We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Day and Night Hostel
Ranked #121 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hostel”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a very nice hostel. Good beds, a kitchen with plenty of pots etc to use. The people behind the reception were helpful, even the guy who couldn't speak English tried to communicate when the English speaking woman would arrive.
We did mess them around a bit with wanting to stay a few extra nights, then reducing that number as our plans changed. They were nothing but understanding, and even allowed us to pay part Croatian Kuna/part Euro.
One small note is the showers, the hot water was rather elusive, and only scalding when you did get it. One small point to fix to make this a must stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheDonMega12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    19
    5
    19
See reviews for
Families
0
17
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with friends in May. Zagreb was a stopover place on our trip so we wanted accommodation that was cheap and central. This hostel was both of those things. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and basic facilities provided. On the first day we arrived our room wasn't ready yet but hostel allowed us to leave our bags and gave us some information about Zagreb and things to do which was helpful.

When we arrived back that night, the reception staff had loud music playing in the hall, making it impossible to sleep. This stopped around midnight thankfully but wasn't great as we had a really early start the next day. The walls are also so thin that it made it difficult to get a good nights sleep...

Overall this hostel was pretty average, cheap with good location and fine if you're going to be out partying for most of the night. If not it's probably not the best for you. Also they have a dog that is often in the hostel, he is extremely tame and did not bother me but one of my friends is allergic to dogs and nowhere on the website did it mention this. Fortunately we were only there one night but if we were there longer she would have been miserable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hostel is great if booking in to one of the dorm rooms. The hostel itself is very modern and has a great social feel. However if booking a double room, you may be placed in an apartment accoss the road. The apartment was adequate, and nowhere near as clean and modern as the main hostel itself. There was a very strong smell of smoke as you walked in and we could not get hot water in the shower, so had to walk over to the hostel and back to shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 681AmyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The location is very good the staff are very friendly and the facilities including kitchen, bathroom and WiFi are also good. The beds are pretty uncomfortable with old thin matresses and the floors are incredibly squeaky meaning you can hear anyone walking around at anytime of day or night. Also you are not given a key to your room, just to a locker under the bed which can easily be accessed by lifting the mattress on the bottom bunk. Not the most secure set up at all! It wasn't a terrible hostel experience but neither my partner or I slept particularly well which is kind of the main point when staying somewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in October 2013. Staff are friendly, bathroom facilities are ok - not sparkling clean though. Beds are comfy enough. The location is the best part - easy to get to/from the airport and bus station, close to the centre of the city and several food options (bakeries, supermarkets, fast food) are nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Ni823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

It's maybe one of the best hostel i've ever been and very kindly, friendly and clean. Everything was really great. Thanks for everything. I will never forget your hostility. I hope to be there again one time

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tayfun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We came to the hostel without reservation, as we saw availability online when we got into Zagreb. The man at the front desk helped us out and accommodated our large group (4 women) and even tried extra hard to have one room for us all. On more than one occasion the staff bent over backwards helping us!

Thank you Day and Night!

As summer gets more and more booked, it should be noted they have another hostel run by the same people!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsaylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Slisko
Hotel Slisko
#38 of 59 in Zagreb
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Temza
Hostel Temza
#78 of 159 in Zagreb
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Way Hostel
My Way Hostel
#38 of 159 in Zagreb
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
Palmers Lodge Zagreb
#11 of 159 in Zagreb
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Explorer
Hostel Explorer
#36 of 159 in Zagreb
92 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hostel Mali Mrak
Hostel Mali Mrak
#9 of 159 in Zagreb
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day and Night Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day and Night Hostel

Property: Day and Night Hostel
Address: Ulica Kneza Mislava 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Day and Night Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing