We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Beautiful hotel well located for a visit to Zagreb across from a park and a short walk from the centre of town. I was travelling by motorbike and when I asked for advice where to park the staff told me to park up on the pavement next to the outdoor restaurant seating where they could keep an eye on it for me - I was very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Don55155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    391
    124
    26
    10
See reviews for
97
320
78
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Nothing much to fault with this hotel at all. It's very central, rooms are fairly small but very clean, comfortable and everything you need. The building is really nice, as is the whole city. I'd definitely recommend Zagreb for a few days city break. Loads of bars and restaurants - reminded me a little of Zurich. Just ten mins walk from the hotel is one of the main going out streets (I can't remember the name, but anyone can direct you - there are about 20 bars all next to each other, so it gets pretty lively).

We booked on Expedia and got a pretty good deal - about AUD 140 per night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
325 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

At first the hotel and its locations and furnishings are quite impressive, but the haughty poor service spoiled our 3 night stay. We need to recharge our digital camera and when we asked the desk to borrow an adapter, we were told that the hotel had none "because guests kept stealing them"- sounds like a fabrication in this relatively crime free city. Altho we were not given a non-smoking room, we objected that the cleaning persons leaving the smell of smoke in our room after cleaning it. Again, no sympathy or appropriate reponse from the desk. And NO MANAGER is available on the weekend! Not a 4 star service at all. breakfast was fine and room was spacious and quiet

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CintiKidCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

One night stay in the Palace, before moving on to Split on the Adriatic coast.

Plus points: Location, location, location! About five easy stops from Zagreb Central Bus Station (Autobusni Kolodvor) via tram no.6, pass some graffiti-ridden modern blocks and the grand train station with a plethora of 19th century buildings and leafy squares with fountains and bandstands. Then five minutes walk north then to the bustling main square, TRG BANA JELACICA with its vast outdoor market and onwards to the Cathedral and Parliament etc.

Breakfast was fab and filling - help yourself to coffee and fresh juices, cereals, rolls and cold meats and cheese, youghurts, full hot brekkie. Line your stomach for the day ahead!

Minus points: Abrupt and stony-face reception at the reception desk! Maybe I caught the staff on a bad day, despite my best intentions and pidgin Croatian to break the ice ("Dobar Dan" good day, "Molim" please, and "Hvala" thank you).

My single room was a bit spartan, dark and brown - very 1980s - but spotlessly clean, so can't complain really. Paid £56 a night B&B through octopustravel. Typical capital city prices!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwerinwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hotel has an excellent location in the centre of Zagreb, with good tram line choices to get round town. The room and bathroom were well furnished and comfortable. It has a good coffee shop and an outside terrace (noisy as it is next to the busy street) but it fails to deliver on evening meals. The menu choice is rather limited and disappointing - better to go out to one of the nearby restaurants. Breakfast is good - excellent choices of cooked dishes or continental breakfast if you prefer. The reception staff were most helpful in all respects.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GulliverT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

The staff at this hotel was exceptional! We arrived & dropped our bags in the room & took off for sight seeing. Upon our return they offered to relocate our room to a better location. They set-up transportation to multiple locations & accommodated our every need. Rooms are decent with great beds offering a great night's sleep. Hotel is within walking distance to train station & Zagreb's main attractions. Would recommend to anyone & would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The cherry wood reception greets you at this lovely hotel with the Art-deco style decoration throughout the hotel. There are illuminated panels of 1920's ladies holding pictures of old zagreb. The bed and room was very comfortable, which for someone with a bad back is important.
Breakfast is buffet style and relaxed being available until 11.
The cafe restaurant doesn't have an extensive menu, but the food, especially the beef steak is excellant. The service is second to none, and they know what a Caffe Latte is.

We arrived by car from Plitvara Jezera and parked on the kerb outside while the porter arranged a parking spot, which was limited, so include any parking requirements in your booking.
The Hotel is 400 yds from the main square so local to all the main sites and where you can pick up trams to visit further out.

All in all we had a lovely 4 days stay in Zagreb enhanced by the stay at the Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Serenity-starship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Trg Josipa Jurja Strossmayera 10, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#15 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel Zagreb, located in the center of Zagreb, immediately next to the beautiful old city park Zrinjevac, opened its doors in 1907 as the first professionally organized hotel in Zagreb. The hotel has since undergone several renovations in order to be modernized and follow contemporary management trends. Today, it merges the comfort of a modern lifestyle with a warm retro-chic atmosphere created by its antique-style furniture and its modernist interior. The Palace Hotel Zagreb is the ideal choice for guests who visit Zagreb for business, as well as for tourists at particularly favorable accommodation prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing