We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location in the heart of the city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of the city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The main strength of this hotel is location as it sits right at the heart of the city between the upper and lower town, so it is basically easy to walk to most of the tourist attractions. The room in the restaurant wing is nice and clean with a good view of Ban Jelacic square. However, the room in another wing is a bit older and no view.

The breakfast is nice with a good selection of choices. The staff service is just OK...nothing particularly impressive. The convenience of the hotel location can compensate on the service though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank thommythom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I agree,our location is the best in Zagreb and our strongest selling point ! Sadly, our staff was not up to expectations, which concerns me. "Just OK" is simply not good enough... Thank you for your observations and welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    414
    132
    18
    4
See reviews for
108
288
77
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose Hotel Dubrovnik for the night before our start of a Croatian Adventure Trip. Great location (30 minutes from Zagreb airport by taxi). We took a Zagreb Bike Tour and were able to see the wonderful old buildings in Old Town and also New Zagreb. Our room was spacious with a King bed and nice bathroom and very clean. Only deterrent was no view. Hotel staff was very efficient and service oriented.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. Frankly, I did not know that the Zagreb Bike Tour includes New Zagreb as well. That is plenty of cycling...
But, what I do enjoy reading is comments that concerns our staff. Comments like "efficient and service oriented" are just great to hear.

Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Perfect, central location. Do not ignore the bakery across the street. Our room was very nice, newly refurbished. The included breakfast was ample and tasty. This is a great place as no vehicle is needed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering1Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. It was truly a pleasure to read your lovely comment. I am glad that everything worked out well !

Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights early in June. The place has had a recent refurbishment so it's quite modern-looking in the lobby, and the room was sizable and well appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient. Fantastic location, right on the main square, and only a few minutes away from Tkalciceva. They could probably improve the strength of their WiFi a bit, and the room also had a fairly strong scent of anti-tobacco air freshener, but all in all it was a very enjoyable stay and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quasardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. Yes, Tkalčićeva street is not so far away and this is also one of my favorite spots in Zagreb. The WiFi signal might be weaker in some areas of the hotel which has been recognized thanks to earlier comments in this regard. This topic has been in our focus and I do believe that the WiFi signal is better now.

Hope to see you back soon !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
286 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed twice in a week on business. Great location, right in the center of town. Lots of dining and drinking spots nearby. Lobby is modern, spacious, clean and glassy. Reception was efficient and the clerks pleasant. This is older property that had a recent modern style remodel, so it's not warm, more glass and frosted glass about. The rooms were nice and large, along with the bathrooms. One of my pet peeves is that there was a bit of black mold in the shower/tub. Otherwise, very clean room with a comfortable bed. No view from the windows, it was a brick wall. The breakfast was fair, not a great selection and the service was not friendly. Otherwise, a pleasant stay in Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the offer and service as far as our breakfast is concerned. We are continuously improving our breakfast offer and will continue to do so. Thank you for your observation and welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastav, Croatia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've been several times there but for the first time I get room with main square view. That's super. Also I've been lucky because first night there were some concert at the square so I have the best possible view at the stage.
The room was also superb very big with a huge comfortable bed. I'm happy there because you can even open the windows! Wi-Fi is functioning perfectly.
My special attention has been taken by interesting central corridor. When you exit the room you can see all floors.
Unfortunately I can't get 5* because parking place is too expensive and the breakfast was very modest.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which have square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GogiKastav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the concerts on the main square, but also sad that you found our breakfast modest and parking to expensive. Both topics will be discussed within my team. What needs to be said is that we are constantly improving our breakfast offer having in mind what our customer preferences and suggestions are. This will be the case in the future as well.

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel has the perfect location and the rooms are a good size (though the size varies). It is strictly four stars (e.g. no lotion is provided). The downside: I would avoid like the plague on weekends. There was a concert in the square lasting until 2:00am. The windows of my room were shaking. The staff was nice enough to find a quieter room but even in the quieter room I could still hear the concert. Even on a non-weekend, you get noise from the pedestrian area outside so you want to avoid the rooms overlooking the pedestrian area. The other big downside is that the wifi inside the rooms was incredibly weak. It was fine in the hallways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. The nearby main square is very busy in summer times, this is true. Concerts, shows, open market... However, all these events are due to end 11.00 pm at latest. Obviously, this was not the case during your visit and I will take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience. I am glad to learn that our staff did all possible to solve the situation

The WiFi signal seems to be weak in certain rooms and areas and we are working on a solution to this problem.

Thank you for your feedback and warm welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.6 mi away
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
Arcotel Allegra Zagreb
#11 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of Zagreb, Hotel Dubrovnik is set on Zagreb's Main Square and has a tradition dating back to 1929. It provides renovated rooms and suites with classical decor and modern amenities. State-of-the-art IPTV system, business center, gym, bar, restaurant and free Wi-Fi are available. All rooms are air-conditioned and comprise a private bathroom with a shower or a bathtub and a hairdryer. Each features a TV and a minibar. Its guests can enjoy American Steak House Restaurant, a Lounge Bar and Piccolo Mondo Restaurant which offers traditional Italian dishes, as well as Croatian cuisine. A summer terrace is also available. Hotel Dubrovnik is surrounded by all the major tourist sights, parks and promenades with numerous bars and restaurants. In the immediate vicinity its guests can find the cathedral, the picturesque Dolac open-air market and the main shopping area on Ilica Street. The hotel also provides modern-style conference rooms with natural day light overlooking the Main Square. The Main Train Station is half a mile away. The Main Bus Station can be reached within just over 1 mile, and Zagreb Airport is 11 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Dubrovnik Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing