We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stylish and perfectly located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stylish and perfectly located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights early in June. The place has had a recent refurbishment so it's quite modern-looking in the lobby, and the room was sizable and well appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient. Fantastic location, right on the main square, and only a few minutes away from Tkalciceva. They could probably improve the strength of their WiFi a bit, and the room also had a fairly strong scent of anti-tobacco air freshener, but all in all it was a very enjoyable stay and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quasardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. Yes, Tkalčićeva street is not so far away and this is also one of my favorite spots in Zagreb. The WiFi signal might be weaker in some areas of the hotel which has been recognized thanks to earlier comments in this regard. This topic has been in our focus and I do believe that the WiFi signal is better now.

Hope to see you back soon !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    441
    139
    20
    4
See reviews for
117
325
81
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
307 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed twice in a week on business. Great location, right in the center of town. Lots of dining and drinking spots nearby. Lobby is modern, spacious, clean and glassy. Reception was efficient and the clerks pleasant. This is older property that had a recent modern style remodel, so it's not warm, more glass and frosted glass about. The rooms were nice and large, along with the bathrooms. One of my pet peeves is that there was a bit of black mold in the shower/tub. Otherwise, very clean room with a comfortable bed. No view from the windows, it was a brick wall. The breakfast was fair, not a great selection and the service was not friendly. Otherwise, a pleasant stay in Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the offer and service as far as our breakfast is concerned. We are continuously improving our breakfast offer and will continue to do so. Thank you for your observation and welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastav, Croatia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've been several times there but for the first time I get room with main square view. That's super. Also I've been lucky because first night there were some concert at the square so I have the best possible view at the stage.
The room was also superb very big with a huge comfortable bed. I'm happy there because you can even open the windows! Wi-Fi is functioning perfectly.
My special attention has been taken by interesting central corridor. When you exit the room you can see all floors.
Unfortunately I can't get 5* because parking place is too expensive and the breakfast was very modest.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which have square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GogiKastav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the concerts on the main square, but also sad that you found our breakfast modest and parking to expensive. Both topics will be discussed within my team. What needs to be said is that we are constantly improving our breakfast offer having in mind what our customer preferences and suggestions are. This will be the case in the future as well.

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel has the perfect location and the rooms are a good size (though the size varies). It is strictly four stars (e.g. no lotion is provided). The downside: I would avoid like the plague on weekends. There was a concert in the square lasting until 2:00am. The windows of my room were shaking. The staff was nice enough to find a quieter room but even in the quieter room I could still hear the concert. Even on a non-weekend, you get noise from the pedestrian area outside so you want to avoid the rooms overlooking the pedestrian area. The other big downside is that the wifi inside the rooms was incredibly weak. It was fine in the hallways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. The nearby main square is very busy in summer times, this is true. Concerts, shows, open market... However, all these events are due to end 11.00 pm at latest. Obviously, this was not the case during your visit and I will take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience. I am glad to learn that our staff did all possible to solve the situation

The WiFi signal seems to be weak in certain rooms and areas and we are working on a solution to this problem.

Thank you for your feedback and warm welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Perfect location within walking distance of some great cafes, restaurants, bars, shops, tram, cathedral, green market and museums. Excellent service and helpful staff (English speaking). Very welcoming and good with information at check in. Large room and spacious bathroom overlooking square. Comfortable bed, good pillows and nice towels! Very clean. Full Breakfast was included in the rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 818sharonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank your for your comment. It is always pleasant to hear that our staff was up to expectations. Once again, thank you and welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times. It is by far the best location of all 4 and 5 stars in Zagreb. Directly on main square. The property is a bit old fashion with socialist touch but again it is in a way a trendy thing nowadays. Rooms are exactly 4* central Europe standard. Breakfast is very good. No really downside except no buzz feeling (just ordinary story).
Also, the significant upside is a free parking for visitors with cars.

Room Tip: Just go for standard room. no need for any upgrade. all rooms are the same except size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolaAndrijana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your email. We have a number of newly renovated deluxe rooms and those are really nice. Upon your next arrival to Hotel Dubrovnik, please, book a deluxe room and let me know what your opinion is. Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
296 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I give this hotel 5 stars for one reason. The location is superb. Located right in the old town city center at the main square, and within walking distance of everything this city has to offer in the way of culture. So much to do around the area of this hotel, it would take days.
The hotel is also quite nice and charming. Really well taken care of, rooms in order and really nice condition, comfortable beds and bedding and lovely bathrooms. Staff quite nice and the entire hotel is properly managed. A little difficult to get to with a taxi since there is so much walking traffic and the hotel located where it is. But well worth any headaches associated with it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. I really enjoyed reading your comment... Welcome back !

Best regards,

Gordan Šušak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: Ulica Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dubrovnik is located on the main city square of Zagreb which has a unique hospitality tradition since 1929. It is the only hotel located in the heart of Zagreb and it is surrounded by most of the major tourist sites such as the cathedral, Zagreb old town, Dolac market, parks, bars and restaurants. The hotel contains a total of 222 rooms which are equipped with air-conditioning, private bathrooms with showers or a bathtub, hairdryer, TV and a minibar. If our guests have any additional request for their room, they can contact the hotel. One of the most unique features of Hotel Dubrovnik is that there is a tram station located right in front of the hotel that will take you to most places because the public transport in Zagreb is well organized and there is a taxi stop located 50m from the hotel. Our guests can enjoy American Steak House Restaurant which serves Croatian cuisine, a Lounge Bar and a summer terrace facing the main square. The Main Train Station is half a mile away, the Main Bus Station can be reached within just over 1 mile and Zagreb Airport is 11 miles away. If our guests need a taxi transfer from the airport, bus or train station they can reserve it through the hotel for a better price. The hotel has recently introduced a new policy if our guests decide to reserve their room through our official website: -Free parking space -Late cancellation until 18:00 on the day of arrival -Late check out until 16:00 -15% discount in hair salon ,,Brba "- located on the second floor in Hotel Dubrovnik -15% discount for a massage in beauty salon ,,Beauty CheChe "- located on the third floor in Hotel Dubrovnik ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Dubrovnik Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing