We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wacky hotel, fab breakfast, free parking”
Review of Hotel 9

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 9
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wacky hotel, fab breakfast, free parking”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed in a Gold room (on the top floor) which was brilliant - lots of 70's looking decor and furniture, very plush. Massive room, and big bathroom - with Etro toiletries which were great. The bed was also big and one of the most comfortable we've stayed in. WiFi was the best we had in Croatia, but the TV had to be rebooted twice.
Breakfast was delicious, with a chef there to help out.
Parking was in the garage below the hotel with a lift, very easy to use.
The hotel is a 30 minute walk from the main square in Zagreb, but you can hop on tram 6 to get into town. The tram stop is just outside the hotel. A day card costs 4 euros, well worth it.
A fun and great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    60
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
98
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in June. New hotel with great facilities. On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. Even though this hotel is not right in the centre of Zagreb it is only a short walk from the nearest tram stop which takes you to the centre and many other parts of Zagreb if you want. We were told we could pay the fare on the tram but no ever collected any fare so it was actually free. The airport is only 20 minutes from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in April. We made the reservation over the phone on the arrival day with the super nice receptionist. They parked our car in a garage and accommodated us on a silver floor. (gold, white silver floor).
Rooms are great, specious with large bathrooms, clean and trendy.
The breakfast is great - they have a caterer doing that for them but the options are large.
Service is excellent and this is definitely the place I would always come back.
For a short visit to Zagreb this hotel is a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariella33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very new, modern hotel directly across the road from the bus station. This is the perfect place to stay if you are catching an early morning bus.
The decor is quite futuristic and everything you need is available in the room.
Breakfast is included in the price and the variety covers most tastes.
The property is a little way from the lower town and a further distance to the old town.
I can highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a good, clean, comfortable place to stay that is handy to the bus station.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is new, opened last year. The design of the rooms is modern and very nice. The service is one of the best ever: we had a problem of timing and almost missed the flight and the hotel manager , Ivona Maric, suggested to join us to the airport with the rented car and help us. Her assistance was so helpfully and touched us deeply. Never saw such attitude.
The breakfast is delicious and very unique.
It was last night of stay in this area often a week of travel, and it was the best hotel we stayed in, I would recommend strongly on staying here.this boutique hotel and its team is the perfect combination.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrnaP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed overnight in Zagreb on the way to Sarajevo and wanted a hotel that wan't in the city so we could be on the road early in the morning, but also convenient to the old city to visit some relations for dinner that evening. This suited our needs perfectly. Free parking was a bonus. When you first enter the hotel you think it belongs on the main drag in Nice, France and not stuck opposite the bus station in an old villa area in the business district of Zagreb! It is a very "footballer glizty" boutique hotel. Black bed linen and grey carpet with huge grey padded headboards and sleek white furniture. The wall paper is actually thin strips of mirror (thin enough to airbrush anyone!). The Reception staff were lovely and helpful especially since the aircon was not working when we arrived on a particularly hot day with sun pouring in the windows. Everything in this hotel is super modern from the sleek bar adjacent to the lobby area to the sensored windows and aircon system which can be seen from Reception if malfunctioning. We were finally moved to a another room 3 times bigger due to the problem. I often wonder if the Trip advisor owl pops up near my name as we were told we were being upgraded! The bathroom was lovely with a huge shower with perspex sides and a great shower head. The tram to the old city runs 2 mins away from opposite the hotel and takes about 8 minutes so very convenient and very cheap. Tickets bought at a kiosk on that main drag of shops by the bus station. Breakfast was served on the top floor where there is a small rood terrace running around the building with a view of a running/biking path and some trees but nothing that inspiring to see. We were greeted by the egg chef and a hostess when entering the breakfast room. Very polite and professional. The tables have linen cloths and napkins in interesting napkin holders. Breakfast was not the usual run of the mill food and they had made some interesting things in shot glasses such as crumbled feta cheese with a strip of pepper and carrot standing upright and a slice of cherry tomato. Probably more suited to the business traveler to have with an after work drink in the bar but a nice and interesting addition at breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. The only let down was the coffee! Apparently they cannot have a coffee machine in the room and so served coffee from thermoses but it was weak and luke warm. I suggested that since they had spent so much attention to detail down to the napkin ring that perhaps they should invest in some decaffetieres and provide one pot per table when the guests sit down. A job lot at IKEA is probably a steal and then buy some good filter coffee. They were were interested in suggestions on how to improve and keep a level of good service. I would recommend the hotel as it was interesting and quirky!

Room Tip: Our initial room was smaller but perfectly functional but the uber King sized bedroom was spacious o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janieg22609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The area is nothing special, but the hotel is very nice. I parked just outside of the hotel free of charge.
The lobby is very shiny and very impressive. The furniture and lighting are very nice.
My room was nice size, the carpet was super fluffy and luxurious. The whole place is super clean. Nice and comfortable bed.
The breakfast was nice but two people serving it seemed a bit too poncy.
I liked the hotel, the staff is very helpful. It seems a little too glitzy and too poncy to me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcelaPomphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.9 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.9 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 9

Property: Hotel 9
Address: Avenija Marina Drzhica 9, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 9 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just across the main bus station, this boutique hotel was built in 2013 and it offers an on-site bar, modernly furnished rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. The centre of Zagreb with all its sights is 1,7 km from Hotel 9. All rooms feature intelligent room systems, smart TVs and minibars. Each one comes with a bathroom fitted with a shower and a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing