We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Shappy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Shappy
Ranked #4 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I hadn't stayed at a hostel since the late '70's and from my experiences then, thought I could only survive nowadays with the amenities of 3-4 star hotels. But this trip was special with our o'camping friends and our budget was tight. When I saw the photos on Hostel Shappy, I decided to be adventurous and booked there. Located off a main street, it was convenient to many shops and a short walk to the old town, the funicular and restaurants. It was very quiet probably because it is buffered by the courtyard. Our room (I think it was the romantic room) was small but oh, so clean, fresh and cozy and it even fit a TV. Love the good size shower, although the washing basin was a tad small; can't help but smile at the quirky door signs instead of room numbers. Our friends' rooms were a bit larger (green room; nature room?) but were all as new and clean. This was in October, so the courtyard was cool to hang about in, but we did play pool and have wine there one night. Front desk staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. The hostel is equal to 4 star hotels as far as cleanliness, security, friendliness and service goes ... just smaller and less luxurious ... and definitely more fun if you venture there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    61
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
66
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed there with my friend for 5 days during november which obviously is kinda off season.
The room we had was really nice with a bathroom and a good shower.

The girl at the reception was exceptionally nice and helpfull, really helped making our trip even more special! Felt welcome from the second we walked in so i would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snaebjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Me and my partner just LOVED Shappy! Supersweet staff, wonderful room, we slept soo good, no noises or disturbances at all! The bathroom was super-fresh, and so was the room itself.
We enjoyed the small pool table and the backyard - where you can hop up in a big couch and sip a beer (that we bought in a store nearby).
The location is perfect - couldn't be better. Just opposite Kino Europa, a great place to hang out :D
We thought it was well-spent money and one of our best stays in Croatia!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Easily accessible from train station, awesome friendly and helpful staff, awesome ambience, wifi was good and so was the breakfast...its location is near the central place so its easy to roam around...the whole place felt like home
must recommend for everyone coming to zagreb..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saswat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

it is a great hostel. cleaned, centrally located, staff is very helpful.
the only thing that is missing is a kitchen for guest and or/also a cafeteria where you can buy something to drink or eat. There is no breakfast included in theprice (or available with some extra money) and maybe a voucher to use in some bar or cafeteria in the street would be a great service for guests.
If I'll return back to Zagreb I'lld efinitely go there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank simona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hostel Shappy is in a perfect location, it was quiet and relaxing, but unique and as you walk out, you were in the centre of the dante streets of Zagreb. Everything is right on your door step. The rooms were the cleanest, newest and most secure ones i've come across within our entire two months of travelling and staying in hostels across Europe. I couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have heavy suit cases, opt for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BohortsMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is an excellent little hostel in the middle of Zagreb, fantastic value for money and great level of service.

The rooms themselves are near brand new, lovely interior decor, comfy beds and very secure doors with new mechanical locks.

Nice little courtyard between your room and the lobby were you can chill out for a little before heading out and great staff also, we came back after a night out and spent about half an hour learning Croatian phrases from the staff!

Definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 192PeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Shappy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Shappy

Property: Hostel Shappy
Address: Varshavska Ulica 8, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sHappy hostel is one newest hostel in Zagreb founded and run by young, innovative, and inspiring people. The Hostel is located in the very heart of the city (Trg Petra Preradovica/Varsavska Str.), in the walking zone half a minute away from the main street in Zagreb, and only one minute away from the public transport.We offer 40 beautiful new beds in 6 differently decorated rooms secured by a card lock system, equipped with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Shappy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing