We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, staff and cleanliness were superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Ranked #11 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location, staff and cleanliness were superb”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you're arriving by train, this hostel is an easy few hundred metre walk- very convenient. Upon arrival the staff member at reception was exceptionally helpful in organising our bus trip to Plitvice Lakes and then ongoing connection to Split. Wifi was excellent and there are 3 computers available for use free of charge. They have an award for cleanliness (through TripAdvisor) and they thoroughly deserve it- all amenities were spotless! Each dorm bed has a very large, lockable, locker. The only negative is our room had trams rattling by right outside the window (I think the snoring room mate was louder though!). Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    29
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
28
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zadar, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed with a friend there, and i was really amazed. The great thing about this hostel is the cozy, almost homelike atmosphere, and the STAFF!! they are so great i am happy i came here (which was by accident). They showed me the great stuff i have to see in Zagreb, they showed me where to shop, they even helped me with some of my personal problems. Cheers guys, you rock!

Room Tip: The 6 bed was great, Maksimir!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a nice little hostel, very conveniently close to the bus and train stations. The staff were very friendly and the room was nice enough. However, it was very noisy: I would recommend asking for a room away from the front of the hostel where you can hear the rumble of the trams going past day and night. We were in the underground room which meant that the room literally shook every few minutes as trams went past. Also, the first night we stayed, there was a large and noisy group in the room next to us and the hostel staff did nothing to quieten them down, even well after midnight. Another point is that the kitchen is quite small and there is no electric kettle, so if you want to boil water you have to do it in a small kettle on the gas, which isn't a big issue but when quite a few people are waiting for hot water it was a little frustrating. Other than that it was a very friendly place to stay and good value compared with other hostels we stayed in in Croatia.

Room Tip: Away from the trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmers L, Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Nicole, thank you very much for your review, it's nice to hear an opinion of a dear guest. Since we are located in the center of the city, it is very hard to avoid the trams (they only run until 11.30 p.m , luckily ), but we understand that the noise can bother some of our guests, this is why we have installed new soundproof windows and put the air conditioning in every room, so we can keep the noise down as low as possible, and you can find complementary ear plugs at the reception.
We apologize for the loud guests, we often go through the hallways to check, but if they are not making noise at that time, we cannot instruct them to lower it down, we are very sorry you did not bring this to our attention, we would have helped right away.
And for the kettle, we have tried to replace it with an electric one, about 10 times this year since we know it is much easier to use, and every time we did, it lasted about two weeks due to improper usage, so we had to switch to an old fashioned one that is easy to use and impossible to break, we hope you can understand :)
Again, thank you for the review, and we hope you will have a chance to stay with us some other time and we will make your stay as comfortable as possible :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hostel is super close to the train station and within easy walking distance of just about every big sight in Zagreb. The staff were fairly friendly even when we checked in late at night. The whole place was small-ish but very comfortable. Our room had its own bathroom and shower and everything was very clean. Other guests were very respectful about being loud, and the only noise that might bother you at night is the sound of traffic going by on the major street outside the rooms.

There's free communal computer use and wifi. While the kitchen/dining area was a little cramped with all the couches and tables, the kitchen was very well stocked and there was even a book exchange shelf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

No more than a 5 minute walk to the train station and a 10-15 minute walk to sights and town. Staff were friendly and helpful (even when we arrived at 1am). The rooms were very clean and comfortable, if a bit small. Our room had its own bathroom which was also clean. No breakfast, but clean and good kitchen. Computers and WiFi are free with small but cozy common area. Our room was downstairs so the window was rather small and didn't let in a lot of air which wasn't the best since it was kind of hot. Overall, a small cozy place that has great facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyb_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmers L, Manager at Palmers Lodge Zagreb, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Emily,

thank you very much for the review! We appreciate time you took to write it, it's always nice to hear what our guests think! We hope you will have a chance to stay with us some other time, we have made a lot of improvements since you were here (A/C in every room) :) Enjoy your travels and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I arrived late at night to the train station, then needed to leave very early the next morning and Palmers Lodge was the perfect place to stay for me. It is 5 minutes walk along the main road, which means you can't get lost trying to find it in the dark at night. In the morning it was about a 15 minute walk past a street art gallery to the bus station to get a bus to Plitvice. Free use of computers in the reception, comfy beds, power showers. Shame I couldn't have stayed here longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becks80987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location.5 min walk from the train. Very clean, very comfortable and quiet. The people who work there are so sweet and helpful, you feel like your staying with people you have known for years. Had a great time in zagreb and enjoyed my stay at palmers lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetpea7077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.0 mi away
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
#13 of 59 in Zagreb
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge Zagreb

Property: Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Address: Ulica Kneza Branimira 25, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Zagreb, Palmers Lodge Zagreb is ideally located for visitors of the capital, just across the street from the main train station, 700 m from the main bus station, and a 1000 m walking distance to all major tourist attractions. So set your bags down as soon as you exit your transportation and relax. This is not just your typical hostel, as we can accommodate up to 50 people, single travelers and groups, families and friends, and all that in a lovely homelike atmosphere in various types of rooms. We offer air conditioned dormitories with private bathrooms that vary from 4 to maximum 8 people, reading lamps and power plugs for each bed and a lot of additional practical and aesthetic details. We have also opened a new separate floor of the hostel with deluxe twin, double and triple bed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, fully equipped kitchenette, TV and WiFi, air condition, and all those little things that matter. Palmers Lodge Zagreb is an ideal combination of great location, top service and a cozy atmosphere for all types of travelers. Free WiFi, PLAYSTATION 3, PCs with internet, coffee and tea making facilities, self service kitchen, and a luggage room that is at your disposal for as long as you need. We also provide breakfast for groups at a discount price. Our parking is located just two streets away from the hostel, on the address Kneza Branimira 41. We offer a special price, from just 8 EUR for 24 hour parking, and on Saturdays from 3 pm until Monday at 7 am the parking is FREE. The parking is safe and also under video surveillance. We also organize airport transfer and day trips to Plitvice Lakes, the most beautiful place in this part of the world and a must see when visiting Zagreb, also the possibility to book day trips to other locations close to Zagreb, PUB crawls, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Palmers Lodge Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing