We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite museum in Zagreb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zagreb City Museum

Zagreb City Museum
Ranked #32 of 198 things to do in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A somewhat skewed history of the city.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My favourite museum in Zagreb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I think the title says it all. I've been there three times already. A great place to learn more about Zagreb and its history and culture.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dima 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    59
    20
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Visitors will enjoy this museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The museum is centrally located in the old town. It's full of interesting artifacts and explanations about the history of the capital, without being overwhelmingly large and expansive. I have taken visitors there for visits ranging from 1 hour to 2 hours and no one has been disappointed.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YodaHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice old museum in which you can learn about Zagreb history. You can check exhibit in short time so it won't take much o”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice, short exhibit with all of Zagreb's history details. Interesting for someone who want's to learn something about city he visits.

Helpful?
Thank 1307globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Artifacts and Historic Materials from the Iron Age to 20th Century”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We enjoyed seeing what was found under this building in the Historic Gradec area of the Upper Town. English translations are provided for the overview in each room. We did not rent the audio tour - it might be worth a try if more detail in desired. You move from the archaeological materials and building foundations to statues and figures from the Cathedral (nice to see up close), and a wide range of materials from the City's history. The displays are well layed out and lit. Good to visit after you have a little introduction to the history of the upper town and its construction, though not necessary. The costumes and jewelry of officials and in the room on the theater are striking. Check out how print types have changed over the years from illustrated documents to posters at the end. Excellent and interesting displays for museum lovers (plus companions along for the ride).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooglede, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Growing museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We believe this museum is still growing. It is located in a huge building but we felt a bit lost in some places. It has nice collections though. I would advise them to place more english explanations.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindsay_kuylle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zagreb City Museum also viewed

 

Been to Zagreb City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing