We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in the heart of Zagreb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Regent Esplanade earlier this month. It was the first of our stops throughout Croatia. When booking, we were unsure of the location for touring, since it appeared to be quite a way from the city center. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find that most everywhere we visited in the city was within a ten to fifteen minute walk. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, wonderfully clean, and provided the amenities that you would hope to have at a hotel of this caliber. While the furnishings are not brand new, they are well kept and match the quality of the hotel. The concierge was always helpful and available. The Bistro offered good quality food at lighter portions (and prices) than the full restaurant. We plan to return to this hotel if our future travels take us back to Zagreb.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bbwn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Regent-Esplanade, General Manager at Esplanade Zagreb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Many thanks for you review and I'm delighted we seemed to tick all the boxes. Rest assured we're keeping on top of the fabric in the hotel and we'll be starting to make some big changes in the rooms next year. In the meantime, we always replace and repair when the need arises.
With regards
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,823 - 1,829 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Regent Esplanade for two nights (Monday-Wednesday) during a business trip in september. As late summer, it was 30 degrees but the A/C was pleasant (and not overly cold). The room was amazing with a huge bed and a huge bathroom. The gym in the basement was excellent for a hotel gym with basically all basic equipment. They could have scored more points by having a pool as well.
The short walk to the city centre and the train makes this a good option for travellers and businessmen alike. The only downside was the price, which could scare away any price-sensitive traveller.
The title comes from the fact that the Regent Esplanade serves champagne with it's 175HRK breakfast (about 23€).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We held a workshop at this hotel and the staff was professional in every way possible. Any issues were immediately addressed and our conference planner was simply on top of things.

The rooms were asbolutely beautiful, the hotel is very charming and the food... the food was my favorite part. I have to say that the cuisine in Croatia is amazing, especially their seafood. That being said, the location of the hotel itself is ideal. Walking distance from everything. The rates were also very good considering the caliber of the Zagreb Esplanade. There is a lot of graffiti in Zagreb. Most unfortunate but the city is fairly safe.

Their gym is limited, but they have a sauna (separate for men and women), and a spa (you have to pay for the spa services). So the sauna makes up for the small gym.

TWO IMPORTANT POINTS ABOUT CROATIA.

1) Be aware that the ATMs in Croatia do not accept Debit/Credit cards with pin numbers exceeding 5 digits. Had a family member travelling with me and she could not retrieve any cash at the ATMs there. Make sure you check with your financial institution and change your pin number to a 4 digit combination!

2) You can exchange your money only in Croatia. So before leaving Croatia, make sure to convert any remaining Croatian Kruna back into your home country's currency. Otherwise you'll be stuck with a currency you will not be able to exchange back home.

3) If you have time, be sure to visit Croatia's coastline and do not limit your visit to Zagreb. You can see everything there is to see in Zagreb within 2 days.

Highly recommend for your business trip or for your vacation.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Tourism industry is trying to attract travellers. You'd be surprized at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makes_Me_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at Regent Esplanade twice and liked a lot. The hotel is right next to the train station and approximately ten minutes away from the city's center and Ivana Tkalcica Street - where restaurants and bars are located. It takes only a couple of minutes to get to and from the city's center by taxi and costs about 30 kunas. Regent offers spacious rooms, free wireless internet, good breakfast with champagne, if that is your preference, and great service. Based on our experience, we recommend this hotel. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philonous_XXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a great hotel. We stayed here our first night in Croatia and loved everything about it. The beds are incredibly comfortable. We had an upgraded room and it was very spacious. We loved the huge bathroom and fluffy bathrobes.

The walk to old town is about 10 minutes and very easy.

It you are going to have breakfast at the hotel, book it with your room at about $24 per person because it's more like $35 if you purchase breakfast separately.

This hotel is quite expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJB521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We arrived at this hotel in Zagreb late in the afternoon on Monday and departed early the next morning for Split. We found the hotel and its staff to be very welcoming and helpful in suggesting a shoert walk around the area. We already had a recommendation for dinner so did not eat at the hotel other than at breakfast next morning.
The hotel was "olde worlde are deco ish" but our room, bed etc was very comfortable and we found the hotel quite central for our purposes.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the fountain is very mice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for two nights upon our arrival to Croatia. They greeted us with sparkling wine and the staff were really fun and engaging. Our room was lovely although the mattress could have been much better. Gym was small but to European standards I guess was fine. Location is great as you can walk to all the major sights in a few minutes. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jagerhorn
Hotel Jagerhorn
#2 of 59 in Zagreb
988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Astoria
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 59 in Zagreb
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Zagreb Hotel

Address: Mihanoviceva 1, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Regent Esplanade Zagreb)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Business Hotel in Zagreb
#1 Family Hotel in Zagreb
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zagreb
Price Range: $111 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Esplanade Zagreb Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel built in 1925 for the passengers of the old Orient Express and completely renovated in 2004, features 208 spacious and lavishly furnished rooms and suites. Our Zagreb hotel rooms and suites feature luxurious and convenient amenities such as marble bathrooms, fluffy bathrobes and free super fast Internet access. Esplanade Zagreb accommodations provide the best of both luxury and convenience and are ideal for busy travelers and those seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Esplanade Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Esplanade, Zagreb Hotel Zagreb
Regent Zagreb
Zagreb Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing