We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Autumn break in Zagreb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A perfect Autumn break in Zagreb”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Esplenade Hotel Zagreb after reading about it's history and refurb in a travel magazine. I like old style Grand hotels and this proved to be no exception.
From the moment I arrived the staff were helpful and courteous and made me feel very welcome. They had kindly upgraded my room so I benefitted from one at the front with the best views eastwards out over the square and with the morning sun. As it was my first time in Zagreb Tom the concierge became my 'personal' advisor and helped point me in the right direction for whatever I was looking for.
I drank in the bar and had tea on the terrace but I didn't take breakfast or dinner at the hotel as I was out exploring.
I would readily go back to the Esplenade and Zagreb - both were highly enjoyable experiences and ones I'd be very glad to repeat. I felt I received excellent value for money and Zagreb as a city has lots to offer a visitor for a short break. The weather was so perfect that it kept me outside and therefore from visiting the wide choice of museums and galleries which just gives me an excuse to go back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    519
    103
    36
    13
See reviews for
380
1,061
118
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this classic, exquisite hotel. We had a spacious room complete with a refrigerator mini-bar, free wifi, robes, slippers, and even a complementary shoe shine service. The large bathroom had a huge bathtub, a separate stall shower, double sinks, an array of soaps and shampoos, and large, sumptuous towels. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The location by the train station is convenient if you are using the train, and it is only a ten minute walk to the main square. The only downside to our entire stay was the overpriced breakfast we had--it was approximately $35 per person extra. Our advice is to stay at this hotel if you go to Zagreb, but eat breakfast elsewhere as we did our second morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 298DickZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

There is nothing quite like being awoken at 4am to the shrill sound of a heart attack inducingly loud alarm advising you there is an emergency and to evacuate the room. When I and other guests straggled down to the lobby we were told it was a 'technical problem ... this happens' and we could return back. Trying to get back to sleep after that - pretty much impossible. This event colors my entire experience of the hotel. It is gorgeous and the rooms are nicely appointed with the odd exception of the TV sets as others have pointed out. It also is a bit of a walk to the city center which is really worth seeing. Breakfast buffet was rather limited in terms of the hot item selection although you could order a few things they would bring to your table.

So, because of an absolutely horrible night I will not return to this hotel again and would reccomend finding an alternate location closer to the city center where you can get a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I arrived by train and so the Esplanade was in a perfect location: a short walk from the station without getting rail noise. It is also very walkable from the Esplanade to the main sights and restaurants and parks of Zagreb. A beautiful classic hotel. Well worth the indulgence

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Abrdngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our travel agent recommended this hotel. It was less expensive than every other place we stayed in Croatia and was fabulous! A true 5-star hotel. Walking distance to the sights and less than a block from the train station. Definite winner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank kgsrenChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Esplanade is a traditional grand hotel, very elegant and old-world, but well-maintained and updated. Service was excellent, beginning with the check-in process which is conducted sitting in armchairs at a desk, rather than the usual stand-up counter. We were escorted to our room and the bellman gave us an overview of the facilities. Also, we were able to just leave our rental car at the front door and hand over the keys, and they called to advise the agency it was ready for pickup since we were several hours earlier than scheduled.

I believe we were upgraded to a larger room than we'd booked - it had a sitting area with sofa and coffee table at one end of the large room. Big comfortable bed and huge marble bathroom with a glass-enclosed shower, separate tub, toilet room, double sink, lighted makeup mirror, etc. Lots of closet space, good mirrors & lighting. Altogether a very lovely accommodation, . My only minor criticism is that the pocket door to close off the bathroom has a frosted glass panel - not ideal if one person wants to turn on a light during the night without waking their partner.

The included breakfast buffet had an ample assortment of hot and cold dishes, and is served in the lovely dining room. It was cold and rainy during our stay but it looks like there's patio seating during the summer. One could also order cooked-to-order items off a menu, but the pricing was astronomical. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Zinfandel, and it was outstanding (separately reviewed).

Location of the hotel is good, easy to reach by car, a short walk to the center of town, and virtually next door to the train station which was very convenient as we were departing by train. Our room faced in the direction of the train tracks and while we could occasionally hear the rumble of passing trains, it didn't disturb us. I would highly recommend the Esplanade!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Regent Hotel Esplanade, is elegant. Every area of the hotel, which we encountered, was quite elegant. Well located, in the downtown area, within walking distance of the old city. We had dinner the first night at Zinfandels, the up-scale restaurant in the hotel. An excellent meal. All of the staff are "concierges." Even though the concierge desk was busy, the registration desk staff were quite happy to assist us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Schunhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing