We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good hotel in the centre of Zagreb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
SouthWest Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in the centre of Zagreb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our recent 4 day stay at the Hotel Dubrovnik. Ok, the hotel is undergoing major renovations and there was a bit of drilling work going on but we didn't find it any bother at all. We had to take a bit of a detour to find our room but that was all part of the fun. The room we had was lovely, fairly spacious and the bed was really comfy. Only small niggle was the fact that we couldn't get the air con below 25/26 C and it was pretty hot and humid when we were there.
Reception staff friendly, helpful and professional.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special but perfectly adequate - and lots of juice!
Location was the best thing of all but the centre of Zagreb seemed pretty compact anyway.
Bar prices were a bit steep but venture out of the hotel and prices were good.
Overall, great stay in a fabulous city - we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a new room but I think they're all new now - or are about to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAmember8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear TAmember8,

Thank you for your comment and understanding ! The renovation is over and Hotel Dubrovnik has changed to the better, if you ask me. Glad to hear that the reception staff was up to expectations.

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    427
    135
    18
    4
See reviews for
113
304
80
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel. We had a room in the new part which is very modern and comfortable. Very friendly service at Reception and very good service. Rooms were spotless clean and fresh. It is situated on a very nice location, in the center not far from everything you would want to do. Also, the downstairs restaurant is outstanding. The food is very nice, service was okay. The Breakfast buffet did not have such a wide variety but was very much enjoyable nonetheless.
I definitely recommend this Hotel. For me, this was the best hotel we had in Croatia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjibbolet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sjibbi,

Your comment "this was the best hotel we had in Croatia" just made my day. Thank you !

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

if hotel is under renovation,than does not mean that they start to work & destroy with hard machines half of hotel at 7am in the morning anyway, it so bad you can NOT open any window od so many in the room, they were at least 6 of them, it smells of cigarettes althought is not allowed to smoke inside, the whole hotel is like a labirint, you will be lost for sure in this mess building of rooms with no sequentially numbers of room & floor...
otherwise location is top in center of square trg bana jelačiča

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank touristproffexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear touristproffexpert,

Thank you for your comment. Yes, we did have issues with some workers who started far earlier then what was agreed. Let me express my deepest apologies for the inconvenience ! However, the renovation is over now and no more drilling is ongoing. I am kindly asking you to check us out in the nearest future to see what has been done.

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at hotel Dubrovnik! Yes - renovation is going on, but that didn't hamper my stay in the slightest. The hotel is centrally located making exploring Zagreb on foot quite manageable. The breakfast was excellent - a variety of choices to please just about everyone. I hope to return to Zagreb in the future & would certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank hakroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear hakroach,

Thank you for your comment. I am glad to learn that the renovation did not effect your stay with us !

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

At the time of our stay, the hotel was undergoing renovation so the entrance lobby was on the second floor, and getting around the hotel required some detours. However, the renovations caused us no problems. The hotel is on the central downtown square, and all attractions were within walking distance. Our room was in the newer part and was spacious and comfortable. The shower was difficult to use because the "telephone" shower head could not be fixed to the bar causing us to have to hold the handle and adjust the temperature at the same time .. if we let go the whole bathroom was sprayed. The staff was always polite and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good.

Room Tip: we were in the newer section and the rooms may have been larger based on other traveler's opinio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrangerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear travelrangerSC,

Thank you for your comment.

Thank you for your comment. Despite some problems with the shower, it seems that everything else worked out well with your stay with us.

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

SInce I had to go to a meeting which took place in this hotel, i did not make this choice in person. It was, however, a good choice. The location is fabulous and even in the shortest break one could go out and wander around town for a few minutes. The conference room looks out onto the town square and since there is always something going on (we saw folk dancing, a demonstration, military parade and street musicians, all in one day!) it could even be distracting from the meeting, but it's entertaining in any case. The hotel is being renovated and will be finished shortly which would give it a 'proper' reception and entrance. The room in which I stayed was fine, clean, very comfortable bed and nice, spacious bathroom and a functional bedside light which allowed reading in bed! Breakfast is ok, not too special, I would have preferred more fresh fruit. The lunch and dinners we had were very good, fresh, delightful presentation and a good insight into croatian cuisine. The hotel is extremely well connected by public transport and even to the airport, it takes only about half an hour by tram and airport bus. Perfect location to explore this attractive and lively city.

Room Tip: If you would like a splendid view, ask for a room facing the main square, but if you prefer it more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Readingrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear readingrat,

Thank you for your positive comment. The breakfast is a topic in terms of how to improve. Your observation is therefore highly appreciated.

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Room that I was in was absolutely "expired". Hotel is being renovated and I hope that this room is next. There was a huge stain on the wall, wallpapers are peeling, carpets dirty (and there were no slippers in the room) and the toilet water cistern had an ingenious way of (not) operating. As the water could not be released by pushing the button you had to open it and release it manually. Location is great, but rooms yearn for renovation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DarijaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Darija,

Thank you for your comment. We are constantly improving our service and facilities and that is our mission. All rooms will be renovated in the years to come.

Best regards,

Gordan Susak
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: Ulica Ljudevita Gaja 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#7 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#9 Business Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dubrovnik is located on the main city square of Zagreb which has a unique hospitality tradition since 1929. It is the only hotel located in the heart of Zagreb and it is surrounded by most of the major tourist sites such as the cathedral, Zagreb old town, Dolac market, parks, bars and restaurants. The hotel contains a total of 222 rooms which are equipped with air-conditioning, private bathrooms with showers or a bathtub, hairdryer, TV and a minibar. If our guests have any additional request for their room, they can contact the hotel. One of the most unique features of Hotel Dubrovnik is that there is a tram station located right in front of the hotel that will take you to most places because the public transport in Zagreb is well organized and there is a taxi stop located 50m from the hotel. Our guests can enjoy American Steak House Restaurant which serves Croatian cuisine, a Lounge Bar and a summer terrace facing the main square. The Main Train Station is half a mile away, the Main Bus Station can be reached within just over 1 mile and Zagreb Airport is 11 miles away. If our guests need a taxi transfer from the airport, bus or train station they can reserve it through the hotel for a better price. The hotel has recently introduced a new policy if our guests decide to reserve their room through our official website: -Free parking space -Late cancellation until 18:00 on the day of arrival -Late check out until 16:00 -15% discount in hair salon ,,Brba "- located on the second floor in Hotel Dubrovnik -15% discount for a massage in beauty salon ,,Beauty CheChe "- located on the third floor in Hotel Dubrovnik ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Dubrovnik Zagreb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing