We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fine service”
Review of The Westin Zagreb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Zagreb
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
california
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, fine service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Westin Zagreb is located in nice area, close to the National theater and within walking distance to the city center and the cathedral. From our room on the 6 floor, the views were amazing - one can see the cathedral and the streets with the lush canape of trees, characteristic of Zagreb. The room was nice and clean, the bathroom was well supplied and very clean.
We had a dinner on the 17th floor - again, amazing 360 degrees view of the whole city!. The decor is Parisian - can't have a better ambiance!

We also dined one evening in the restaurant on the lobby level - it was almost empty, even though the food was of great quality and very interesting. We both had salmon one steamed, one grilled and they were both very tasty with interesting accompaniments. Our server Goran was a trainee, but he did a real professional job - recommended a champagne which was excellent, wine for our main course again excellent, and on his suggestion we had a selection of desserts with a very flavorful non sweet dessert wine - great finish to a great dinner! We wanted to try only Croatian wines, so our server was very knowledgeable and all of his recommendations were great. What a memorable dinner! Actually, this was the best dinner we had in Croatia!

Room Tip: Top floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europeanbabeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for the nice feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our restaurants. We are looking forward to welcome you back upon next opportunity. With our kindest regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    426
    211
    61
    25
See reviews for
114
287
85
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel staff overall is friendly and helpful, they are slow to check out though. Rooms are clean and spacious. Bedding comfortable. Get a room with a view of the cathedral which is just stunning. Did not use the other facilities but I am sure they are just as clean. I found the pricing very reasonable especially with the convenient location. I have stayed there several times and will agin.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the cathedral and away from elevator. Also not near their banquet rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for the nice feedback in regards of our location, staff, services and wellness center. We are very glad to hear you appreciate it. Regarding the rooms, they were all renovated few years ago and we are now looking into the refreshment of our lobby and restaurant. We hope to be able to welcome you back. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The location was convenient. The rooms were pretty clean, but the hotel is definitely dated. The staff is friendly and knowledgable and all spoke perfect English. The indoor pool and gym facilities were very good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your comments and hope you enjoyed your tour of Croatia. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at The Westin Zagreb for 2 nights as part of a KOMPAS Tour in early June. When we arrived at the hotel the room wasn't ready and we didn't gain access until 4.00pm. When we did get in the TV wouldn't work and it took two visits from a technician to fix the two problems. Not a good start.

Nevertheless the rooms are spacious and clean with good views over the city. The evening meal on the 17th Floor was quite good and the service was first class. The staff at reception were helpful as well. As noted by others the carpets need to be replaced. Certainly not up to scratch.

There is a 'casino' attached but the smoke in the air will be a real deterrent for most visitors. It's not a five star hotel but it's okay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sirs, Thank you for staying at the Westin as part of your tour in the region. We apologize for the inconvenience with the TV. We are currently installing a new TV system which will provide many more channels and a wide film offer and other services. Glad you enjoyed the dinner on the 17th floor with the grand view of Zagreb. We will pass casino air ventilation issue to the casino operator. Thanks once again and a warm welcome back to Zagreb. Best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best hotels we stayed in while visiting Croatia. The staff were attentive, sleep quality was good, hotel amenities were very good but the food was "OK". For GREAT food in any place you travel, I always suggest visitors venture out and see what you can find on your own...white table cloths OR not....little "nuggets" of goodness are sure to be found in any town if you're willing to be a little adventurous!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for staying with us and good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back soon. With best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
565 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Though we had trouble finding the hotel with GPS, it was well worth the extra time. The hotel is wonderful, the staff is friendly and the food in the restaurant is great. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms very clean. We wished we could have stayed longer. Was easy walking into downtown from here.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr Steward, thank you for staying with us and thank you for the kind and encouraging feedback. We hope to see you back soon. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel reception staff were excellent at both check in and check out. They were very attentive and courteous.

The room was well appointed, spacious and good quality linens and towels. The bathroom had a good shower. There is also free wi-fi in the rooms. There is a business centre on the ground floor where you can print if you need to.

We had a good view over the city.

It's within walking distance of the main sights in the city and is near the tram stop.

To be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask one with a view to the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin and thank you for sharing your impressions online. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and it would be great to see you back soon. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Zagreb

Property: The Westin Zagreb
Address: Ulica Isidora Krshnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#5 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Zagreb 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Westin Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Westin Zagreb
Zagreb Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing