We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in wrong place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
390 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in wrong place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well, I did my best to find something to critisize, but didn't really succeed. The hotel if fairly new and everything seems to bee in place; you have nice spacy rooms with comortable beds and pillows, the bathroom is likewise spacy with separate bath tube and shower, and automatic light in the cupboard. There was everything you need for a comortable stay. Tried out the pool on the 10th floor as well as the sauna. Being from Finland I always look at the saunas very critically and even avoid going there, but this was just perfect with a good stove giving a good and smooth heat. The Lobby Bar between the reception and restaurant had a good selection and wasn't overpriced. In fact I was surprised that the beer was more or less the same price as downtown. Breakfast was plentiful with all the "usual stuff". However, there should have been some local speceialities telling you that you're in Croatia. All the personnel, from the door man and the receptionist to the bar man were more then polite and contributed to the fact that I had a nice stay. Finally I have to note that I was this time on a business trip and it was OK staying a bit outside the city centar. If I were as a tourist I would prefer to stay in one of the great hotels within walking distance of the center, but this is a personal choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,

we're very happy that you enjoyed your visit at DoubleTree by HIlton Zagreb so much and thank you for finding the time to post a review.

Although we're just 2 kilometers from the historic city center, there are many opportunities to reach the major sight seeing attractions from the hotel very quickly. We would be more than happy to assist you if you visit us next time. Just give us a buzz on CareLine.

We're looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    263
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
121
246
73
429
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed there for one night and had dinner and breakfast in the hotel.
The hotel is brand new, rooms are very cosy and clean. I loved the bed and had slept really good.
There was just one little minor thing that happened - while I was in the shower the water drain got clogged and there was water all over the bathroom but after my partner lifted the drain grills everything dried off.
The dinner was great and service even better, breakfast was also very good and everything was fresh.
I would recommend this particular hotel although it is not walking distance to the main square....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb.

The whole team is glad that you enjoyed it.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the bathroom drain and I have discussed your feedback with our Chief Engineer so we could prevent this from happening in the future.

We look forward to welcome you back.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Bay, Washington
Level Contributor
198 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed at some fine properties during our current European trip, including all three Hiltons in Vienna, the Hilton Innsbruck, the Bratislava Sheraton, and the Westin Zagreb. They have been uniformly very good, but even among those illustrious hostelries this new Doubletree in Zagreb stands out as a highlight during our current two-night stay.

First, we had no trouble getting to the hotel from the main railway station on Tram No. 2. Once there, we were greeted warmly by the front desk personnel, who then proceeded to find us a room already available at 11:00 a.m. We received a few extra perks as Hilton Hhonors Diamonds, but we observed that all guests are treated with great friendliness and consideration.

The hotel is very modern and I can understand why some previous reviewers found the modern technology a bit puzzling. In fact, the check-in clerk escorted us to the elevator and showed us where to press our room key card (a little symbol at the bottom below the numbers) to allow us access to our floor. Once at the room, one does likewise with the card on a little rectangular display panel at the side of the door to gain access to the room. Inside you press various little buttons on a touchpad with pictograms to turn the lights on and off, and to signal "do not disturb" or "please make up my room" on the exterior panel.

We have seen similar arrangements in Asian hotels and it's very usable once we become accustomed to it.

We were assigned to a King Deluxe room. It is large - very large by European standards - with a small sofa at the foot of the bed that almost functions as a room divider and faces on a separate TV and office area. The room features floor to ceiling windows. One window opens a few inches, allowing us some fresh air and the chance to cool off the room for sleep. Ironically, unlike some earlier reviewers we find this and most European rooms too warm for our tastes and always appreciate being able to lower the temperature and simultaneously allow some fresh air in.

There is a desk chair and two modern upholstered chairs that provide ample seating. The bathroom includes a tub and a separate shower, complete with a "rain shower" option. Everything is modern and sleek and environmentally conscious in an almost Scandinavian style. We appreciated the bathrobes and slippers.

The fitness center, swimming pool, whirlpool and spa complex is most impressive.

We ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant last night, OXBO Urban Bar & Grill. It was expensive but featured an innovative and varied menu, quality food and excellent service. The breakfast buffet, while not the largest, is probably one of the best ones we have enjoyed on this current trip. Again, the employees are uniformly eager to please.

Tonight we are trying the Sofra Bosnian Restaurant (well reviewed on TA) literally next door to the hotel in another modern multi-storey building apparently developed by the Doubletree owners.

We are on the eighth floor and the Internet problems discussed previously must have been resolved as our devices are working flawlessly both on cable and wireless.

One small vignette illustrates the outstanding employee service. My wife has a cold and hoped to make another cup of the Twinings Green Tea & Lemon that we found this morning in our coffee and tea package. Alas, there were three other kinds of tea but no Lemon tea. The housekeeper was still on our floor and I asked if she had any more. Her English was limited but I managed to get across what I was looking for. She had none but she asked for my room number. Five minutes later another employee knocked on our door and delivered five packets of Green Tea & Lemon with a smile.

Incidentally, when I inquired at the front desk this morning about buying a single-ride tram ticket to the train station when we depart Easter Sunday, the employee quickly convinced to let her reserve us a taxi to the station and charge it to our room for about a dollar more than it would cost to take the tram. We took Tram No. 13 from the hotel to and from the Old Town without having to transfer. While the hotel is a distance from that major tourist area, we found the trams make it quite practical. All of our experiences at the Doubletree have been so positive as to make it worth the modest effort.

In summary, I'm sure it's obvious that we are extremely enthused about this hotel, and we recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No_Fixed_Address
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

we are very happy that you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb for your recent visit to our town and we're delighted that our staff made your stay a memorable one.

I am glad that you liked the set up of your room and all the amenities in it and have shared the feedback of your stay with our whole team who were pleased that we created a rewarding experience for you and your wife.

We thank you for the review and look forward to welcome you back.

WIth regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights while on weekend visit to Zagreb. Easy to find from the bus station where the Pleso bus drops you off in Zagreb, it was about a 5 minute walk. Checkin was quick and friendly, everything was explained and allocated room on the 7th floor.

Room was generous but oblong shaped. Nice work desk area but tv was fixed to the end of the bed which was odd and there was no possibility to move it. Modern room, clean and furnished tastefully. The bed was wonderful. clean, firm and easy to sleep in. Bathroom was great, separate shower area and tub, lots of space.The floor to ceiling windows added to the natural light. I know it is a new hotel and I hope they keep up the good housekeeping & cleaning.

Did use the gym & pool which is located on the 10th floor and the pool was freezing but the view onto the street below made up for it, it was a decent length so you can do your laps. There is also a sauna & steam room with some loungers to relax on. It is busy as it is also open to the public.

Breakfast was included in the rate and but was only average. The hot cooked items were just warm and not helped by the chef keeping the lids open. Eggs were cooked to order, either fried, poached or a small omelet which was better. The pastries, breads and cold cuts and cold items were a better choice. Even though it was a weekend it was not especially busy. The staff were were all helpful.

I would recommend the hotel as it new, modern and the location is not too bad. The tram # 2 from outside the hotel takes you into town quickly or the tram # 13 goes the long way around and the day pass ticket at 40 kuna is good value ( buy at the bus station kiosk when you arrive and remember to validate on your first tram trip). Old Tram # 6 from the bus station is also recommended for the heated seats, lovely !! If you are staying on a Saturday night try not to have a room facing the back as the music from the bars in the Green Gold centre does not finish until 3.45 a.m. and was loud. The Sofra Bosnian restaurant in the Green Gold centre next door is also a worth a trip as the food is good and great value. Agava was excellent and the best dining I have had for a while. Also ate at Restoran Lanterna , which was more homely and bigger portions but again good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

we are happy that you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb for your weekend break and that our team made your stay memorable.

Our Housekeeping appreciates your compliments and will keep up the good work. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the pool temperaure and will share your feedback with our fitness service provider in order to prevent this from hapenning in the future. We also shared your feedback on the breakfast experience with our Executive Chef so we can improve on it.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
251 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days during one weekend in February 2013. Newish hotel, not too far from city center (20 minutes walking, short ride with taxi, which is cheap). Good breakfast selection, quick and friendly check in, and new and superbly equiped fitnes center on the 10th floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear gust,

we're glad that you chose DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb for your recent stay in our city and are happy that you enjoyed it.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a brand new, recently opened hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is solid.

The hotel is conveniently located in the business area of the city, so arrival with the car should not be a problem. However, if you don't travel for business but as a tourist, this might not be your first option because it is outside of the city center and you would have to rely on taxi or public transportation.

On the negative side, the garage below the hotel is a public garage in which two floors are reserved for the hotel guests but you have to pay cca. 16 EUR/day, which I found pricey.

Also, the heating solution is not the best, so bring some warm clothes. You can adjust the A/C manually, but it is just cold even if the thermostat shows 23 degrees and it is kept at about 20.5 when the power is out.

As someone who used to stay in Zagreb often, I can say that DoubleTree is at the level of Arcotel Allegra, Aristos, AS or Dubrovnik, but below Antunovic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We have shared your feedback with our team and we hope to welcome you again.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I just came back from a three-night-stay at the Doubletree in Zagreb and feel like I have to write this review immediately, because I had such a good time staying there.
I had business at Zagreb university, walking distance 20 min from the hotel, so it was ideal for me. Otherwise, the neighbourhood is not very interesting - nor particularly nice, but even going back to Zagreb on a holiday I would consider staying at the Doubletree again, you have a tram that takes you directly from outside the hotel to the city center or you could have the hotel send for a taxi ( there is a fierce competition between taxi companies and the hotel will call the cheapest among them for you, so a trip into the city should cost about 5€ ). The hotel is so nice that it might be worth it, of course, if you want to be in the middle of the old town, this is not the place for you.
Everything else at the Doubletree was perfect. The hotel is brandnew, it opened in November last year. Modern building, cool design, extremely friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast is wonderful, hot and cold, buffet and omelettes etc made to order. On the last floor there is a full blown World Class fitness center, open to hotel guests. Apart from studio classes and a well equipped gym there is a 10-m-pool, sauna and steambath with nice views over the city.
Wifi is free everywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunstar1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeZagreb, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest,

we appreciate you taking the time and posting a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you soon.

With regards,

Tea Nadj, PR Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Zagreb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Address: Ulica Grada Vukovara 269a, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb is conveniently located in the Green Gold business & shopping district; just in walking distance from the city center. The hotel is only 20 minutes (15km) driving from the airport. All of our guest rooms and suites offer the Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree sleep experience, complimentary high-speed internet access, LCD TV and separate shower stall and bathtub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing