We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel!”
Review of Swanky Mint Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swanky Mint Hostel
Ranked #1 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant hostel!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had such a good stay here! The directions from the train station are easy to follow, and the tramline takes you to just outside. The hostel is about 5 min walk from the old town and main square - everywhere you want to visit. The staff were some of the most helpful we came across whilst travelling, gave us a map and good recommendations of where to eat and what to see. You get a free shot of honey brandy for staying, and the bar is well worth a visit! They've managed to decorate it in an 'up-cycled' fashion which we loved, the room was so comfy with good locks and doors. Zagreb is a wonderful city, and our visit was all the better for having stayed here!

Room Tip: The superintendent bureau - known as the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina S, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Hi Hannah,

we are so glad we improved you stay in Zagreb :))

Thank you for a great review!

Your Swanky Team :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    42
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
47
134
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow where to start. We arrived at Swanky Mint easily following their fantastic instructions from the train station. We were warmly welcomed by a guy who was extremely helpful and happy to answer any questions if needed. He provided us with a city map and showed us to our room. Our room exceeded our expectations and was worth every penny of the very reasonable price. It had an en-suite, tv and air con (really appreciated in the hot weather). I asked the helpful young guy at the desk if he could suggest somewhere for dinner and he marked it on our map - the restaurant was cheap but fantastic Croatian cuisine down a quiet road, just what we wanted after a busy day of travel. Great location, literally 5 minutes walk to the main square where everything you would want to see is. The guy who welcomed us set a high standard for the rest of the staff but they were equally as helpful and were all obviously wanting us to have a great stay. We ran out of toilet roll, which I wasn't bothered by, but when I went to ask for more they were apologetic and took note of which room I was in. Also had a chilled friendly bar and terrace and we were given a free shot voucher at check in! Quite simply the best hostel we went to on our inter-rail trip and would recommend it everyone and anyone. Even those who would usually overlook hostels of hotels. Thank you Swanky Mint!

Room Tip: All were of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina S, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi archere,

thank you for an amazing review! It's so good to hear that you were so satisfied with your stay in Swanky and that the room exceeded your expectations :))

We are hoping to host you again someday!

Best regards from your Swanky Team! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Unfortunately I could only stay a night in the Swanky Mint Hostel which is a shame as I would have loved to stayed longer. I had recently fallen out of love with hosteling but Swanky has restored my faith. Clean, friendly staff, reasonably priced, cheap cool bar (in that it is both hip and air conditioned), great soundtrack, relaxed atmosphere, original design and a central, easy to reach location (there is a tram stop outside the door) - need I say any more. I will definitely not hesitate to book in again and I recommend that you do too!

Room Tip: I stayed in a dorm room and this was all good. Cheap, with a comfy bed and plenty of storage space,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petros_oskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Petros_oskar,

In the name of the Swanky team, I would like to shout out a big thank you for your remarkable review. We are more than thrilled to hear that your faith in hostels has been restored and hope that you will continue visiting hostels and of course return to the Mint soon!!!

We are all looking forward to welcome you back!!!

Keep calm and Swanky on :)

Your
Swanky team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Even after only been open for a month, the hostel and especially the staff set off fun and welcoming atmosphere.The staff know you by name and are so are so keen on you enjoying your stay that it's impossible not to.The bar always had friendly people around and offered the cheapest beers I have come across in Croatia.The hostel set-up embraces the building's interesting history and all facilities are new and perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becdegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Beckdegs,

Thank you for such a nice review and feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you liked our hostel and atmosphere. Since we are a young hostel and team, there's nothing more encouraging than hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay and felt the friendly and chilled vibe which we try to convey.

We sure hope to see you back again soon! Beer and welcome shot is waiting for you!!!

Have a safe journey back home and Swanky on!!

Your
Swanky team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. We had an apartment room which was nice and confortable with a nice style. Got a discount since the rest was booked. Interior of rooms and public areas is nicely built and decorated with a cute details.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Esther,

Thank you for choosing Swanky Mint and for your amazing review. We are happy to hear that you liked our hostel and that the apartment and our staff met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to Zagreb and the Mint soon!

Have a safe journey back home!

Your

Swanky team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited for a long weekend in July, and this is hands down the best hostel I have stayed in. The location is great, just a short walk from the city's most popular attractions and right by a tram stop. The staff were knowledgeable, helpful and very friendly. I stayed in a single room with an ensuite bathroom which was clean and comfortable, with air conditioning. I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend Swanky Mint to anyone who's planning a trip to Zagreb!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 439Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for staying at the Swanky Mint and for your amazing review. We highly appreciate your comments and are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our new hostel and that we met all your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Zagreb and Swanky again soon!!!

Have a safe trip back home!!!

Swanky Mint team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Your are definitely going to meet cool people at Swanky Mint. Andrija and Darka are amazing hosts who are going to give you the best advice on how to have a good time in Zagreb. You are already going to enjoy just hanging out at their lovely terrace and have a beer. The hostel is located in the centre of the city where you can reach the main square and best bars on a walking distance. The interior is industrial, super creative and at the same time cozy. I just loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanjabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tanja,

Thank you for such a nice review. We are all very pleased to hear that you like our hostel and enjoyed hanging out with us. We only wish you would have stayed longer...

Good luck with your future travels and do come back soon!!!

Darka&Andrija&John&Lovro :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.6 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanky Mint Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanky Mint Hostel

Property: Swanky Mint Hostel
Address: Ilica 50, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Zagrebs main street this former factory has been transformed into a visitors dream, offering every facility imaginable in true Swanky style, with a gorgeous sun terrace and garden outside the windows of the bar offering the ideal surroundings to unwind after a day spent exploring the beautiful city. Private rooms, separate apartments, bed and breakfast, dorm rooms big and small, all on offer here at unbeatable value. Of course all the usual's are free, WiFi, linens, towels,lockers and our traditional rakija welcome drink with our experienced helpful staff means your stay will be a happy one in the Swanky Mint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Swanky Mint Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing