We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night last week in this excellent hotel on our first trip to Zagreb. At only £100 per night, including breakfast and free wifi, this hotel was fantastic value. Comfortable room with excellent bed linen and a very spacious bathroom - double basins and a separate bath and shower, which I love in a good hotel! Beautiful decor and all spotlessly clean, throughout the entire hotel. Gym was a fair size and had enough equipment for a good workout. Breakfast buffet was one of the best I've had outside SE Asia ( where the selection is always massive to cater for all nationalities) and the cooked selection - scrambled eggs and salmon for me - was perfectly done. Immaculate service throughout - friendly, efficient but unobtrusive. 10 mins walk to Old Town, a few minutes less to the great bars in the lower town (Bulldog is recommended). And most importantly, right next to the rail station where we caught our train to Ljubljana the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beansbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,666)
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,484 - 1,490 of 2,667 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

This Hotel is terrific. I stayed here on several occasions and was always very pleased by the Hotel and especially the Service personal. They did go out of their way to help out, especially at the check in counter!

The larger rooms are very good, i prefer the ones on the higher floors. the suite on the first or second floor is in my opinion not worth it as it is only slightly larger and the balcony to the main street and most of all when it rains at night the tin protection outside make it very very noisy. This might also occur in other rooms, but have only noticed it in the suite.

Breakfast, especially on the large terrace is absolutely fantastic. Lunch/dinenr in their own restaurant is of very good standard and quality. Would definitely recommend it.

Small comments for improvement. The Concierge recommended a Bike Rental close by in Town which was definitely dodgy. It was a bar and they fetched the bike out of a cabin in the backyard, where there wree a bunch of not maintained bikes with flat tires. Absolutely horrible bikes, without air and tiny even for the city. And upon return they tried to overcharge 30 Euros for some sort of guarantee or so. So a bit more professional recommendations would be great. But this did not tint the overall experience of the Hotel.


Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: higher floor rooms outward facing are great. suite not worth the extra i believe as the saloon is...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmaziliaTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am glad I did stay at this hotel. It is a true 5 star hotel with amazingly friendly and helpful staff, in particular wonderful receptionists.
fantastic and unforgettable experience and I look forward to go back there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are my choice as value for money.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joedarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel is great with very pleasant personnel. Rooms are spacious, king size double bed. Loccitane hygiene products in bathroom, which is green/white marmor from roof to floor. Both bathtub and shower. Free wifi with good reception. Wide variety at breakfast. Only minus is that there is no pool and there are old crt TVs in rooms!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed for 2 nights on business. The hotel has old world charm, it is decorated nicely, the staff was friendly, the location is excellent, the "L'Occitane" bath products were pampering. However, there was nothing special enough to warrant a 5 star rating, free Wi-fi was a nice perk. The room was comfortable enough but not overly luxurious. The view of the road and buildings nearby from my room was gloomy. The small screen CRT TV was very low quality and not in a convenient place to watch from the bed. The food was good but nothing to call home about. The selection for meals was not overly abundant and repetitive from day to day. When I realized at midnight that I was missing an essential toiletry item, I asked for help at the reception. The best help they could give was walking directions to the nearest open pharmacy. No pool.
I have no complaints about my stay and would recommend this hotel. There was good value for money and overall comfortable stay but no extra touch of luxury that woudl justify giving this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EynatD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Esplanade regent Zagreb

I spent two nights here on business in a standard room in December 2012. All in all I have to rate the hotel highly. If and when I return to Zagreb I will certainly return (on the condition of having our corporate rate).

Beautiful building Tastefully refurbished in the art deco style
Not quite, but almost extravagant luxury for a price (corporate rate) that puts 3* Paris hotels to shame
Lovely bathroom with two washbasins, bath, shower cubicle complete with rain head
Very pretty and stylish fittings in the room
My room was on the side of the main entrance so no trains could be heard, nor other traffic.
Breakfast buffet is average, but served in one of the prettiest breakfast rooms I've come across and with silver-plated (I think) cutlery. Another plus was the a la carte breakfast dishes available to order (in addition to the buffet). I was a bit confused by the the 175kn printed at the bottom of the breakfast card and ruminated a while about how to interpret the waiter's reassurance that "it's part of the breakfast". I was glad to see that my egg and salmon dish didn't appear on my bill. Coffee was pretty good, but the croissants and pain au chocolat were very mediocre. The veal sausages and crispy bacon was pretty good. The rest just average. Freshly squeezed orange juice a definite plus
No problems with check-in/out staff who were almost flirtatious in their pleasant interactions with guests, nor with the breakfast staff who were cooler, but pleasant and efficient. However, the other personnel (bell boys, etc) were a bit off hand and I can confirm that doors weren't opened nor were you greeted with a smile too often (although I have to say, spotting a smiling waiter, airport personnel or cabin crew in Zagreb was quite a challenge...)
L'Occitane hygiene items are a nice touch although a L'Occitane shoe polishing mitt????
Location is convenient as it's not even a 10 minute walk to the central square.



No robe provided although slippers were
Huge CRT television set! I didn't know they still existed.
Bathroom a bit cold although room was fine
Bed was pleasant enough but not very sumptuous. Other hotels think more about pillow types and mattresses and bedclothes.
Disappointed to find that the jacuzzi mentioned on the website didn't exist. Didn't try the gym or spa centre.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank czenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful hotel at the end of December 2012.

A 15 minute walk from the bus station from the airport... to the hotel.(it's possible to get the tram but a taxi would probably be a better option)

Huge room with a big bed and a beautiful marble (open) bathroom.Everything about this hotel is luxury from the bathrobes to the toiletries.The rainforest shower and bath tub are wonderful..but the open bathroom design might not appeal to everyone.
As others have mentioned the TV is one of the older models..but this fits well with the hotel.

The breakfast was the best of our Croatian trip. Everything you could possibly want plus sparkling wine as required...and hot foodstuffs made to order.

This hotel is right in front of the railway station and the underground shopping area is just about 1 minute walk away with lots of food outlets and a great supermarket for any thing you might require...such as bottled water (there is no free bottled water supplied in this hotel)

Excellent value for money for a 5 star hotel.

The customer service offered by the reception and restaurant staff was a little stand-offish but the concierge staff were excellent and getting a taxi direct from the hotel to the airport can be arranged for the same price as getting a taxi from the hotel to the bus station and then the bus to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aichii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $133 - $2,759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing