We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic European Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
662 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Classic European Hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice classic European hotel in Zagreb If you like to walk it is very close to everything, shopping, restaurants etc. The rooms were nice, staff was friendly and the food in the restaurant was good. We had a nice size room with a king bed, but I must say that the showers in the bathrooms are very small, even for small people. Beautiful hotel architecture and lots of character.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    501
    100
    34
    13
See reviews for
366
1,006
113
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On a driving holiday, we found the hotel very easily, centrally located as it is.
Sadly we arrived during an ambassadorial visit, denying us access to the terrace for a well earned sundowner. We also arrived just behind a bus party, so you can imagine we may not have had the best introduction to this hotel, but we were attended to very quickly by some nice ladies at reception, and our bags where carried off to our rooms by the efficient concierge service in jig time!
Rooms very well appointed, with nice views into the garden.
Dining out we cannot comment on the dining room, but we were happily allowed access to the terrace for breakfast under the shade of well placed table umbrellas. All very proficient, and industrious, if a little solemn ? In common with another reviewer this will probably be my main memory of the hotel. Sumptuous, but not particularly friendly or welcoming. I would except the concierge, door, and reception staff, but those around the bar and dining room need to loosen up a little?
A great memory, but one of the hotels I would hesitate to strongly recommend from my week touring across Europe, grand and special as it was?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Zagreb is a big city and the capital of Croatia. The hotel was great. I can't say anything negative other than I wish the breakfast was cheaper than 25 euros!! The rooms are exquisitely decorated, the beds were great and the shower was ample.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slavica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights here in late June. Met at the door by someone to take bags, checkin was quick and easy. Room was huge (we had a deluxe king room). Amazing bathroom with separate bath, two sinks, big shower cubicle and toilet separated by glass door. Did get a little noise from the trains as we were at the back of the hotel but not enough to disturb us. Couldn't quite work out the air con controls so were either too hot or cold, but maybe if I'd asked it would have been simple!

Breakfast was good though sometimes had to wait a few minutes to be seated. Decent choice and efficient service. A shame breakfast is an extra on too of the room. Sat outside on the terrace one day which was nice.

Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main square. All in all a great place to base yourself if you're in Zagreb.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_uk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Arrived by train and the hotel is literally only a 5 min walk from the main train station. Very grand hotel especially the lobby and ballroom area. Receptionists pleasant enough and concierge helpful but staff just weren't that friendly and didn't seem interested - possibly due to the lobby always being complete chaos with people everywhere.

Had a deluxe room, very nice and big, hadn't been dusted for a while which was surprising but reception sorted that for us. Free WIFI was useful. Didn't eat in the hotel. Had a great rate but was room only. About a 20 min walk into the centre which was fine. Exchange offices on the way into town - great rates (8.65 commission free to GBP compared with bank rate of 8.77 at the time). City is pleasant, old town at the top of the hill with cathedral and churches. 'Newer' town closer to the hotel has some impressive buildings and squares.

City sightseeing bus is worth the €8 each - choice of 2 routes although the outer town route has limited appeal other than a nice journey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlyon, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a beautiful room overlooking the park. The room was well furnished with that old world charm. Given the quality of the furnishings I was a bit surprised with the old style tv, but that is a minor detail. The room was large with a sitting area which I always appreciate.

The service at the desk and concierge was very helpful.
My only negative is about the restaurant. We had food and coffee out on the deck and then went inside to the bar area and found that the coffee was much cheaper (24 in the restaurant, 20 in the bar). The food is also cheaper. Given that it was the same coffee machine and same size, this is a bit off.
Otherwise a very nice hotel which exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend. Excellent Value for money.

Room Tip: deluxe room with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
252 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Great Railway Journey. It was the best hotel on the trip. Large room with an impressive bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food and service were good. The best thing about the hotel is the location, right opposite the station (good if you're on a train holiday), and where all the city trams stop. We bought a day pass and could go to the old town where we had dinner on the second night of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adobeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing