We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hostel of your dreams!”
Review of The Brit Hostel

The Brit Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brit Hostel
Ranked #21 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Free linen and towels! Free lockers! Everything is brand new! Nice big kitchen! Lots of powersockets in dorms! Very cheap bar! Very friendly and helpfull staff! Showers and toilets on each floor! Very clean everywhere! Good place to meet other travellers! BIG commonroom/bar with TV and lots of books! Very central location! Hostel has its own walking tour with Mario for just 8 euros + free coffee! 6 euro laundryservice! 10 bed mixed dorm bed = 15 euros!

If i should give my very best recommendations to any hostel - This would be the one. If you are in Zagreb - dont miss it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederikBertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 91 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We've stayed two nights at this newborn Hostel and can recommend it to every Zagreb-Visitor. It's about 10 walking minutes from Ben Jelacic Square (City centre), but situated in a courtyard off the street - so relatively quiet apart from noisy guests.
Staff ist very friendly and informative, a modern kitchen is available for use and the bar area is comfy with interesting sofas to relax after a long day.
Possibility for laundry, free WFi throughout the Hostel and very clean sanitary area at all times are other benefits.
Our room was equipped with two single beds and two lockers, window towards courtyard.

Room Tip: Room 13 was towards courtyard, right above the entrance. The outside motion detector sent some rays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora_Miguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the Brit Hostel during our 3-day trip to Zagreb and had a great time!
The hostel is a 5-minute walk away from city center in a quite backyard. Stuff is really friendly and helpfull and always good for a laugh - by the way: thanks for the Sljivovica ;-)
Since the hostel is quite new the rooms and washing facilities are perfectly clean and nice.
A really great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellington S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

IRFC (A group of 27) stayed for three nights at the Brit Hostel in Zagreb.
Immediately on arrival i knew that we had made an excellent decision.
The Hostel was very clean and modern, with some excellent furniture that made the place warm and relaxing. The rooms were just as clean and and comfortable. Shower facilities were great as were the toilets.
The Hostel has a nice little bar that is 24x7 which believe me was great at 3am when you're dying for coke. With free internet access in the bar via WiFi or the three PCs that are in situ you can catch up on all that is required.
My last but most important point is the staff, they are truly amazing. They were constantly warm, friendly and helpful. They helped me in a search of a rugby ball in Zagreb, which led me to Intersport on the other side of the city. Giving advice on trams and maps etc. They booked cabs for our group of 27 and were very accommodating to a bunch of over excited boys that we were. (oh and Petra is lovely )

I will defiantly be going back to Zagreb and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Thanks Brit Hostel!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived in Zagreb and found the Brit hostel leaflet in the station.. thank goodness! We rang up and the receptionist was super friendly. Once we found it, she was equally welcoming and pleasant, offering to print us of a timetable for the buses to Zadar. We put our things in the dorm room, the hostel is very modern and clean - comfy beds and warm enough at night. We each had a locker and key so it felt safe. The shower was slightly on luke-warm side, but the bathrooms were spotless. Another staff member helped us book a taxi and was keep to chat to us about what to do and see in Zagreb. I would certainly recommend this hostel (but not Zagreb as a city!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzzH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I arrived at the Brit Hostel, we were given a decent price for the night and then shown around the place personally by a very friendly, smiley and welcoming person.
We were given great advice about certain places, given the best lock ups that I have seen so far (I could have fitted in my 65 litre bag, + my tent and boots in there if I had to), and then told how to get back in after 12.
The Brit Hostel was in a good location, and about 10-15 mins walk to the center of Zagreb.
All in all, I found this is a great Hostel if you want a friendly welcome, and then to chill out with your friends in your room or go out as you are on a different floor to the staff.
However, I didn't see or get introduced to any cooking facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

A very clean, modern hostel with friendly staff and a warm atmosphere. The staff were friendly and very helpful, booking us a taxi for the morning, as well as helping us find somewhere to eat and which buses to take. They really went out of their way to make our stay at the hostel and in Croatia the best it could possibly be.
There is a lovely bar downstairs, with computers and wi-fi that are free to use. The showers are powerful and very clean. The rooms are spacious and warm, with comfortable beds, they provide large lockers (you don't even have to bring your own padlock!) that guests can keep their things in whilst they are out and there is a 24-hour reception if you are out late or need some help.
I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Zagreb, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.8 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Roo Rooms
Roo Rooms
#17 of 60 in Zagreb
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trsje Apartments
Trsje Apartments
#39 of 170 in Zagreb
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brit Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brit Hostel

Address: Fra Andrije Kacica Miosica 3b, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range: $13 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BRIT HOSTEL is brand new, renovated and well equipped hostel located in heart of Zagreb. We offer you cozy, quiet and comfortable accommodation in 13 mix dorms (from 2 to 12 beds), 24/7 open bar where you can enjoy your coffee (or maybe homemade grappa ), surf the web (free WI FI) or simply meet new friends. There is also a fully equipped kitchen where you can fix yourself something to eat whenever you like. We can provide you a parking space for your car (100HRK), motorcycle(50HRK)and bicycle(free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Brit Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing