We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$158
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$91
$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$128
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$87
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Tomislavov dom(Zagreb)(Great Value!)
$49
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,832)
Filter reviews
2,832 results
Traveler rating
2,070
587
117
41
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,070
587
117
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorient expressbeautiful hotelzinfandel restaurantle bistrol'occitane toiletriesold worldluxury hoteltrain stationold schoolart decomain restaurantbotanical gardensold styleour room was spaciousbreakfast buffetupper townthe main square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,623 - 1,628 of 2,832 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel oozes history and elegance, where you feel like stepping back in time but with all of the modern comforts you would expect. The majestic lobby adorned with beautiful clock faces indictaing the time around the world gives you a taste of the days when the hotel was a halt for the Orient Express. The brasserie served excellent food and wine (Croation) and the waiter was extremely pleasant and welcoming. The room was very spacious and breakfast buffet offered a fantastic selection in the regal high ceilinged dining room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelleEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Esplanade in July 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed for one night when we arrived in Croatia and one night before we flew home. The best part was the service - the staff gave us great recommendations for our time in Croatia and gave us a fabulous restaurant tip: Trilogija - you don't want to miss it. It's a restaurant and wine bar in the old town of Zagreb and the food was the best we had on our two week trip (www.trilogija.com). The hotel was in a great location to explore Zagreb and within 10 minutes walking distance to everything you want to see. The staff also had good recommendations for running/jogging paths. The breakfast they serve in the morning is amazing - a huge spread of everything you can imagine and it was really well done (better than most buffet-style breakfasts offered at hotels). The room was clean, good size for Europe, and had a nice bathroom. We stayed in a standard room the first night and upgraded to a larger room the last night of our stay in Croatia. The larger room was definitely worth the extra money - it had a nice sitting area and the bathroom was huge - twice the size of the standard size room. Oh - and we also discovered a shopping center that is located underground and is literally right next to the hotel but you wouldn't know it was there unless someone told you about it. You just go out the hotel entrance towards the train station and go down the stairs - I can't recall if there is any signage. There is a grocery store down there and tons of shops if you need to pick something up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BB_Paige_Fresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Regent Esplanade is majestic. The rooms are beyond comfortable. The staff is wonderfully helpful. The bar is filled with atmosphere. The location is perfect. It was everything we hoped for and more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Surely the best hotel in Zagreb. Over the past few months I stayed in multiple hotels in Zagreb, including Westin, Sheraton. Staff around the hotel are very friendly and helpful, something I have been missing at other hotels in the city. Only downturn is that the rooms are a bit outdated, and would require a bit TLC. But I will definitely use the hotel when travelling to Zagreb.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2006KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our destination after a great train trip through Europe and could not of been better. A short stroll from the railway station, beautiful old building and lovely room. Hotel is within walking distance of the old city and we also had a great 2 hour segway tour from the hotel. Would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renoir999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews