We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over hyped and below average food”
Review of Vagabund

Vagabund
Ranked #21 of 1,141 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Vagabund was opened in 1983 and spangles a tradition of 30 years.In Vagabund you can spend pleasent and warm moments, with available prices and kind personnel. Our offering is really big and we try to approach You with traditional way of food making. We started as pizzeria with recipes of one of the best chefs and till today we hold that tradition of delightful pizza which has a special taste. In 2007 we were proclaimed the best pizzeria in Zagreb. We are visited by manny distingushed musicians, academicians, lawyers, doctors, bohemians and manny other. In Vagabund people come to relax and enjoy in conversation and sound of rock music.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

The staff was courteous, that's where the best part ends. The pizza was soggy and full of cheese, the ham seemed uncured as it was difficult to chew. All in all a pretty average tasting pizza. When we asked for freshly squeezed orange juice, the attendant just squeezed the remaining oranges and mixed them with 70% water to make - you guessed it right, cold water with some orange pulp. The other dish was something that they pass of as veggies, but in reality it is minimal veggies and mostly fried cheese. If only cheese could make a dish tasty!!!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank DebayanBiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pixy07, Owner at Vagabund, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Dear Sir,

we use fresh ingredients for our meals. we are sorry you didn't like our food and we wouldn't charge you anything. I personally worked that day in the kitchen and I remember you ate all the dishes. We don't put as much water you mentioned in orange juice. Once again sorry but you should have said something.
Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 257 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2016

I ordered a small pizza, since i wasn't overly hungry. It said there was supposed to be olives on it, and there was ONE olive in the middle of it. Great work guys.
The pizza was soggy in the middle, full of fat, but all in all it was tasty. Not worth the money though.

My girlfriend has some pork chops. I tried some of it, and the pork chops were fry and boring. Couldn't detect any seasoning whatsoever. It was also served with MUSTARD as sauce! Who wants just plain mustard as a dipping sauce, for both fried, and pork chops? And the sauce came inside of a leaf of rosé salat, which is a notoriously bitter salat. It's pretty much inedible unless you fry/blanche it. The only good thing on her plate were the fried mushrooms.

Don't trust all the good reviews. This place is overhyped. If you want some poorly cooked, overpriced food, then sure, go ahead and eat there.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nils Jakob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pixy07, Owner at Vagabund, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Hello,

Listen to a song called "Feelings" by a world known gentleman.

Thank you for visiting our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

We arrived at Zagreb from the train station late one evening and stumbled across this restaurant around 10:30pm on a Sunday night. Even though the restaurant was close to closing for the night, the waiter lets us come in for pizza. We were grateful because there was nowhere else open to eat. The pizzas were great and tasty. The service was fast and the gentleman was friendly.
We enjoyed it so much that we returned the next evening. We had lamb and beef each with cheese for starter. Very tasty again! Prices are suitable, not too expensive.
If you want to eat in a restaurant a little away from the busy tourist center, with good food and friendly staff you should definitely eat here.
Thanks to the staff !

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank enguerrandlucbereilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pixy07, Owner at Vagabund, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Hello,

thank you for the review. We are glad you liked our place and food. Visit us again if you're in Zagreb.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

The food was ok, the prices are decent but it didn't impress me that much. The waiter was friendly. I am not sure if I would go back.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pixy07, Owner at Vagabund, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Hello,

thank you for the review. We are glad you liked our place and food. Visit us again if you're in Zagreb.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is a little bit farther from the center...but there is a tram that will take you there. The atmosphere is more quiet than the restaurants in the center. We went there for lunch and ordered grilled plate and lamb plate. The food was phenomenal, service is very good that we ended up staying there until 5 in the afternoon... We also ordered pancakes, which was very good and had another meal,the Zagreb steak before we left...so we actually spent the whole afternoon there. The price is also very reasonable...We will definitely go back 😃

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank aWanderlust1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pixy07, Owner at Vagabund, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Hello,

thank you for the review. We are glad you liked our place and food. Visit us again if you're in Zagreb.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagabund also viewed

 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Vagabund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.