We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip for the Kids”
Review of Zagreb Zoo

Zagreb Zoo
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$67.21*
and up
Green Ways of Zagreb Walking Tour
Ranked #31 of 216 things to do in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great trip for the Kids”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Come and enjoy this beautiful park / zoo with your children. It is a wonderful experience. Great examples of wildlife on exhibit in this young country.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BulletBob19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    100
    42
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good enough for Zagreb”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Since I Visited many zoos, I found this to be fair value for Zagreb city. It's quite large, decent cleanness, being its was hot day in July and everything smells in July anyway, it was bearable to walk around. Some cages had only one animal... But I Guess that's what they have...well organized, so you don't go around in same circle like in some zoos.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bosniangirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almassora, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As cheap as sad”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews, we dared to visit the zoo, but on Monday, since the ticket costs 20kn.
We found different environements, not all of them well prepared to host animals, though. I'm not saying that the zoo was a horrible place for the animals, but some of them were living alone or in a reduced space.
It is true, that the zoo is being improved with new places for the animals and I wishif they had all been completed. I'm sure that I'd have enjoyed every single minute in the zoo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank siserte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressive zoo!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Firstly I'm quite surprised by the negative reviews regarding this zoo. When I visited it was really clean and the zoo was well maintained. It was actually bigger than I thought and in terms of cage size, the only smallish cage was where the jaguars were kept but certainly not as severe as other European zoos. The various types of animals at this zoo made the trip more worthwhile and the price (with a Zagreb travel card) was the equivalent of 2 euros so its certainly one of (if not) the cheapest zoo in Europe.

I recommend visiting this zoo and you won't be disappointed, some of the animals were beautiful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank r_obrien91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

In many ways Zoos are depressing, particularly for large animals locked up in spaces far too small and this zoo is no exception. Having said that efforts are being made to provide more suitable spaces with work well underway.

It's not up to the class of Berlin or Western Plains but it isn't among the worst zoos I have visited.

We walked from the centre of town and back again in the rain which is an experience in itself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nat255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zagreb Zoo also viewed

 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Zagreb Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing