We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Croatia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Croatia
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very clean room, comfortable bed, in a quiet area. Tram stop at the bottom of the street. Friendly staff. Very good Wi-Fi. Supermarket at the bottom of the road.
The hotel was a bit further from the city centre than we'd thought, but could walk in about 20-25 minutes, plus the tram was quick & cheap (the #6 also goes to both the railway & coach stations). The rooms could do with some more drawer space (just a wardrobe). The breakfast was somewhat disappointing, not very varied, but with it being a relatively small hotel I suppose they'd struggle financially to provide much more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lettyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
47
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This new hotel in Zagreb is well placed in a quiet area but within easy reach by Zagreb's wonderful tram service of all attractions and transport services. Our room was comfortable, light and airy and the included breakfast good. We had a very friendly greeting from Sara at reception who helped with our every need.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 7557gw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Staff: very friendly and helpful. Free map.

Location: approx. 20 minutes walking or three tram stations from the city centre. Walking is no problems since there are many interesting shops on the way. Very good: free car parking.

Room: the one in this review was located at the first floor at the backside of the hotel and was large enough for a city trip. Very quiet (no street noise) although in the early morning door smashing from other guests can be heared. Enough storage room (cupboard, desk, two chairs, night tables). Empty but cold minibar (so you can cool your own drinks and there is a bar downstairs anyway). One little disadvantage for couples: two single beds were placed together, i,.e. there is a gap inbetween) and the smoke alarm is blinking green. Flat screen TV.

Breakfast: relatively small room with only four tables. This could be a probleme in case all guests come at the same time. Enough choice: coffee, tea, hot choclate, juice, milk, bread, cheese, ham, sausage, boiled eggs, müsli, yoghurt, pudding, cakes, fruits and many more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert_und_Ernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade,Serbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel, alongside two of my colleagues on a short business trip to Zagreb, and I left with very positive memories of the place.
Staff is great, owners included, all compliments to you guys, keep up the good work!
It is a nice little hotel in a residential area near Ilica, and within an easy 15 minute walking distance to the center of Zagreb.
Rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and very clean, bathroom is quite big, and being a smoker I especially loved the balcony.
Breakfast was a continental style one, sufficient I would say, tho dining room was a bit small but not a big deal during my stay.
With the rate we paid, I can only recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JU050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Hotel Croatia in Zagreb is a new, small and comfortable hotel with only 18 rooms offering free breakfast, free parking and free Internet access. The location is very convenient for business guests and tourists. All modern facilities and amenities are provided. The hotel, being brand new, provides security features for the safety of the guests such as SOS alarms and fire alarms. The guests can easily reach any of the many eateries near to the hotel for their lunches and dinners. The tram station is a stone’s throw away from the hotel. Tourists can easily cover the many historical attractions by foot. Business guests can walk to the bus station or the train station and from there cover other destinations. If a business guest’s work is in the health industry, then the hotel is the best place to stay as many hospitals are situated near the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0eNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Ive been in this hotel at February this year and its really great place. The price of accomodation is normal, and I think that 3 stars of this hotel is less than it deserves. It only 3 train station from centar of town and the price is more than good. Everything in hotel is new and modern. I have only comliments and recommendations of this place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently stayed for a short 2 night stay at Hotel Croatia. This hotel is impeccable! It is a new construction contemporary style building. Although it is rated a 3 star hotel, it could easily pass for a 5 star hotel. The room and the bathroom were very clean, and the bed linens were crisp white. They have an ample breakfast of juice, coffee, rolls, jams, honey, cold-cuts, cheeses and cereals...perfect to start the day. The staff was very helpful, and even though some don't speak English so well they try their best to help. There's also free Wifi in rooms.
The only complaint I have is that I made the reservation through a website. I got a confirmed price of 64 Euro for a double room. When I called to confirm the reservation prior to my arrival the person stated that he did not receive my reservation via the internet website, and their standard double room price is 75 Euros. However when I arrived at the hotel, I clearly saw a printout of my reservation at the front desk and they did not ask for my credit card information which indicated to me that they already had my information (through my online reservation). I didn't want to argue over 10 Euros, but I would strongly recommend that any future visitors make their reservation via telephone to confirm the actual price and not through any travel websites so as not to run into any unexpected costs such as this. Another small issue I had, was that one morning they started cleaning rooms around 5:30 or 6 in the morning...I don't think anyone wants to be awoken that early whether on vacation or on a business trip.
Otherwise, the hotel is great. It's within a 10 minute walking distance to the old city centre of Zagreb and the tram stop to and from the city center is at the intersection of Vinogradska and Illicia streets (1 to 2 minute walk).
Enjoy your stay in Zagreb!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper try to get a room at the back of the hotel, even though the street the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fuschia_willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
2.7 mi away
The Loop Hotel
The Loop Hotel
#16 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.2 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jarun
Hotel Jarun
#14 of 58 in Zagreb
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
Hotel Jadran Zagreb
#24 of 58 in Zagreb
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#8 of 58 in Zagreb
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia

Property: Hotel Croatia
Address: Vinogradska Cesta 20, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Zagreb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Croatia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of historical town Zagreb, three tram stations far away from main Ban Jelacic′s square, brand new hotel Croatia opened its doors. Close to many cultural and historical attractions, business centers, places for shopping and entertainment, Hotel Croatia is perfect choice for take a break during your trip. The hotel has 18 spacious, comfortable and modern rooms (with two beds). Room facilities: non-smoking rooms, bathroom: shower/tub, hairdryer, desk and chairs, LCD TV, direct phone line, free wireless internet, minibar, safe, air conditioning, smoke detector, SOS alarm, wake up service, room service. TRAFFIC: tram station: 100 m, bus station: 3.5 km, railway station: 2.5 km, airport: 18 km, exit from the city-motorway: 8 km. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing