We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness is next to godliness!”
Review of Funk Lounge Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Funk Lounge Hostel
Ranked #7 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have never stayed at such a clean hostel it was fantastic and clearly alot of effort had been made to maintain high standards, the staff were awesome and very helpful with places to go etc etc,

Also, the directions provided by the hostel and the little yellow footprints from the tram station made the place very easy to find, there is also a bar section which has great food and drinks at very reasonable prices.

My only gripe would be they only have the one laptop for guest use which I suppose can mean long waiting times if you dont have your own wi-fi device but there is free wifi for iphone/laptops etc.

If I were to travel to Zagreb i the future this would be the place I'd stay for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubbs709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Funk Lounge Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at the Funk Lounge and it was wonderful.

There are so many positive, so I will start with those. The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen stay clean. The beds are comfortable and although it is a hostel the space does not seem cramped. The people that work there are incredibly friendly and love to chat. They will be willing to work through bus itineraries with you to get you to Plitvice/Split/Zadar etc.Their buddy restaurant, which is next door has good food at good prices. (Try the risotto). The WiFi is generally reliable and works very well in most of the rooms. (I stayed in several). I highly recommended the pub crawl they offer 8 euros for a small bar in the center and an excursion to two clubs in the Jarun area. The taxi fare there and back is included! That automatically makes the pub crawl worth it. (I recommend Jarun to visit for the evening).

The only negatives I have for Funk Lounge is that it has a few repairs. Some of the lockers didn't work, a shower door was broken etc. But the good news is that the workers there ARE working on it. Other than that Funk Lounge is not in the center but it is really easy to get to tram 11 and 12 take you to the center and 4,5 to the train station/bus station. They come often and its a quick ride.You can even walk to the center in abt 25 min. Nice evening stroll.

Final words. It seems despite the broken lockers to be a pretty secure place. You may think that it is hotel like at first but don't worry if you hang around the couches in the kitchen or outside on the patio you re bound to meet someone you like.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Wonderful experience again for my second stay in Funk Lounge. Good food for a nice price, perfect service, the team is super-friendly and ready to help.
For sure, next time I'm in Zagreb, that's the place I'll stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Thank you to all the staff for making it a lovely and inviting stay. Hostel is very clean, security is 100%. Lovely common room/kitchen to hang out and cook your own meals (not that we did cook) Would be awesome if the WiFi worked in the bedrooms but other than that WiFi was excellent throughout the rest of the hostel! Fantastic tourist information at the front desk. All the staff are always willing to provide advice whatever the time!! Air con was throughout the hostel and rooms.

Room Tip: Only stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were a group of 35 people who stayed in this hostel for 3 nights. The staff was very nice and helped us a lot for the whole organization thing. We reserved a plenty of 6, 5 and 4-beds rooms. Every room was clean and modern and had a private toilet (with shower).

Very good service and accomodation for an hostel. Every morning we took the tram to reach the hostel: lines 11 and 12 do-the-thing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FollowTheMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there for a couple of nights in a private room, the place is quite new and very clean. Very modern shared place- kitchen and kind of living room.
It was really worth for the money we paid. A kind of place I'd always
Approximately twenty minutes walking distance from the main square.
A lot of young people were there at that time and i can say they were really having a lot of fun. I'd recommend it to young people.
There was a big group of young people at the same time there and in that kind of situations noise of other people can sometimes be disturbing.

Staff was very cool and friendly. They have a lot of suggestions of how to spend your days in Croatia.
I'd definitively come there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buketcicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed in the 3-bed room with own ensuite bathroom and were very happy for what we got. The room was clean and modern and the hostel provided bed linen and towels which saved as trying to fit them in the small hand luggage!
Staff at the reception was very helpful and gave us lots of tips about what to do and where to go. I highly recommend a daily trip to Plitvice lakes national park which was amazing experience!
Location is not in central but only about 15min tram journey away. It's not seem to be common to pay for the public transport so even better :) There is a food shop and bakery just around the corner which is practical and the hostel's own restaurant serves cheap breakfast and lunch. Just remember to specify if you want coffee with milk otherwise it can all go wrong..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zagreb hotels
1.4 mi away
ZIGZAG Integrated Hotel Zagreb
1.7 mi away
Esplanade Zagreb Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zagreb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
#2 of 167 in Zagreb
547 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostel Shappy
Hostel Shappy
#6 of 167 in Zagreb
214 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swanky Mint Hostel
Swanky Mint Hostel
#1 of 167 in Zagreb
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funk Lounge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funk Lounge Hostel

Address: Ulica Ivana Rendica 28b, Zagreb 10000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Zagreb
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Zagreb
Price Range: $13 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Funk Lounge Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the highest standards of quality, cleanliness, security, comfort and style, Funk Lounge is the perfect accommodation for all travelers! Our hostel features a cozy living room, fully equipped kitchen, free Wi-Fi, charming bar & restaurant and the friendliest staff ever! All private rooms and dorms are air-conditioned, have en suite bathrooms, individual lockers and key card room access.Our hostel is centrally located and within a walking distance to "Old Town of Zagreb" and Zagreb's most beautiful park "Maksimir," city ZOO and "Dinamo" football stadium. With the transportation right at our doorstep, Zagreb is accessible and easy for you to explore!If you want to try delicious and cheap traditional Croatian food, our hostel's bar & restaurant is a perfect place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Funk Lounge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing