We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fresh, always tasty”
Review of Vallis Aurea

Vallis Aurea
Ranked #108 of 790 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
Restaurant details
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Always fresh, always tasty”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Vallis Aurea is located in Tomiceva Street, one of the nicest streets in Zagreb city center. The terrace has a fine view of the Zagreb funicular and Lotrscak Tower.

The menu includes a small number of homemade-like dishes. The prices are very affordable. I dined there many times and the food was always freshly prepared and just as delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler36462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    50
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute treat!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very charming and well-priced. As mentioned in other reviews, there were both tourists and locals. I had homemade sausages and sauerkraut, really simple and just the right amount. The waiter brough me a great glass of Croatian white wine as I waited for an outside table to clear up. I would definitely recommend it -- seemed authentic and was very delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmellaPassero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely place and authentic”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had read about this restaurant in a guide book so decided to try it for lunch.

We went inside which is like an old fashioned beer cellar and is much larger than we expected. There are daily specials on the menu and the choice is varied. I had the grilled hake (as I had never tried this before) and my other half had the chicken. Both were excellent and didn't disappoint. We had a beer and cider to accompany our meal and the entire cost was under £20.

Great value, the staff are very helpful and the food is lovely. So pleased we went and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic, tasty, good value”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had lunch here during a visit to Zagreb. It is an excellent place for this purpose. They have authentic local food of great quality. Nothing fancy, but affordable and simply delicious. We had stuffed squid and veal medallions, both very tender. The service was very nice. The decoration is also authentic, but lends itself perhaps a bit less for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthies V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simple food with friendly service”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Was able to sit outside and watch everyone walk by. Popular with tourists and locals. Simple Croatian food with cheap daily specials. My waitress was very friendly and spoke fluent English. Inside had a strong smell of frying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tassieBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallis Aurea also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Vallis Aurea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing