We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brewery - restaurant”

Pivnica Medvedgrad Ilica
Ranked #43 of 774 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Medvedgrad is producing its own beer for almost two decades. Naturale, without preservatives, made with traditional ways of brewing in our unique atmosphere will give you unforgettable experiance.We are proud of our terrace, only 5 min walk from the main square.There are other locations as well: Tkalčićeva 36 and Adžijina 16.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent brewery - restaurant”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pivnica Medvedgrad is excellent brewery. Offer different - homemade food. Lot of different beers. For me the best is MRKI MEDVJED beer (mixture of lager and dark beer),

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iAdriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    128
    28
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great variety of home made food...I love that small pastry that you can order as a starter (with čvarci and cheese)...also you can't drink anything except home made beer...Grička is my favourite...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeCosmogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Says what it does over the door”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a brewery restaurant, so in my feedback beer is as important as the food. I have been here twice and tasted a few of the beers, and I give a five-star rating for those. My favourite is the Dva klasa wheat beer, cloudy (they call it red, but that's poetic license, I suppose} and with a nicely full flavour.
The food is pretty much as you would expect of an establishment of this sort. Big plates full of fried dead stuff... I exaggerate, but it is hearty grub intended to soak up at least some of the beer. I give the food a three star because it is pretty average.. I would come back for the beer, but probably line my stomach somewhere else.
The service was friendly on both visits, very prompt an proficient in English (and, listening in to a table behind me, in German)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's ok but nothing special. It's always crowded so don't expect to find a seat easily! It's also not that cheap

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great beer & atmosphere, okay food, good value overall”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We'd had a long, somewhat stressful day driving, and when we arrived in Zagreb we were starving and chilly. Luckily, our apartment's owner recommended this great brewery. The dishes are affordable, fairly standard beer garden fare (from my time in Germany at least). I wasn't super impressed with my dish, but my friend's turkey kabobs looked quite good. Their beers are great, though, five or six different types. The dark was my favorite, but all were great.

It took quite some time for someone to come and get us some water and take drink orders (almost half an hour), but they were busy on a Saturday night and after that we were taken care of fairly quickly. Overall a great, local experience.

One thing to know...from where we were coming from (one of the main streets between the squares), we'd been given directions and told we couldn't miss it, but weren't told that it is kind of tucked into a shopping center of sorts. You have to turn into the alcove/little shopping mall and then it's straight ahead with a big sign. We walked past a couple times in the dark.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank starshy926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pivnica Medvedgrad Ilica also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Pivnica Medvedgrad Ilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing