We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not what it use to be”
Review of The Westin Zagreb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Zagreb
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel few time along the years since 1999.
It had other names then but it was allways nice place.
In my last visit during August I felt that the hotel is not what it used to be it is not a Westin hotel in it's standards it is worn out no refurbishing, ac was not doing the job in our room, the bed wes small and the food choice for dinner and breakfast was not Westin.
Sadly I don't think that next time in Zagreb i"ll stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adgino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Sir, Thank you for staying at the Westin and thank you for giving us the feedback online. I am sorry you were not satisfied with all our services. We are currently improving on our technical services in the guest room. We have recently installed the large LCD televisions and are currenlty implementing a new IPTV tv and pay tv system with a wide choise of programs. We are also in the process of implementing the wireless also in the guest rooms. It is available free of charge in the lobby area and in the rooms we currently have wired high speed internet access free of charge. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and that you at that time will recognize that our services have improved. Best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Zagreb
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

As one of the chain of Westin Hotels, it's fair to expect well-appointed rooms, soft beds and good service at the Westin Zagreb. During our stay we had a few hassles, and staff responded to them with efficiency and courtesy. I was most impressed.

Our first 'problem' was that the room faced an area of roofing. Because we were staying three nights (two with a tour plus an extra night) we asked for a room with an outlook to the grand buildings across the street, at the front of the hotel. But on entry to the room with a view, I was troubled by a weird noise. Two helpful technicians came to investigate. It turned out to be an unplugged electric device in my husband's case!!! So embarrassing!

The third incident was on the day we were leaving. The driver for a transfer to the airport failed to arrive at the appointed hour. One of the team on reception spent considerable time phoning the tour company, being put on hold, disconnected, etc. Eventually the driver arrived. We were really grateful staff had intervened on our behalf. It's easy to feel 'lost' when in a country where you do not speak the local language.

The location of the hotel is really good. It's a flat walk to the centre of the town, or a short walk to trams that take you in several directions. Across the road is the Mimara Museum, and around the corner from that is the Arts and Crafts Museum. Both house fine collections and are well worth a visit. (Note that the Tourist Information Centre in the Town Square sells passes for three museums plus free travel on the trams. Had we known, we would have saved a bit of money.)

I LOVED the breakfasts. There was smoked salmon, as well as hot fresh salmon. There was also sparkling wine. What better way to start the day than with the luxury of smoked salmon on fresh bread and a glass of sparkling wine! Those who want more traditional fare will find a whole range of hot and cold foods, plus eggs cooked to order.

The tour company marked our final day with an excellent group dinner, held on the top floor of the hotel, with magnificent views. We felt like guests at a wedding, with linen table cloths and chair covers, plus bowls of mauve roses on each table. The food was delicious. Musicians played Croatian music while we dined, then a few generic tunes so people could dance. It was fun.

Those of us staying an extra night or two enjoyed a buffet dinner in the ground-floor restaurant. The food was freshly prepared and really nice. Al-la-carte was also available.

We all found the Westin Zagreb a lovely hotel. And I particularly appreciated the willingness of the staff to assist us, whatever the problem.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the front of the hotel have nice views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin and thank you for giving feedback online. We are very glad that you are satisfied with our services and staff and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The lobby is nice which is deceiving because the rooms are not so nice. In my room neither phone worked, and I had to call on my cellphone to get room service. Front desk came to look but said well guess technician will have to look. Wifi as listed is only in the lobby and bar and that is if it is working!! They apologized and said guess to many ppl are on it. Not a good excuse. Tried ordering hot tea to the room very early before my flight Bc it says beverages available 24/7, but when they brought it up, it was clear they had no idea what they were doing. Don't offer a service you can't support. Location not too far from the center but there are better hotels in walking distance. Overall not impressed especially for SPG family hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin. From your review, I see that you were not fully satisfied with your stay and we are sorry and apologize for this. We will do our utmost on improving on the issues you are mentioning. Wifi in the hotel rooms is a current priority and we are due to have it installed within few months and then free of charge. Currently we have wired high speed internet in the hotel rooms and wireless in the lobby free of charge. We hope to be welcome you back in the near future and that we then also will have an opportunity to meet in personal. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I can't remember when I've felt so at home in a hotel. This one has everything.....extremely comfortable bed, spacious room and bath, capacious workspace, top-flight amenities (shampoo, etc.), and a very good restaurant. I used the pool every day, clean and refreshing, and the hotel has a huge gym. Definitely worth a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelInsuranceLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Sir, thank you for staying at the Westin and thank you for sharing your impressions online. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon again. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have spent one night....

The not so good
- The hotel is clearly showing its age and it doesn't have the WOW factor as others Westin may have. The room is clean and in good condition
It doesn't feel like a 4 star
- Shower a bit weird and missing water pressure

The good
- Good location. 15mins walk to the old town
- Comfy bed
- Friendly staff
- Free Internet (but wired)

We were 4 (2 rooms) and the taxi to the airport was much cheaper/faster than taking the tram+bus.
The bus is waiting outside the airport (Croatia airlines) and drop the passengers at the main bus station. Then take a tram (#2 or #4) to the hotel (stop = Vodnikova).
ATMs are located in the aiport terminal

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had a good, two nights stay in the hotel. It has a perfect central location, the rooms are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de
Thank Laszlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Sir, Thanks for staying at the Westin and thanks for sharing your impressions online. Great to hear that you had a good stay and we hope we can welcome you back soon. With our best regards, Gunnar Sanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The good things about this property are it's convenient location to the center of Zagreb, it's impressive lobby and it's great staff. These are all reasons to stay here but do not expect to be wowed by any of the other aspects that people expect from a four star hotel.

The facade looks like it was built in Tito's time and the rooms are not much better. Be warned that a room with two beds is not the two double beds that you would get in the US but two very tiny twin beds. It is Europe and I have to always remember to scale down my size expectations. There are a lot of the familiar promotions and amenities that if you are a frequent Westin guest you will be used to seeing but I usually travel to leave my American culture in America but I understand that some need the reminders of home.

You won't be disappointed with your stay here but it is not the best you can find in Zagreb.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalsaPicante78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSanne, General Manager at The Westin Zagreb, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Sir, Thank you for staying at the Westin and thanks for sharing your impressions online. Our heavenly twin beds are 200*100 cm. Glad you appreciated your stay. with our best regards, Gunnar Sanne, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#9 of 59 in Zagreb
998 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
919 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Zagreb

Address: Ulica Isidora Krshnjavoga 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Zagreb
#5 Casino Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $110 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Zagreb 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Westin Zagreb
Zagreb Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing