want to be out in nature, but we all commented that we could just as easily have been back home in Maine, or any number of other places. There just weren't any unique landscapes along the way. When we reached the top of the mountain we could at least see some towns below us, but again the views just weren't anything special or particularly memorable. It's a perfectly nice mountain and park for a day hike, but there's just nothing about it that makes it a must-see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    48
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“real mountain close to town center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Whenever you feel like escaping from the busy city, Medvednica is only half an hour drive away. During Summer the temperatures up there are usually around 5 degrees lower which makes it excellent Summer escape. It's great for a stroll in Medvednica forests in any time of year. If you are "sporty" you can go to the top by foot or bycicle.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastroenolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I like climbing up the Medvednica, I used to do hiking during weekends, I enjoy their big trees and shade of its, birds singing, a clear water of small streams there, flowers on their meadows... but I‘m sorry because the cable-car to the top doesn‘t work any more, too old and doesn‘t safety, they said, need to be construct a new one...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZagrebNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must see place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent place to go both in the summer and winter. In the summer you can get the cable car and enjoy the landscape or if you're fitter and more adventurous you can go hiking. At the top of the mountain you can treat yourself with a cup of coffee while soaking up the atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“a hidden jewel in Zagreb <3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

wow!! this was great, I mean, I was with my family and some relatives when I was a little bit younger, I was when winter and it was stunning; trees covered in snow, beautiful ropeway, beautiful nature, gorgeous scenic view and the most beautiful air you could possibly breathe :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dora4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medvednica mountain (Sljeme) also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Medvednica mountain (Sljeme)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing