We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff, unorganized place, unprofessional”
Review of Hotel Fala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fala
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I had a terrible experience while staying at this place. I came to the reception in order to change the room and they told me to switch to another room.
afterthan they accuse me to break in to this room in which the previous guest forgot his lap-top in. They even gave this guest a photocoy of my passport!!! (which of-course they shouldnt have) and threaten me that he will press charge against me in the local police.

this place is a nigthmare

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-me-mine-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2009

staff are extremely impolite to customer, and they gave incorrect information as well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redleafhomework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Yes this place is a fair way out of town, but the public transport system means its no probs going anywhere. The hotel itself was great value and out room was very clean and included TV & AC. The hosts were friendly and helpful and there is free internet to use. Breakfast was good with eveyrthing you need included + some breakfast schnapps if you are so inclined! We enjoyed our stay here & would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Just wrapped up 10 amazing days in Croatia which included one night in Zagreb which I spent at Hotel Fala. Searching online via Orbitz, Travelocity, etc for hotels in Zagreb, I seemed only to find very expensive, five star types of accomodations which were beyond what I was willing to spend. I found Hotel Fala listed in my Lonely Planet guidebook to Croatia and decided to give it a shot.

As has been previously stated, it's a small family run operation. Rooms aren't fancy but they're more than adequate for my needs. They were very clean, bed was comfortable. They even have internet access for free. Wifi and a public computer in the loby for guests to use. Didn't get a chance to try their breakfast as I left rather early to catch a bus.

A few of the reviews have complained of the location and the long walk to the rail station. While it is true, it is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the rail station, there is a bus station literally right across the street from the hotel that will have you to the train station in about 5 minutes. I didn't get much of a chance to explore the area around the hotel as I spent most of my time in the city center, I did eat at a restaurant recommended by one of the women who works at the hotel. The restaurant, Maria's Bell (don't reall the name in Croatian) is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and the food was quite good and reasonably priced.

One last point, which I believe has been stated by others here. Though the hotel overall was adequate, the area where it really shines is the staff. I had the chance to interact with two different women working at the front desk and they were so helpful. They provided me great directions for getting to the city center, the bus station, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank alone_in_a_crowd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

The Fala is family run, to the extent that I was awoken one night by the sounds of the young children running on the ground floor, and may well be one of the few reasonably-priced hotels in Zagreb.

First things first, though. It's a long way from just about anywhere. The walk to the main train station is a good 15 minutes, and add an extra 5 if you want to arrive in the centre of town. That said, despite appearances, it's a safe area. I never felt at risk, and indeed the locals agree with me on that one.

Overall, I'd have to say this is a good example of an average hotel. The breakfast isn't great, but fills you up, the rooms are clean but not stunning and so on. Directions to nearby restaurants from the hotel were a bit odd, though, as my experience of the realities of the streets were very different to the pencil maps drawn by the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Professionalwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Zagreb hotels have a reputation for being overpriced so I was glad to find this one such a pleasant stay.

The hotel is on the main highway to the airport so would be good for a stopover if you're coming back from somewhere else. 10-15 mins walk to the railway station (or there are buses) and then another 10 min into the city centre. It's also extremely close to the Croatian national library so would make a good base for a student/researcher. Room facilities are better than you might expect for the price - the fridge and a/c were both very worthwhile on a June visit.

NB all rooms have a window but one or two look out on an internal atrium rather than anywhere outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

The most helpful and pleasant staff I encountered anywhere on my recent 6 week trip. On my last day, the hotel had arranged a pickup by the airport bus at 5am in the morning. When I arose on this wet morning, the young man at the desk carried my bag out and waited with me until the bus arrived - he even tried to rest my heavy bag on his foot so it wouldn't get wet or dirty! (so sweet, but no I didn't let him). Although a budget hotel, I had a very pleasant stay here. Rooms are basic but nice and clean, the breakfast was very nice and compared very well against other places in Croatia. It is a bit of a walk to the city centre, but I did it every day (or you can catch public transport).

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gataki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Galerija
Hotel Galerija
#48 of 59 in Zagreb
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
9.1 mi away
Hotel Antunovic Sesvete
Hotel Antunovic Sesvete
#46 of 59 in Zagreb
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Loop Hotel
The Loop Hotel
#15 of 59 in Zagreb
98 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Delminivm
Hotel Delminivm
#28 of 59 in Zagreb
62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Rebro
Hotel Rebro
#32 of 59 in Zagreb
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fala

Address: II. Trnjanske Ledine 18th, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $51 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Fala 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are traveling to Zagreb for business or as a tourist, if you need accommodation, we will be happy to be your host in our little, family hotel, in which we offer you a service of over night stay with breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fala Hotel Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing