We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously old world elegance at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I didn't know what to expect from previous reviewers, so threw caution to the wind. Honestly, part of my work is staying in hotels all over the world and evaluating them. The Regent Esplanade could not possibly have a better location. Two minutes from the train station, adjacent to the open air markets, ninety seconds from the old town and dozens of great restaurants. The staff is exceedingly polite, humorous and knowledgeable. I reflected on tv shows I had seen as a kid where sometimes there would be characters who actually lived in hotels. It occurred to me - I could live in this hotel. The restaurants are also quite acceptable and fairly priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icehose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,667)
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,667 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a packaged tour. This is a badly-run hotel. The hotel front desk staff are unprofessional and full of excuses (this was unfortunately common in Croatia) for lapses in maintenance and service. There appear to be too many middle managers standing around making excuses and not enough workers. The workers are either overworked or undertrained or both.

The plumbing is old and bad (no anti-scald valves, drains back up in shower and sink). Room service is terrible- they lost our order. You will constantly be following up with these people- this would be a 2.5 star hotel in North America, except in the North American hotel the service would be much better.

The in-room phones, rugs, etc look to be from the Tito era. The phones aren't marked with "Room Service" or "Concierge" keys- and maybe they keep these dirty old phones to dissuade you from calling for the bad/ non-existent service.

The beds are not comfortable (and we were supposed to be in a deluxe room). The rugs and walls appeared dirty and dingy. In the breakfast room you will wait and wait for drinks (liquids) service (the breakfast is so-so buffet so you can serve yourself), while the waitresses avoid eye contact. At dinner (Zinfandels) service is even slower and more incompetent (the food just OK, ruined by the endless wait).

Overall, this could well leave a bad taste- a real rip-off for the price. This part of Zagreb is not convenient to the nice areas either (old lower town, near the train station and it's also dirty, with lots of graffiti).

Presumably the 5 star rating assigned by the governmental agencies (apart from bureaucratic [--]) is because the public space downstairs is modernized and beautiful. But the hotel rooms and service are no better than a North American 2.5-star.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ambreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Regent reeks of class, old world charm and ambience.

Professional staff complement the experience.

Location is good and there are tens of shops within 50 metres (underground) as well as covered public parking at the same distance.

We were upgraded and it was a memorable experience. Beautiful room.

Breakfast is pricey.

We would not hesitate returning there or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhmadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is situated in a nice area of Zagreb next to a nice park. It is very central and convenient.
The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. The TV was a bit outdated ( 90"s CRT) and the remote conroller didn't work so we could not use it.
In general it is a nice place to stay but didn't leave us amazed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I beautiful stately hotel which used to be an overnight stop for the Orient Express. Excellent concierge and helpful reception staff. Beautiful breakfast outside on the terrace. A great walking distance from the old town and upper town. True Old European feel.

Room Tip: Zagreb is a lovely way to start your Croatian tour, spend 2 nights.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikizuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Zagreb is a beautiful city. The Regent makes your visit even better. The only thing this hotel do not have is a pool. Have a very decent gym, one good restaurant and a great "cafe bar". The service is awesome and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Location is perfect: walking distance of the main interest points of the city.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Quilhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent two delightful days in Zagreb, an interesting city relatively untouched by tourists. A highlight of our trip was a two-night stay at the regent Esplanade. For half the price we paid for comparable hotels elsewhere in Croatia, we were able to stay at the Regent - a definite 5-star experience.

The hotel had an old-world feel to it, just what we wanted after a bunch of nice but chain hotels. The room was sizeable and very quiet and the bathroom was particularly luxurious, having separate bath and shower facilities. Service was excellent and breakfast was particularly extensive and tasty. The location near the train station was good if one took trams to the more interesting upper city. The only complaint I had was that it's difficult to sit on their beautiful deck without being asked to have a drink (sometimes we just want to read!). Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 59 in Zagreb
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Family Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $133 - $2,759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing