We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and authentic”
Review of Vallis Aurea

Vallis Aurea
Ranked #105 of 790 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
Restaurant details
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely place and authentic”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had read about this restaurant in a guide book so decided to try it for lunch.

We went inside which is like an old fashioned beer cellar and is much larger than we expected. There are daily specials on the menu and the choice is varied. I had the grilled hake (as I had never tried this before) and my other half had the chicken. Both were excellent and didn't disappoint. We had a beer and cider to accompany our meal and the entire cost was under £20.

Great value, the staff are very helpful and the food is lovely. So pleased we went and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    50
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic, tasty, good value”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had lunch here during a visit to Zagreb. It is an excellent place for this purpose. They have authentic local food of great quality. Nothing fancy, but affordable and simply delicious. We had stuffed squid and veal medallions, both very tender. The service was very nice. The decoration is also authentic, but lends itself perhaps a bit less for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthies V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simple food with friendly service”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Was able to sit outside and watch everyone walk by. Popular with tourists and locals. Simple Croatian food with cheap daily specials. My waitress was very friendly and spoke fluent English. Inside had a strong smell of frying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tassieBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Zagreb?”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Vallis Aurea has for years been my favorite restaurant in Zagreb. I have kept on returning there wondering how they have been able to maintain this original basic Croatian feel that seem to be known mainly to local people although it's so central and close to all main sights in Zagreb. The front may not be so inviting and people passing by may be buzy getting to the funicular to get them to the over prized restaurants uptown. In summer they have a few seats outside and people may only stop for a drink on their way, but the place is worth a closer look. Looking in you see only a bigger beer-cellar-type of hall, but there's a door behind which takes you into the restaurant that offers you good basic croatian cruisine to reasonable prices. They have a good selection of meat, fish and vegiterian meals and a special menu for each day. Have a big pint of local beer or wine to go with your meal and just enjoy the atmosphere. Yes, you get the feeling that you've found your own Vallis Aurea = Golden Walley. I've been there with my family, with friends and all by myself and I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallis Aurea also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Vallis Aurea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing