We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific new hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swanky Mint Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swanky Mint Hostel
Ranked #1 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific new hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited for a long weekend in July, and this is hands down the best hostel I have stayed in. The location is great, just a short walk from the city's most popular attractions and right by a tram stop. The staff were knowledgeable, helpful and very friendly. I stayed in a single room with an ensuite bathroom which was clean and comfortable, with air conditioning. I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend Swanky Mint to anyone who's planning a trip to Zagreb!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 439Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for staying at the Swanky Mint and for your amazing review. We highly appreciate your comments and are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our new hostel and that we met all your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Zagreb and Swanky again soon!!!

Have a safe trip back home!!!

Swanky Mint team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    40
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
47
126
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Your are definitely going to meet cool people at Swanky Mint. Andrija and Darka are amazing hosts who are going to give you the best advice on how to have a good time in Zagreb. You are already going to enjoy just hanging out at their lovely terrace and have a beer. The hostel is located in the centre of the city where you can reach the main square and best bars on a walking distance. The interior is industrial, super creative and at the same time cozy. I just loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanjabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tanja,

Thank you for such a nice review. We are all very pleased to hear that you like our hostel and enjoyed hanging out with us. We only wish you would have stayed longer...

Good luck with your future travels and do come back soon!!!

Darka&Andrija&John&Lovro :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

hello everybody! after my south american trip i decided to return to my most favorite seaside in the world - Adria :)) no waves, no life threatening currents..its just amazing! last time i went there i stayed in a great hostel swanky crib..had only the best words for it! this summer SWANKY CRIB younger brother SWANKY MINT was open...and if i can say, even cooler! better location, bigger garden, a BAR..yes a BAR!!!again as an architect i have to give my professional opinion - DESIGN of this HOSTEL has left me speechless! it is an old fabric factory transformed into the coolest hostel ever! style - industrial design. materials - eco friendly. main idea - recycle/reuse! everything that fulfills urban travelers wishes. every detail carefully thought through! Dorm rooms are big enough but this time i took a PRIVATE ROOM as it was only 10HRK more expensive then the dorm room (its like 1,5eur)..and for 1,5eur you get PRIVATE BATHROOM and a led TV! and a queen size bed! needless to say more.. the kitchen is fully equipped, actually unbelievably modern! but i was more of a bar person :)) hanging in the garden with other travelers whilst a very cute waiter was bringing ridiculously cheap drinks..no wonder i stayed 3 days longer then i should. did my laundry there too (thank god for hostels that provide that service!!) all the staff members were very friendly, they gave me a welcome drink on my check in :) rooms and toilets are very clean, wifi signal really good in the house and in the garden..hostel is 2min walk to the city centre..everything was simply perfect! amazing experience for me and definitely my pit stop in my future travels to adriatic coast!

Room Tip: any of the private rooms!its only 1,5eur more then the dorm room and you have a private bathroom + t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lana x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Lana,

Thank you for coming back to Swanky and for another amazing review. We are more than pleased to welcome our guests back in Zagreb and to make them feel like at home. Your comments are truly valued because they prove that all our hard work has really paid off. Especially your comments regarding the design, coming from an architect, really mean a lot. Since you were one of our first guests and a returning one too, we were more than pleased to give you a special discount and an upgrade to private room. We try to offer our guests as much as possible for an unbeatable city center value. Nothing makes us more happy than to receive such great feedback :) in the name of the whole Swanky crew, we all wish to say a big THANK YOU!!!

Take care and have a safe journey back home!!! And of course COME BACK SOON!!!

Your Swanky team awaits you!! Either at the Crib or Mint :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hostel was easy to find, the tram literally drops you out the front. It has a cool modern rustic look to it with exposed pipes and bricks. When we arrived we were greeted by two young friendly staff members at the reception desk. Check in was quick and straight forward. The bathrooms and dorm rooms were very clean with your linen and towel awaiting you on your bed. We had a bit of trouble connecting to the wifi at first but once we spoke to the owner about it he went out of his way to call the Internet company and sort it out for us and after that we had no problems with it. He even gave us a beer on the house for the hassle. There are also computers available if you wish to use them. There's a bar down stairs which sells a range of beer and spirits for a very reasonable price (10kn for a pint of domestic beer or shot of spirits during happy hour 7-9pm). The bar backs onto a courtyard area with tables and chairs so you can laze around in the sun whilst having a drink. The hostel is located in a prime spot right in the centre of the city, only a 5 minute walk to cafes, restaurants, bars and clubs. As the hostel has only been open 2 weeks it was fairly quiet but it has the potential to be a very popular social hostel once the word gets out and is definitely one of the best hostels we've stayed at in Europe. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukesera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darka Z, Guest Relations Manager at Swanky Mint Hostel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Luke,

The Swanky team and myself are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our new hostel and staff exceeded your expectations. We are all travelers and value the power of word of mouth recommendations between the people who cross paths on each journey. In order to continually improve upon our services to you, we rely heavily on feedback from our guests, therefore, we all would like to shout out a big THANK YOU for your amazing review and comments.

Thank you for choosing Swanky Mint and we hope to see you and your friends back soon!!!

Have a safe and pleasant journey!

Your Swanky team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.6 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swanky Mint Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swanky Mint Hostel

Property: Swanky Mint Hostel
Address: Ilica 50, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Zagrebs main street this former factory has been transformed into a visitors dream, offering every facility imaginable in true Swanky style, with a gorgeous sun terrace and garden outside the windows of the bar offering the ideal surroundings to unwind after a day spent exploring the beautiful city. Private rooms, separate apartments, bed and breakfast, dorm rooms big and small, all on offer here at unbeatable value. Of course all the usual's are free, WiFi, linens, towels,lockers and our traditional rakija welcome drink with our experienced helpful staff means your stay will be a happy one in the Swanky Mint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Swanky Mint Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing