We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location”
Review of Taban Bar & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taban Bar & Hostel
Ranked #5 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As far as hostels go, this one is really modern and well-equiped. They even provided sound proof doors for the bar downstairs.

The location couldn't be better, Taban is located in a small street with no traffic, only bars and restaurants. If you're by car, there's a cheap parking at the corner with Ul. Miklousiceva.

Now, there's a wifi connection at every floor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelgianLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Taban Bar & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Even if the hotel is ideally located in the center of Zagreb, even if everything is brand new inside (decoration), don't get fooled by photos! I spend 3 nights there and it was a nightmare :1/ the service : no towels in room, I had to ask for.. and no plastic glass in the bathroom or no small soaps/shower gel you always find in that kind of place,.. 2/ the bathroom -brain new (and very large &nice from aspect) had an horrible hole in the ceilling from which water drops kept on falling and caused unbearable smell!! I had to complain about that in order something was done!3/ the climax on friday night : electro /techno music so loud that ground was trembling (room in 1st floor) and this situation lasted till 3.00 in the morning! intolerable!! I had to complain again for stopping the music.
I think the hostel has to choose if it wants to be a night bar/a disco or an hotel! can't be both at the same time!
to the credit of the boss and the girls of the staff : they did apologize many times for the disturbance, plumbers came and we are allocated a new room on 2nd floor and proposed discount!Nice people but with some problems in managing the whole thing!
Many things to improve : not even blackout curtains so you can be seen in the room from outside and there is no way to darken room from street lights! big problem of sound insulation! no basic objects in bathroom..no elevator.. no air condition..
All in all : far too much expensive for the service and minimum standard you can expect for a double room ensuite ! to my opinion, if you are 20's, like fun atmosphere, just want to stay 1 night, that's ok, but if you are a couple in your 30's or more (or/and with kids) and want to rest and have a proper sleep, just ran way from this hostel. This is not the right place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doub78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great location and great service (Ivana and Pako are lovely people)! Ask Pako to play his 90's music mix haha! It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Great value and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SLLy0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here when we were inter-railing around Europe. It was ideal for what we wanted. The room was very spacious and we had our own bathroom which was huge and very modern. The place was spotless. We didn't have air conditioning but we had a fan which was sufficient. It's in a good location, on the main street where all the cafes and bar are and very close to the main square. The hostel has a nice little bar too with seats outside. It was a bit noisy early in the morning when we were trying to sleep coming from the street outside but other than that it was fine. Good value for money, I'd definitely stay there again if I was going back to Zagreb.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelEllen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Taban for two nights in August at the end of our trip through Croatia and what a great place to finish our holiday. It is located on a great street in the centre of Zagreb near some lovely bars and restaurants and also within easy walking distance to explore the rest of the city and to catch the trams from the main square. The staff were extremely friendly here and nothing was too much trouble. On entering the bedroom area on the first floor there is a sound proof door which meant no sound was heard from the bar and the street below. We had booked a private deluxe room and it was lovely. Nicely decorated and very spacious it was a comfortable room with a nice lounge area. The bar and terrace below was quite quiet and a nice area to realx with a drink. The only negative was that we had to go elsewhere along the street to find breakfast in the morning. Otherwise a great stay and I would most definitely recommend the Taban for a comfortable stay in a great location.

Room Tip: The private deluxe room is very spacious with a nice lounge area.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

we spent one night at the Taban hostel. we had the last available room (a double room with private bathroom) and we decided to get it because apparently most of the 'cheap' hotel were fully booked, ad Zagreb is not a cheap town. we paid 55 euros (original price was 60),which I do not think is a hostel price: there was no breakfast included and no kitchen facilities. the room was not so clean, and the view from the window was the opposite wall of another building. overpriced. staff is extremely friendly, though.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachele78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Only stayed one night but my impression of this place was great. Very clean, great location, good service, very good value for money. Only downside is no AC in the room (there was a fan however). Also, people with trouble walking should be advised that there is no elevator, so you will be carrying your luggage up and down the stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stockholm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
0.5 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
0.9 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#5 of 59 in Zagreb
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
0.4 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 167 in Zagreb
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Shappy
Hostel Shappy
#6 of 167 in Zagreb
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taban Bar & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taban Bar & Hostel

Address: Tkalchiceva Ulica 82, Zagreb 10000, Croatia (Formerly Taban Hostel by Buzz Backpackers)
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range: $23 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taban Bar & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of the city, inside busy historic Tkalciceva Street, where all the action is. Our rooms are new and spacious for a good night sleep, and we offer numerous facilities like free Wi-Fi, a full bar inside the property, 24 hour reception, luggage storage, etc. Wake up smell the freshly ground coffee in the morning or enjoy cold beers in the bar or the terrace by the evening. We offer you wide range of the rooms to choose from. The traditional hostel style dorms are ideal for budget conscious travelers. Those who wants a little more privacy, we have a number of private rooms with share bathrooms. We are especially proud of our deluxe en-suite rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Taban Bar & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing