We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance and old fashioned service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
swiss
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Elegance and old fashioned service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We paid USD100.00 for a suite at this wonderful, sophisticated hotel. A huge bedroom with bath plus shower. Even better - the toilet was separate! A great lounge to sit and people watch, friendly bar and helpful staff. Worth every cent. The fitness room was small and empty. We did not eat in the main restaurant but had a great meal in the Bistro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morethancheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,742
    486
    95
    34
    12
See reviews for
362
971
113
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited this hotel in January when the weather was not the greatest. However, I was thoroughly looking forward to my first visit, as the hotel has won so many accolades over the years.
Upon arrival, I was a little bit disappointed.
I found the lobby area to be worn and old. I guess some would say historical?
I made the way up the stairs to my room, while checking out all of the decor. Similar to the lobby, I felt that this hotel could use a freshen up!
Maybe I am in to the new brand of modern hotels, but I just did not feel at all comfortable throughout my stay. I thought there was a musty smell, and the hotel was nothing like I expected.
The rooms were okay at best, but the hotel is truly a business hotel.
The food was good, but the fact that the smoking area was immediately off the dining area, was a huge turn off
I left the hotel extremely sad, as I had prior visions that I was about to inspect one of the so-called better hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank no818528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are few urban hotels where one feels more pampered than this historic downtown Zagreb landmark. All rooms I've stayed in have tasteful, luxurious appointments and incredibly comfortable beds. Valet and concierge services are efficiently conducted and, although it is a larger hotel, the Esplanade manages to feel small and fairly intimate. The restaurant befits a luxury hotel and the bar is a genteel, comfortable spot for a beverage and snack. Although parts of downtown Zagreb evoke a sort of faded sense of Old Europe, the Esplanade feels like it has struck the right balance between old and new.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkDSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A real luxury hotel near the historical center of Zagreb. it is an big building build in the 20s to offer accomodation to Orient Express passengers. The service is excellent with very reasonables prices (probably because its Zagreb and not Paris or Rome). It was refurnished some years ago so the rooms looks quite modern without loosing its ancient luxury. To anyone in the search of a five star hotel I think this is the best option.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gandalff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This beautiful hotel with its old world charm (it was built in 1920s) is centrally located at Zagreb. Its a stroll away to all the important tourist spots and the railway station. Excellent hospitality, extremely polite and efficient staff, beautiful lobby and well furnished and appointed rooms. The hotel is visited by many celebrities and it gives star treatment to all its guests. The toiletries are excellent and the wine bar is nicely put together. The restaurants are excellent too.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in higher floors. Lower rooms can be bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyotirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A luxurious Old World gem. The rooms are beautifully appointed, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The food was quite good and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and their English was quite good--as it was with most people I met in Zagreb. It's a city with great architecture, nice cafés, parks and a terrific market.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
333 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Okay, so a mixed review and here goes for the positives: nice big rooms, quite well appointed. Glass of sparkling wine on arrival. Very friendly staff. Well located, not right at the hub of the old town but only a 10 or 15 minute walk away. Good breakfasts (though see comments below). Good spa treatments too. Had a painfully good deep tissue massage! On the down side, the room had a very old fashioned and large box set TV, for which the remote control only partially worked and then only on and off. The air con was also an absolute mystery and we never did get it to the right temperature. I did call an engineer to the room but he spoke no English so he never did work out what I was saying. On one of the days, after the room had been turned down, we came back to the room to smell it reeking of smoke. When we pointed this out, the hotel sent someone with air freshener but never addressed the issue as to why it was s smoky in the first place. We also had an issue with an item of clothing going missing which the hotel did not take seriously, suggesting that maybe we had sent it to be laundered but not yet returned, which we had not. Whilst the breakfasts were nice, the choice of hot buffet food is extremely limited, though you can order from a limited menu. And although the spa treatments we had were nice, a hotel of this size should have a pool and ideally a jacuzzi and steam room. In fact, all it has is a small sauna and a gym. Lastly, there is virtually no local literature at all in the hotel so a guidebook is a must, which is a pity as it would cost next to nothing to have a small display of leaflets and brochures. Overall, we were happy enough to stay here but it does somehow lack atmosphere and of course it is supposedly 5 stars so you do pay for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 60 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#6 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
Sheraton Zagreb Hotel
#10 of 60 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Property: Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing