We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old style excellance”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

the palace hotel has art deco appearance which i like no bright modern decor, but the service is modern efficiency and friendly too. ideal location easy walk to the main square or if you prefer a tram stop is right outside the frontdoor. my room overlooked the park and not bothered by the tram noise.the room and bathroom were excellent, truly 4 star. breakfast was very good and the hot food was always topped up and the staff were quick to clear up, if anything ran out they quickly replaced the item. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 981 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

My group of 14 have just returned from a 4 night stay here and felt it deserved its 4 stars! Our rooms were spacious and very comfortable and contain a 'free' safe and a fridge.There was a good choice of breakfast....hot/ cold....plenty to eat! The Hotel Bar is expensive however....turn right out of the hotel and there is a much cheaper bar about 100m down the main road!The hotel serves dinner until 23.00 at a reasonable price.
The tram stop is outside the hotel..No6 nd No13 take you one stop into the main square or in the opposite direction to the Train Station. Turn left out of the hotel and the Money Exchange is just along the street as is a Supermarket. It is not far to walk to the main square. At the hotel,there should be a free guide entitled 'Zagreb in Your Pocket' which is really useful for planning your trip!
We travel extensively in Europe and would certainly recommend this hotel! We found all the staff very courteous, helpful and friendly which enhanced our stay.

Room Tip: We had rooms overlooking 'The Park'. Trams run along the road outside but it is not noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaChinnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I could not believe that this hotel was recommended in Trip Adv. The only possibility is that I was given the worst room of the hotel and all other rooms are much nicer.
A rear room with view on a dirty roof and on walls which looked like a building site. The moment you enter the room you feel depressed !!! Dark colour carpet and really dark colour furniture.
Decoration out of the eighties, old TV and no spare sockets to charge your tablet/phone/camera.
The bathroom was fine and well equipped.
Excellent location but extremely disappointed with the hotel. I thought they should charge 60% of what they charge. The breakfast was ok, the service very basic and without smiles.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panathinaikos-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

In very central location. Long-established hotel that has been modernised but retains many classical features - like stained-glass panels. Bedroom and bathroom left nothing to be desired. Very friendly service in the restaurant for dinner. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in room 131, when we arrived there was a tour coach being unloaded & the only place to park is between the tram tracks out the front, Dimar the hotel Porter was just a great help in this situation he not only made shore we got out of the way, he parked the car in the side street which the Hotel uses then carried our luggage up to our room with no fuss no bother, truly great service and The Palace should be made aware how good this gentleman was to us.
The Hotel is a grand old lady and while the plumbing is readily heard through the walls at night this Hotel has such great character so little things like the noise are readily overlooked, we were able to access all Zagreb's attractions within easy walking distance of the Hotel so we had a lovely stay in Zagreb and again thanks to Dimar

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wai Fun C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice hotel, if you like the charm of old European scent. Centrally located. Service was friendly and professional, I appreciated it - in particular the nice barman in the restaurant to whom I asked matches, apologised that he had none to offer, but came outside for his cigarette break with me just to service me with his own lighter, and then explained where I could find matches or a lighter the next morning. Breakfast ok and included Croatian specialities. My room had one of those funny old fashioned radios. The bed was comfortable. The only issue was how loudly you can hear the neighbours when they shower or have to use their toilets.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aelis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#14 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $92 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing