We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel near the station and city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the station and city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice, clean rooms with small fridge and air condition. Bath with possibility to shower. Nothing special, but who want to spent time in a hotel room, when you are in the centre of Zagreb! Park right in front of the hotel, nice restaurants one street futher (N. Teslina). The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul1979_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    396
    125
    26
    10
See reviews for
100
320
79
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel 3 times already and definitely will stay again. Was amazed by how friendly everyone is at this hotel, from the front desk to room service the staff was fantastic.

The rooms nice, clean and comfortable. Internet is free and fast and is accessible all over the hotel. Some rooms are already equipped with LCDs some are still with the CRTs.

The hotel is very nicely locates, about 3 minutes walk from the main square. Basically almost everything is available within a 5 minuets walk from the hotel (fast food, restaurants, supermarkets, pubs etc...).

Breakfast is very average, but has everything you would need.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel was easy to reach, the morning receptionist could have smiled a bit more, but the other staff members were very friendly. The room was on the 4th floor, from outside no noise was to hear, but the noise of the elevator was disturbing me when we wanted to fall asleep. The wifi connection in the room was great, the room and bath have been very clean. The breakfast was alright, though I would have personally wished more fresh fruits, but I bought them on one of Zagreb's wonderful markets. We would come back and might ask them for a more quiet room at the end of a corridor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polsterzipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Couches, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Only 3 minutes walk from the central square and major city landmarks. Plenty of authentic restaurants are just around the corner.

Nice and spacious rooms, very pleasant breakfast. Some furniture and decor is asking for refreshment though... Be also prepared to hear the neighbours' activity...

Parking (extra charge) is available in the sidestreet, but you cannor reserve it in advance... Might be a problem ina high season if you come by car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanosetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

It actually was not my choice, but the choice of the organizers of a workshop I was attending in Zagreb. But it was very nice. The hotel is located very central (Zagreb itself is a small and quiet city), in a historical building. Just in front you have the tram 6, taking you to the bus terminal , from where you can arrive in half hour to the airport. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, with an art nouveau glass painted ceiling. What stroke me was the absolute cleanness of the place, the rooms are more than impeccable. I had a small single room...actually not too small, with a good connection to the internet, quiet, perfect.During the day you can hear the tram from the room, because windows are not double-glazed, but I don`t think anyone sleeps at 2 pm... The staff is very friendly and they also give you (if requested) some indications regarding the cool spots of Zagreb. About the food...quite good also, we ate here not only breakfast, but all of the meals and it was a wonderful assortment of fresh vegetables, seafood and traditional croatian dishes. Overall, it was for sure a 4.5 stars hotel (but I cannot give half marks so I am going for a fool 5)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The location is good, close to everything. The room is very small and free wifi is too weak in some areas. When using shower, I found it's hard to stand in a comfortable position.

No adaptor to borrow but you can purchase one. No umbrella in a rainy morning is also disappointing.

So quite average hotel only good for short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XMWSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

No, it is not an Americanized version of a historical building.

The Palace Hotel was, and remains, a very special destination with gracious staff, an unrivaled location and a pedigree that is difficult to surpass. We enjoyed several nights here and appreciated the high-quality of the furniture and fixtures, especially the solid doors and bathroom taps.

Croatian breakfast, including plum brandy and local sparkling wine, was provided each morning and left us fortified to face the day of adventures and discovery ahead!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesorrell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing