We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located, with nice service”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Couches, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideally located, with nice service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Only 3 minutes walk from the central square and major city landmarks. Plenty of authentic restaurants are just around the corner.

Nice and spacious rooms, very pleasant breakfast. Some furniture and decor is asking for refreshment though... Be also prepared to hear the neighbours' activity...

Parking (extra charge) is available in the sidestreet, but you cannor reserve it in advance... Might be a problem ina high season if you come by car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanosetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    424
    132
    28
    10
See reviews for
111
353
84
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It actually was not my choice, but the choice of the organizers of a workshop I was attending in Zagreb. But it was very nice. The hotel is located very central (Zagreb itself is a small and quiet city), in a historical building. Just in front you have the tram 6, taking you to the bus terminal , from where you can arrive in half hour to the airport. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, with an art nouveau glass painted ceiling. What stroke me was the absolute cleanness of the place, the rooms are more than impeccable. I had a small single room...actually not too small, with a good connection to the internet, quiet, perfect.During the day you can hear the tram from the room, because windows are not double-glazed, but I don`t think anyone sleeps at 2 pm... The staff is very friendly and they also give you (if requested) some indications regarding the cool spots of Zagreb. About the food...quite good also, we ate here not only breakfast, but all of the meals and it was a wonderful assortment of fresh vegetables, seafood and traditional croatian dishes. Overall, it was for sure a 4.5 stars hotel (but I cannot give half marks so I am going for a fool 5)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The location is good, close to everything. The room is very small and free wifi is too weak in some areas. When using shower, I found it's hard to stand in a comfortable position.

No adaptor to borrow but you can purchase one. No umbrella in a rainy morning is also disappointing.

So quite average hotel only good for short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XMWSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

No, it is not an Americanized version of a historical building.

The Palace Hotel was, and remains, a very special destination with gracious staff, an unrivaled location and a pedigree that is difficult to surpass. We enjoyed several nights here and appreciated the high-quality of the furniture and fixtures, especially the solid doors and bathroom taps.

Croatian breakfast, including plum brandy and local sparkling wine, was provided each morning and left us fortified to face the day of adventures and discovery ahead!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesorrell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna, B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night,we picked this hotel due to the proximity to the train station. It was one of our best experiences in Croatia, we loved the historical restaurant, with the silverware, great food, and the wonderful service. The hotel is very clean and looks to be in great shape, its really a step into the past, without loosing modern convenience. Wished we were able to stay another night

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatsupkelowna_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The rooms are just fabulous and the restaurant was good value (as long as a bus load of tourists doesn't arrive and you get forgotten) the position is perfect and a nice walk to all of the galleries and the older part of town. The reception staff and the waiters all spoke excellent English so we felt very welcome.

Room Tip: We had a double no smoking and could not fault it, even monogrammed towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanneS228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków, Malopolskie, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Excellent location however the rooms facing Strossmayera Street may be a bit noisy. Rooms a bit shabby but comfortable, with good lining and soft bed. Quite quiet, thanks to the carpets in the hallways. The check-in counter and staff behind very friendly, very professional and very helpul, and especially these older guys speaking only Croatian!
The hotel is rather big so if you look for more cosy atmosphere it is not a place for you. Very good breakfast with a delicious selection of local cheese and warm dishes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka_superstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing