We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might be the best hostel in Zagreb”
Review of Swanky Mint Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swanky Mint Hostel
Ranked #1 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 days, 1 day in the 6 person room which was insane, very roomy, private bathroom, private tv and a double bed. The other 2 days we stayed in the dorm which was also very cool.
The staff is very friendly and the bar is very good.
Cocktails are very cheap, long island icetea for only 25 kuna!!
They also have a very nice terras above the bar.
It's a very nice calm hostel.
It will be my first choice if I ever visit zagreb again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jonas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina S, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Hi Jonas,

we are really glad you liked your stay in both type of our rooms :)

Thank you so much for a great review!

Hope you'll be back here again to enjoy our cocktails and terrace :)

Best regards from your Swanky Team! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Swanky Mint Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 367 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 22 of my mates stayed in Swanky in June 2014. This hostel goes the extra mile and has a really friendly and quirky vibe. The staff come across as a family rather than colleagues which really made us feel at home. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Zagreb, book a bed in Swanky Mint...you won't regret it!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank jonathancully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for your amazing review. In the name of whole Swanky team, we are all happy to hear that we managed to make your stay extra special and we hope to see you and your mates back to Swanky again soon!!

Keep calm and Swanky on :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Really enjoyed staying at the Swanky Mint. We stayed in a private room with a bathroom. It was was very clean and neat. The bed was comfortable, and was made of recycled pallets! (We were quite excited about that). The bathroom was small but really all you need. I would recommend it.

My favourite part was the terrace, which is full of reclaimed/recycled furniture. Very colourful and chilled.

The staff were very nice and very helpful when it came to finding transport routes/places of interest.

The location is very good, and very easy to get public transport from the airport/bus station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarlyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear CarlyWhit,

Thank you for taking time and writing your review. We are especially happy to hear that you found our accommodation satisfying, our recycle-reuse design interesting and most importantly that our staff managed to meet all your needs.

Do come visit us again soon!! Wishing you safe travels!!!

Your
Swanky team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I spent two nights here with a friend as we were backpacking in May and we both left wishing we could have stayed on longer! The hostel (which was once a laundry) had a great modern look and really beautiful layout - complete with spacious bar and terrace space. Rooms had a stripped back, minimal style but everything you needed, with air con, TV, shower, etc. The staff really made the stay for us and we even joined one of them for a night in the nearby Peppermint nightclub, with two other guests. The location is ideal and we found everything we wanted in Zagreb by foot. Would love to go back soon - recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina S, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2015

Hi Christopher S,

thanks for the compliments :)

Swanky Mint is waiting to host you again :D

Your Swanky Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I only stayed here for one night with some friends, but had an amazing time. We actually wanted to stay longer, but unfortunately there weren't any rooms available :(.

The facilities here are great and the location of the hostel is excellent. To top it off, the staff are very friendly and helpful too. It was raining pretty heavily on the day of our departure, so we spent most of the afternoon in the bar. We had a great time sampling the varieties of rakija and had a nice chat with Donovan, one of the staff members.

I must make special mention of Tea the bar manager. She made a grey and miserable afternoon really fun and memorable. Funny, cool and extremely helpful, she spent most of the afternoon chatting to us and helped us find another good hostel to move on to. The bar gets a big thumbs up from me. Even if you can't get a bed at the hostel, swing by for a drink at its bar :)!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I´ve been in Zagreb on April and I had a great time there in Swanky Mint! The hostel is located near to the old city so you can walk around, don´t really need to take a bus (only if you wanna go further! ;) )
The hostel is very clean and cool! Including the staff whose are really helpful and nice, they really care about you!
I´m sure you´ll enjoy your trip in Swanky Mint :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Bar -Tick
Comfy beds - Tick
Light and plug by each bed - Tick
Hot Showers - Tick
Hairdryer - Tick
Helpful, Friendly Staff - Tick
Great Location - Tick
Clean! - Tick

All in all a great stay for a couple of days! Thanks Swanky!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanky Mint Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanky Mint Hostel

Address: Ilica 50, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range: $17 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Zagrebs main street this former factory has been transformed into a visitors dream, offering every facility imaginable in true Swanky style, with a gorgeous sun terrace and garden outside the windows of the bar offering the ideal surroundings to unwind after a day spent exploring the beautiful city. Private rooms, separate apartments, bed and breakfast, dorm rooms big and small, all on offer here at unbeatable value. Of course all the usual's are free, WiFi, linens, towels,lockers and our traditional rakija welcome drink with our experienced helpful staff means your stay will be a happy one in the Swanky Mint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swanky Mint Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing