We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel near to city centar”
Review of The Westin Zagreb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Zagreb
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel is very close to city centar, with professional and helpful staff.

Rooms are big with exceptionally comfortable beds and bedding, heavenly bed :)

Breakfast buffet is very good.

It is very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger and with windows on 2 walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Jelena, Thanks for staying at the Westin and thank you for sharing your impressions online. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our services and hope we will welcome you back soon. Be Well, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you're looking for a luxury hotel in Zagreb, the Westin and the Esplanade are the top 2. I personally like the Westin, not only because it's less expensive but also because it's a bit more welcoming and warm. Having stayed there twice for a total of about 20 nights, I can tell you that the rooms are decent size with exceptionally comfortable beds and bedding. The front desk staff and bellmen are welcoming, friendly and professional. The dining and cafe area could use a little better management. The breakfast buffet is horrendous but I havent found a buffet in Croatia that wasn't. The location of the Westin is OK but if you're looking to be right in the middle of everything and dont want to take a cab, definitely choose the Esplanade instead. As other reviewers note, this is not a 5 star hotel but simply a great comfy place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear David, thank you for being loyal to the Westin and thank you for sharing your impressions online. It is great you are appreciating our facilities and our services and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Until then, Be Well, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights and it was a good experience. Beds are very good, breakfast is very good and staff is friendly, The location is excelent. I truly recomend this Hotel if you are visiting Zagreb for vacations or business.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisVasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Mr Vasco, thanks for staying at the Westin and thanks for sharing your impressions online. I agree the Westin is a perfect place to discover Zagreb and close to all sights and shopping. Thanks once again and Be Well, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This very modern hotel stands in the heart of the museum district. The convenient Tram stop is only 3 stops from the hustle and bustle of the main sqaure and shopping district.
Although the hotel is very contemporary and appears solid, the walls are thin and the hotel staff not all that friendly. There are as always, a few exceptions to that, however the dining room staff for breakfast and dinner need a bit of friendliness training.
I attempted to go to the spa but, since the entrance was so hard to find, I never made it.
My suggestion is to get explicit directions to get to the spa through the gym.
All in all the beds are fabulous and the hotel a quiet location.
If you love museums and I do, Zagreb has 45 within the city. The Mimara is just a block away and a fabulous collection.
I would absolutely stay here again, but might consider a location closer to the main square rather than in this quieter locatoion. I am such a city girl!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basbgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin and thank you for sharing your impressions online. Glad you found the hotel contemporary and comfortable. I note your comments about some of the staff members and will follow up in order to improve. The Wellness center is right there on the 1st floor and market in the elevator. Sorry you missed it because it is new and great. Welcome back next time in Zagreb and All our regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

At first sight everything looks beautiful but if you start to look at the details you will notice that this is an old hotel and that it can definitely not be a 5 stars hotel, beacuse it is not flawless. The location is good, room is spatious and clean but that's about it. Nothing luxurious about it. Overpriced if you ask me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Stella, thanks for staying at the Westin and thanks for sharing your impressions online. I note you are not all satisfied with your stay although you appreciated the location and the room. All room were renovated few years ago and other parts are maintained upon need. We are now in the process of installing also the wireless internet in the rooms and have just completed the installation of the new LCD televisions. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a bit old and old-fashioned hotel. While being old is not very good thing for a hotel, being old-fashioned I consider as a big plus in this case.
Rooms are quite spacious and well equipped. You have all necessary amenities and if you are Starwood Preferred Guest you get free water, chocolates and fruits. Quite nice.
Reception personnel is very professional and quite friendly.
Breakfast is quite good and also all other food that we had during the conference was good.
Banquet facilities are quite big so you can do big events there.
As a minus I have to underline only the fact that they don't have wi-fi but cable internet in the room. It's not the end of the world but wi-fi should be a standard now. Internet is free which is very nice. One more thing - all pillows are very soft. You have 15 of them in your room but all too soft. I don't like that but for someone it can be a heaven.
All in all, not my favorite hotel in Zagreb but it can be good place for doing business or having a conference.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstebanBelgrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Sir, Thank you for staying at the Westin. We appreciate your feedback. As you are mentioning, rooms are all newly renovated adn equipped as per Westin standards with the Heavenly Beds and Heavenly Bath. The wireless internet connections for the guestrooms is in the process of being installed and should be finished before year end. Already today, the hotel has free wireless access in the lobby, bar and restaurants. Thanks for the nice words of our staff. We welcome you back to the Westin hotel, With best regards, Gunnar Sanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Close to the National Theater and a 15 minute walk to the main square. The buffet was good and a farewell dinner was also good. Taxi drivers still call it the Intercontinental. I liked how many elevators there were, we never had to wait.

Room Tip: We were on the side looking out at the parking area so it was quiet. Windows were hard to open and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Sir, Glad you enjoyed your stay, the very central location and our restaurants. Welcome upon opportunity next time in Zagreb. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Zagreb

Address: Ulica Isidora Krshnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#4 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#5 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $106 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Zagreb 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Westin Zagreb
Zagreb Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing