We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Kastela, Croatia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hotel is at very good location. It has very nice lobby and stairs. Rooms are too small for this kind of hotel, and some of the inox parts in toilets are not so clean as I would expect.
Breakfast is with large choice, however bread could be better, cheese could be better, coffee is poor..
With small improvements hotel could be much better, but still would recommend it, especially for short stays in city center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_DZ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    392
    124
    26
    10
See reviews for
97
320
78
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staff was very friendly and accommodating, breakfast was superb and in a beautiful room, cafe had a pleasant atmosphere and a reasonably priced pub menu. Hotel is perfectly located within easy walk of Old City, train station, market, most sites. Streetcar stops literally across the street. Room was small and smoky. If I had been staying for more than one night, I would have asked to move. Also, had to carry my bag up and down several stairs to get to my room. If you have mobility issues, ask for a room near the lift.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gfmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phagwara
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

A mate and I choose to go to Zagreb on the first flight from Heathrow by BA, mainly just because. Why not.

Let me skip the snow the bus the team.

The hotel is on a Main Street to the the main square. It's a brilliant location.

The room was good. Two single beds a decent size bathroom.

The breakfast was a buffet and was huge! Cereals. Fruit. Eggs. Cold meats. It was great.

The service was good too. The receptionist was polite, helpful and spoke v good English.

Booked the hotel on kayak and it was mid priced but I seriously recommend it.

Great location. Good comfortable stay and had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rindyrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Some time I am sad to write average review for good hotel because this one could be great. Staff is very professional and helpful, breakfast is great, free parking and modern looking lobby. But when you go to your room, completely different story. Rooms are old looking and feeling, windows are of no use with outside noise. Bathroom is also outdated and old. Generally clean hotel with good service, but rooms needs renovation. I am aware that is landmark hotel and maybe has some different rules but they must do something about rooms. Location is great, couple minutes walk to city center, beautiful park across the street. Would recommend for short stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasa608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Central and near the station and 20 minutes walk from the coach depot so quite convenient. Regal in its day but now a little tired and old fashioned - needs updating but still OK standard (not dirty or unkept). Elevators are time 1 or 2 people max and rooms pretty standard. Buffet breakfast quite satisfactory - but if you dont eat meat its a bit of a limited selection and they havent quite worked out that servign ham and cheese with the same tongs is not acceptable.

Room Tip: At the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed two nights at this wonderful Hotel when on holidays in Croatia recently. I had seen it from the outside and decided to book there because of the location. It is very close to the centre of Zagreb and the tram stops at the front door. The foyer area is extremely old fashion in a really nice way. The experience starts when you step into the lift (which is small old and wooden) and continues when you get to your designated floor and step into the corridors which are very wide and luxuriously fitted out with expensive looking carpets and lovely wall treatments. There are antique (looking ??) chairs placed along the corridors which look very inviting - nothing like the average hotel corridors. The rooms are smallish but very comfortable and again very well furnished. The beds are comfortable, good quality sheets and towells - and very clean. The bathroom was very large and again very clean. full bath with shower, toilet and bidet and large vanity area and mirror. Quite luxurious. There was a safe in my room plus large wardrobe and shelves for clothes. The reception staff on all occassions were extremely courteous and friendly and informative. The breakfasts again were a lovely surprise. Extensive buffet - lots of choices and on my first morning there was champagne available if you wanted it - now that was different. The staff in the dining area were lovely. It offered full silver service and that was only for breakfast - very nice. My only requst would be that they upgrade the TV - the one in my roomm was the older type - small and large. However I highly recommend you consider staying at this hotel if you are able to - I certainly will go there again when next I am in Zagreb. I was able to get a reduced rate by booking on line which was a bonus.

Room Tip: My room was just fine. I am sure if you were not happy with your room location the staff would be ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwi-child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Palace Hotel offers surprisingly inexpensive rates for a very nice hotel in the center of Zagreb and is close to all the beautiful old streets and tourist attractions. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly and the complimentary breakfast was delicious and fresh.

Would definitely stay at the Palace Hotel next time we are in Zagreb! A++

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosdefn8ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing