We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I came open-minded, but fled sleepless...”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I came open-minded, but fled sleepless...”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

First off, the breakfast is very good, I was served a perfect and pancakes by order.
But, I could not enjoy it because I hardly slept more than 20 minutes in one interval -- more or less the duration between two trams or loud motorbikes droning along the street right next to the hotel. The location (on one of the busiest intersections in central Zagreb with several tram tracks) would not be such a nuisance if perhaps the window glazing was appropriate: my grandmother had better windows in the 1930's. Before arriving to the hotel I read some of the reviews, but resolved to give it a chance. It proved an unwise choice as I was there for business and truly needed a good night's sleep and rest. Additionally, the central-air system started emanating breakfast smells into my room before 7 am, so I guess that was my wake-up call.
The bathroom had the cheapest blow-drier possible as it did not blow even lukewarm just cold air, and my toilet seat was disgustingly dirty. Perhaps the other rooms not overlooking the main street are more comfortable, but the hotel, without an elevator and hygiene lapses, does not deserve four stars. However, as with many other cases, it comes down to what you expect and what you are used to.

Room Tip: Avoid street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    43
    8
    11
See reviews for
15
50
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A simple 3 star hotel (they say they have 4 stars) with a simple comfort and excellent location. (15 min walking distance to city center).Very friendly staff ..Good beds and bathrooms..Simple,satisfactory and good value for money..Breakfast is extra (10.euros).. Free internet and working...)) The biggest disadvantage is the little noisy environment,because of tram and main street..Recommended for short business stays..

Room Tip: Rear side rooms are more quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemalk_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

When I stayed at Garden Hotel it was quite new in June 2013. It is centrally located just 1 kilometer away from the main railways station and also just 1 kilometer from Ban Jelacic Square. Very easy for public transport (there is a tram stop). Spacious room with a clean bathroom (shower cabin), LCD TV, comfortable beds. A very good value for money for quite expensive hotels in Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirzaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I recently travelled to Zagreb on business and stayed at the Garden Hotel. Although my room was not all that spacious, it was decent enough for a single occupant. I had problems with the air conditioning and my room was a tad bit too warm for my liking, but I could get by without complaints. Service and staff were approachable and friendly and they helped me figure out places in Zagreb. Even though the hotel is not centrally located, I was able to conveniently use the trams to get to the city square. All in all, not too bad an experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolitMoodiTraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for more than 5 nights. After reading the reviews I was concerned about the room air conditioning. The staff advised that the temperature in each room is controlled at a centralised point. (I have no idea why). There is no lift and was allocated a tiny single room on the ground floor. The bed was small and quite uncomfortable. I suspect a double bed would have filled the room.

Be cautious when you give this hotel your credit card details. Its not as a holding deposit like most hotels but they deducted the full amount of the stay on receipt of the card details.

On the positive side the reception was helpful with tourist information and once you master the tram system the hotel is well located for trams into the main square and to the railway station.

Cheers

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aus_Solo_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zagreb hotels

Stawell, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is generally good,,,,,,,,,but Not four star, The temperature in my room was 34degrees,,,,,,when asked about turning on the air conditioner, was told the air conditioner is on automatic and could not be turned on, [what does that mean?] and to open a window,,,,,,,,,,,,,
I payed for three night ONLY stayed one night could NOT take the HOT room,,,,,,,,,,,did not want the refund,,,,,,,,,,,,,just wanted to get the hell out of that HOT room,,,,,,,,,,,The only time I was offered another room was when I was packed and leaving the Hotel,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Staff note: Always ask your customers what they would like, 1. noisy room but nice and cool,,,,,,, or HOT room but quite. My choice would have been COOL room,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nada D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Garden Hotel has very friendly staff and a really good location. The rooms are clean and some of them spacious. However, while we were there, the heating couldnt be turned off despite the fact that we told the staff everyday that the heating worked too well. Infact we had between 25-32 degrees in the room!!! It was a very unpleasant expeirence, because I was sweating all night, my throat dried out and I got sick at some point because I had to open the window to cool the room. My stay in Zagreb was very exhausting as a result and I wanst quite healthy and it was really bad because I was for work there. The breakfast is too expensive for the city and the quality. The managment shoud rethink their prices for the breakfast. The free wifi and the free maps are really good !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#20 of 58 in Zagreb
305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Like
Art Hotel Like
#30 of 58 in Zagreb
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
#13 of 58 in Zagreb
803 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
#17 of 58 in Zagreb
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Property: Garden Hotel
Address: Valentina Vodnika 13, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing