We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay for a quick tea or drink”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for a quick tea or drink”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We did not stay at this hotel as it was fully booked. I rate them 5 stars as even though we were not guests the front entrance and lounge staff were quite accommodating. We had tea, fresh squeezed juice, and ice cream. All the products consumed were of high quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    503
    100
    34
    13
See reviews for
366
1,010
113
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only stayed in the hotel one night, and really wish that we had stayed longer. The service at the hotel was great. When we checked in the staff was friendly and asked us questions about our travels and what we would like to do in Zagreb. They provided a map of the city and recommendations on what we should try to see since we only had one day in the city. The hotel was convenient as it was an easy walk to the old part of town as well as the restaurants and bars. The rooms were spacious and clean. I think the hotel was a great deal and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel rooms - for business traveller it's excellent. Furnishings are classical in design.

Hotel is reasonably well located - a 10-15 mins walk to the City Square area. Staff are well trained and very helpful.

There's free wifi for guests.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CodyKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clapham, London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just stayed for three nights ... very good location, handy for airport bus, rail and tram connections. Grand tradition (an Orient Express "port of call"), refurbished in traditional but tasteful design ... great value too. Beds are firm but they'll happily supply you with a memory foam topper which is very comfortable. Outside terrace is nice but loses the sun at midday. Didn't eat there. Easy walk up through the lower town to the vibrant café cultured upper town ... head for Tkalciceva ... and don't miss the lovely (but hidden) Glyptoteka sculpture Gallery. The old town area of Gradec is charming, especially around St Mark's Square with it's highly polychromatic tiled roof. All in all a very good weekend break in an old fashioned kind of European capital city.
Smoothguide

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet due to replacement windows ... if in doubt ask for a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoothguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Excellent rooms with plenty of space had suites 106 and 107 accommodating 2 young children in 207 service was excellent, prompt and efficient. Staff were approachable and assisted with everything we asked for food was excellent. The only issue was the bed was a bit firmer than I would like but better than japan beds! Shower was excellent. Bistro staff assisted with off menu requests. Children's menu available with excellent food.

Room Tip: We stayed on our way into Croatia and on the way out stayed in 307 suite great views from the room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are frequent travelers who tend to splash out on hotels, and as picky New Yorkers we expect excellent standards. The Esplanade truly lived up to expectations, images and Trip Advisor reviews. Concierge Beri recommended two traditional, delicious Croatian restaurants- Vinodol (get the veal cooked under iron pot) and Balthazar (pork tenderloin and duck liver pate were delicious)- and also booked a terrific private guide Irene. An art history major who brought the city to life. Easy 10min walk to all Old City sights, about a 15min drive to the airport. Oh, and for the doubters- Croatian Air plane was literally brand new, super smooth 20min flight from Zagreb to Split.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CiaoHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful city hotels located in a secret, beautiful city. I wish we had spent more than two nights in Zagreb & at the Esplanade. The rooms were huge, clean and we loved the cookies at night. There was a lovely bar and the breakfast, which was included, was amazing. Don't miss this treasure!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ACappon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing