We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Zagreb

“Very fine experience”

Bistro Apetit by Marin Rendic
Ranked #243 of 1,038 Restaurants in Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bistro Apetit - Zagreb's finest restaurantYears of passion and love for creating culinary sensations in an inspiring ambiance have been translated into a story that has kept Bistro Apetit as one of the best restaurants in Croatia for years. Our honest approach to culinary excellence is based on the fresh season's ingredients and has been enhanced by the specially selected finest wines from the best cellars around the world. Michelin guide Gault Millau-3 tokes Chef Marin Rendić
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After finally finding a decent restaurant in Zagreb open on Sunday, I must say that it was more than a pleasant surprise! A warm welcome, excellent service, and very good and well portioned food! The chef's appetizers that came in three little servings were excellent, the food that we chose from the menu was delicious and wonderfully presented. And on top of that, Mislav, our server, had excellent recommendations for the wine and desert. I am looking forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ana7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 237 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2020

For michelin star restaurant:
1. portions are too small (never saw this in my life) /
2. food is not such a great quality as they say /
3. manager of this place is extremely rude and a big sexist/
4. prepare that you would pay around 3000kn lunch or dinner here as they like to cheat with taxes and alcohol, if its 4 people the bill can be easily 1000 EUR
5. furniture here is pretty cheap and toilets are having funky smell

Thank you and never again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank AleK2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

I was so disappointed.. There was no atmosphere in the restaurant at all. Infact it was pretty empty and we went on a Saturday night.
The service was good but the food really wasn't that great. It was a lot of showmanship but very little substance. A couple of dishes were nice but for the price, nothing mind blowing which is such as shame as i was really looking forward to my dinner.
It's certainly not cheap and for the food and severe lack of atmosphere i would not go back.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank emmawO2400GY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

Had dinner recently with friends. From the beginning, our waiter couldn't stop trying to upsell us with the most expensive options, wine, etc. At first, comical. By the end tiresome and officious.

Honestly, the food wasn't terrible, just forgettable, with way too many ingredients competing for attention on the plate. And of course, everything was a "signature " dish.

The meal ended with a little showmanship of, yet again, a signature "presentation" involving dry ice spilling "smoke" all over the table. (This was not a dish, but a visual.) Ok..we were amused. But I tried to remember that we were in a restaurant, not a circus.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

Ambiance on the terrace is lovely, albeit empty for the summer season in Zagreb. The waiter who served was vey well trained and forthcoming. The local wine he recommended was delicious.
But the six dishes we had ordered were short of our expectations. Tuna was rubbery, lentils were tasteless. Ceviche was chunky, not in unison with everything else on the plate. Cuttlefish was undewhelming. The images of the menu items on the website don't come close to the actual served plates.
The chef tried to implement some ingredients that weren't actually executed so well in its combination or on its own.
My husband and I frequent quality restaurants worldwide and take into consideration the country, chef, area and possibilities of the same. This sadly was a culinary disappointment for both of us. Ingredients in Croatia are some of finest in Europe, so why not make them shine.
I would come again for a glass of wine on their terrace, but sadly not for food.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank malavila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Apetit by Marin Rendic also viewed

Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 
Zagreb, Central Croatia
Zagreb, Central Croatia
 

Been to Bistro Apetit by Marin Rendic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing